Razer Barracuda HP-1 Gaming Headphones

Introduction & Specifications

Introduction

A question that I'm often asked is "what makes a good online gamer?". My answer, lots of practice, a passion for whatever you do, oh and decent hardware! Make no mistake, hardware plays an integral part to how you perform in the "online battlefield" and companies now have capitalised on this by focusing their efforts on e-sports (electronic sports).

There is a lot of choice in the market these days, so gamers are in the fortunate position to tailor their set up in line with their own specific preferences. But what are the most important elements aside from the computer itself? Well a decent mouse and decent headphones are always top of my list! Having recently reviewed Razers "DeathAdder" I remain mightly impressed, so when asked if I wanted to review Razers new 5.1 headphones, I agreed without hesistation!!

Razer Barracuda HP-1 Main Pic

Razer made their name in manufacturing mice, but have since branched out into other areas of gaming hardware to capitalise on the e-sport generation. Their new headphones, the "Razer Barracuda" are the first set of headphones Razer have made; and with their past track record in creating successful mice, there are high hopes for this 5.1 surround sound headset!


Specifications

The following specifcations have been taken from Razer's website..

Overview
Razer Fidelity™ gaming audio engine
Eight discrete drivers (six for mid-high frequency, two for sub-woofer)
Six-channel analog input
Individual volume controls: front, rear, center, bass and master
Detachable uni-directional noise-cancelling microphone
Razer High Definition-Dedicated Audio Interface™ (HD-DAI™ connector)
2m cable

Headphones
Frequency response: 50~20,000Hz
Impedance: - Front speaker: 64Ω - Rear speaker: 32Ω - Centre speaker: 64Ω - Sub-woofer: 8Ω
Total power rating: 330mW RMS

Microphone
Frequency response: 50~16,000Hz
Sensitivity: -58 ± 2dB
Impedance: 2.2KΩ

The specification on these headphones is impressive, with excellent frequency response from both the headphones and the microphone. However I would expect this from headphones of this quality, as the Barracuda's are priced at the higher end of the audio headset market.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-06-2007, 15:21:12

JN
"Today we put Razer's Barracuda HP-1 headphones in the hands of our very own professional gamer - Chris "Ins" Buer. Read on to find out if they improved his game or just left him open to attacks from the rear!"

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...192104169s.jpg

Linkage

21-06-2007, 15:37:12

Ham
Oww @ the price...

If they were cheaper perhaps.

Good job Insy

21-06-2007, 16:03:47

FarFarAway
Agreed if they were cheaper I would plump for a pair

21-06-2007, 17:08:52

PinGu^
Ive used these before, Really impressed with them. Look flimsy.. but are perfect for lans

My speedlink medusa does me fine tho

21-06-2007, 17:13:58

mrapoc
Who had them dan?

21-06-2007, 17:59:29

PinGu^
The ginger troll (deathwishes brother)

21-06-2007, 18:09:52

mrapoc
ahhh lol

21-06-2007, 23:20:16

PV5150
I have a pair and they are an awesome addition, although they are extremely dear.

22-06-2007, 06:05:52

prosser13
Look nice

I don't see how he hasn't heard of Rocketboy though, seeing as theres an Abit Rocketboy motherboard

22-06-2007, 06:06:10

!TIMMY!
good review ins, they do look good, and the xtreme gamer can give them that extra bass; but the price U can get medusa's for 35 these days.

23-06-2007, 15:38:54

Thanh55
Look at the price, dear me. I need one for my i31 coming up but too expensive. Any similar but do not get to high price. I think 50 max.

24-06-2007, 09:38:21

PinGu^
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Thanh55'
Look at the price, dear me. I need one for my i31 coming up but too expensive. Any similar but do not get to high price. I think 50 max.
Get a speedlink Medusa. I know alot of people in this forum has one. Very good for gaming, music + dvds

24-06-2007, 09:39:36

Ham
Or the Zalman Theater 6. Theyre good.

25-06-2007, 03:50:07

old.gregg
My son's stopped using his Barracudas 'cos too many people were saying that they couldn't hear him very well - the mic does seem to be positioned too far away from your mouth.

Personally, using them for Skype, I got very good results.

For the price, the build quality is shockingly poor.

And a bit tight for my fat head.

He bought some Steelsound phones to replace them. They don't impress me too much - you can hear everything going on around you, no audio encapsulation at all.

25-06-2007, 11:49:03

[Ins]
I still maintain that for competitive gaming and overall clarity in sound, you can't beat a decent pair of Sennheisers!

The PC166's that I purchased recently are extremely good indeed!

25-06-2007, 13:21:13

AmBush
I Got Sennheiser PC150 & PC160 i've been happy with Both apart from the inline On/Off switch which on my PC150 i have had to tape in the on position,

The PC 160 is going now The Barracuda inline switch looks very robust.

16-02-2010, 02:39:40

stupidregistration
Very poor quality construction.

Wiring is subject to faults due to very bad soldering.

Padding degrades and falls apart in first week of use.

16-02-2010, 04:50:25

Youngie1337
Who is this professional gamer?.

Anything from Razer is a God send.

18-01-2013, 23:53:37

Stoogie
i baught these on the first day they came out, with the soundcard, i used them for about 30 mins, the screw snapped in half out of 1 of the cup hinges and the entire cup fell off, threw it in the bin directly afterwards cause it was unusable
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.