AquaXtreme MP-05 Pro Water Block

Introduction & Packaging

Introduction

When it comes to high-end water blocks a name that generally springs to mind is Swiftech or Alphacool. However, it's not always the best known blocks that have the best performance as proven many a time by people who go to the trouble of designing and milling their own custom designs.

Today I'm going to be taking a look at a block named the "MP-05 Pro" by a little known company called AquaXtreme. Searching around the internet, I wasn't able to find much information on this mystery company - in fact the only information I could find, is that AquaXtreme blocks and pumps originate from a website named CoolTechnica.com.

Many enthusiasts have already hailed this block as the best on the market when it comes to price vs performance, and today I'm going to be comparing the MP-05 against the Swiftech Apogee block. The Apogee falls into the same price bracket as the MP-05 block, and therefore makes for a very good comparison.


Packaging

Copper is a very soft metal and doesn't fair to well when thrown around by a rough courier. Most companies package their blocks up very well and even go to the trouble of placing a plastic film over the blocks base to prevent scratches and oxidisation.

AquaXtreme MP-05 Box AquaXtreme MP-05 Box

The MP-05 comes in a plain white, single walled cardboard box - not exactly a great talking point! Disappointingly the block was placed inside the box without any form of padding or other protection. The base of the block was also unprotected, being left to rub against the bottom of the cardboard box.

Continuing in the MP-05's minimalist ways, the box contained no instructions on how to mount the block. However, those of us with previous water cooling experience shouldn't find it too difficult as the MP-05 comes with a universal socket mounting adapter that caters for most of the recent socket and motherboard layouts.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

19-09-2006, 06:01:58

JN
"Looking for the ultimate water block but on a budget? Today we take a look at the AquaXtreme MP-05 to see if it fits the bill!"

Linky

19-09-2006, 06:08:29

FragTek
Nice block but I can't believe that they didn't clean it out before shipping it to you, that's a good way to screw up an expensive pump getting nasty debris in it.

19-09-2006, 06:35:17

FarFarAway
Looks a very nice block, shame about the shortcoming of the packaging and care taken during manufacturer

19-09-2006, 07:32:32

Ham
Sorry if its in there & i missed it but what do these retail at?

19-09-2006, 07:42:15

ai_01
awesome review as usual, that would suck h/e if u didnt open the block

19-09-2006, 08:06:00

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
Sorry if its in there & i missed it but what do these retail at?
Thx for pointing that out - added to conclusion

19-09-2006, 08:47:16

specialtech
great review, yet again!!! well done

Shame about the negative points, we can actually get hold of these but sadly the bad points are putting me off

19-09-2006, 17:08:47

NickS
I love mine. Mine came slightly dirty as well but a few hrs in vinegar solved that . Great review XMS.

19-09-2006, 17:12:21

JN
Yeah, I used Arcticlean to sort mine out - but vinegar would probably have been better.

In a way it's good to know that i'm not the only person to have a dirty MP-05 block - so now it can't be shrugged off as an isolated incident.

19-09-2006, 18:11:20

FarFarAway
While the block is a good performer: they will have to improve their quality testing. I am totally unimpressed with manufacturers who let QT slip and there is simply no excuse. I don't think I would recommend people to buy this over a Swiftech Storm - as I know Swiftech's QT is at a very high standard.

19-09-2006, 18:29:18

SuB
nice review, didn't know the core2's put out that much heat! lol

Shame about the manufacturing fall downs though.

19-09-2006, 19:03:07

FarFarAway
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuB
nice review, didn't know the core2's put out that much heat! lol

Shame about the manufacturing fall downs though.
They do @ 3.8GHz @ 1.65v

20-09-2006, 02:21:15

JN
Yeah they can be hot buggers when you start pumping the voltage thru. I think the IHS on mine is slightly concave anyway - time to lap

26-01-2007, 02:25:15

FrOzE
Hi...

Wanna ask wat addictive was used in the setup..?

The red addictive.

26-01-2007, 04:10:03

JN
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='FrOzE'
Hi...

Wanna ask wat addictive was used in the setup..?

The red addictive.
Hiya,

That is actually UV Red tubing available from dangerden.com (and lots of stores that stock Danger Den products).
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.