Corsair Vengeance 2000 Wireless 7.1 Headset Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

Corsair Vengeance 2000 Wireless 7.1 Headset Review  

Introduction

Corsair are well known for their Memory products and have recently extended their range into the peripherals, with the Vengeance K60 and K90 keyboards, both excellent, and the M60 and M90 mice, with stupendous build quality.

It makes sense then that they have added to their suite of gaming peripherals with the Vengeance headset range. Today we're taking a look at the premium model in the range, the lengthily-titled Corsair Vengeance 2000 Wireless 7.1 Headset.

We're lovers of a good headset here at OC3D. With the array of media applications available on home computers a headset has to be a true all-rounder. Capable of being as good in Call of Duty as it is with Skype or Youtube. The times when something resembling the headphones you'd get with an eighties Walkman are far behind us. So have Corsair managed to bring us a cracker right out of the gate?

Technical Specifications

Although it's billed as a 7.1 headset, naturally it's a stereo headset with some clever driver manipulation. We've seen a few genuine surround headsets and only the Roccat Kave has ever delivered the full monty. However, with good speaker drivers and software you really would struggle to tell the difference so hopes are high.

The big starring part of the Vengeance is the wireless technology. Not only does this free you up from the very irritating "cable across your chest" problem, but allows you more freedom especially with the non-gaming uses. Corsair are proud of their wireless channel solution, so fingers crossed the cutting out/neighbours WiFi problems than can plague some wireless headsets are eradicated.

Headphones
Frequency Response: 20Hz to 20kHz
Impedance: 32 Ohms @ 1kHz
Sensitivity: 105dB (+/-3dB)
Drivers: 50mm
USB power consumption: 500mA
Connector: USB Type A
Wireless range: up to 40 feet (12m)
Battery life: Up to 10 hours

Microphone
Type: Unidirectional noise-cancelling condenser with adjustable, rotating boom
Impedance: 2.2k Ohms
Frequency Response: 100Hz to 10kHz
Sensitivity: -37dB (+/-3dB)

System requirements

  • PC with USB port
  • Windows® 7, Windows Vista®, or Windows XP
  • Internet connection (for software download)


Package contents

  • Corsair Vengeance 2000 wireless Gaming Headset
  • Dongle (wireless USB adapter)
  • 1.5m USB extension cable
  • 1.5m USB charging cable
  • Quick Start Guide
  • Safety Leaflet
  • Warranty Card

Specifications

Headphones

  • Frequency Response: 20Hz to 20kHz
  • Impedance: 32 Ohms @ 1kHz
  • Sensitivity: 105dB (+/-3dB)
  • Drivers: 50mm
  • USB power consumption: 500mA
  • Connector: USB Type A
  • Wireless range: up to 40 feet (12m)
  • Battery life: Up to 10 hours

Microphone

  • Type: Unidirectional noise-cancelling condenser with adjustable, rotating boom
  • Impedance: 2.2k Ohms
  • Frequency Response: 100Hz to 10kHz
  • Sensitivity: -37dB (+/-3dB)

System requirements

  • PC with USB port
  • Windows® 7, Windows Vista®, or Windows XP
  • Internet connection (for software download)

Package contents

  • Corsair Vengeance 2000 wireless Gaming Headset
  • Dongle (wireless USB adapter)
  • 1.5m USB extension cable
  • 1.5m USB charging cable
  • Quick Start Guide
  • Safety Leaflet
  • Warranty Card
«Prev 1 2 3 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-07-2012, 06:37:00

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...165907254l.JPG

Following their successful move into the peripheral marketplace with their Vengeance keyboards and mice, we take a look at the Vengeance 2000 headset.


Continue Reading

02-07-2012, 06:51:10

Josh Weston
Looks like this have been added to my list of things to buy in the future.
Good work, Mr Waters

02-07-2012, 07:12:41

madness777
Want want want want!

02-07-2012, 07:50:11

DwarfAdigginAhole
Does Corsair make anything less than absolute Gold? Gotta love that Company!

02-07-2012, 09:32:57

Murphyslaw
Sounds like a good piece of kit.
Might need to look at getting a set.

02-07-2012, 14:39:38

alicarve
good review

02-07-2012, 14:43:05

Lollipop
I have a pair, and they got some decent sound. They're too expensive for the sound quality they offer, but the battery time is long and the reception is very good. I only bought them because i could get a 70% discount.

02-07-2012, 16:20:39

arnzzz
Quote:
Originally Posted by qhozt View Post
I have a pair, and they got some decent sound. They're too expensive for the sound quality they offer, but the battery time is long and the reception is very good. I only bought them because i could get a 70% discount.
70% discount is awesome, i dont think anyone could turn down any new corsair product with such a discount

I love wireless but have always noticed better sound quality through wired products. But wireless defo has its place.

02-07-2012, 16:45:49

Lollipop
Honestly i think i am becoming a Corsair Fanboi....

04-07-2012, 05:04:14

Damien c
While these look nice and the review would suggest they are very good, I still can't get the bad taste out of my mouth that the Corsair HS1's left.

I will stick to my Creative Fatality headset's.

05-07-2012, 18:10:11

Brutos
I never seem to be able to buy into the gaming headset gimmick i usually by proper headphones and use secondary mic if needed..

05-07-2012, 18:21:24

Lollipop
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brutos View Post
I never seem to be able to buy into the gaming headset gimmick i usually by proper headphones and use secondary mic if needed..

It's easier for somebody who doesn't know jack about sound/brands etc. to just buy a gaming headset with good reviews.

05-07-2012, 19:43:46

CPMFW
nice review bryan

06-07-2012, 02:28:35

Saltire35
Bit too expensive for me but knowing Corsair they'll be worth every penny.

Will need to stick with my SteelSeries Siberia v2's for now

06-07-2012, 07:19:48

Brutos
Quote:
Originally Posted by qhozt View Post
It's easier for somebody who doesn't know jack about sound/brands etc. to just buy a gaming headset with good reviews.
I didnt know much about headphone just read up on them ...just like reading this review anyone can read up on quality headphones..a lot of good resource out there

06-07-2012, 07:30:38

Lollipop
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saltire35 View Post
Bit too expensive for me but knowing Corsair they'll be worth every penny.

Will need to stick with my SteelSeries Siberia v2's for now

They are MUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUCH better than the Siberia V2.

07-07-2012, 14:38:32

Eru
I have a pair as well but there is problem I have experienced that isn't mentioned here. So long as you remain in the same room with them the reception is fine. Put a wall between the receiver and the headset and you might as well have left them in your desk chair.

These are my first pair of wireless headphones so maybe that is standard but when they are advertised as having a 40 yard range I expected to be able to walk around my house listening to a podcast playing on my computer cause I know of no mansion that has a 40 yard long room XP

Despite that it's nothing I can't live with. Corsair is on a roll with their products. Keep up the great work and I'm gonna keep buying.

07-07-2012, 15:08:00

Josh Weston
It's 40 yards of unrestricted range. Put a good ol'wall in the way, and the reception shall of course degrade.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.