CM Storm Scout 2 Advanced Review

Up Close: Exterior Overview and Roof

Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Advanced Gun Metal Case Review

 

Up Close:  Exterior Overview and Roof

The CM Storm Scout 2 Advanced keeps much of the styling cues of the original Scout model and of course the most recent Scout 2, with the appearance of the case being dominated by the large top handle.  The Scout 2 Advanced has been available in Black for a little while now but here we're taking a look at the bang up to date Gun Metal version.  The colour match between the metal and plastic sections is good with the overall quality of the coating being as we would expect from Cooler Master.

Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review     Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review  

 

The front of the case is defined by a large expanse of black mesh split into two sections delineating the 5.25" bays and the cooling intake areas.  Each of the side panels sport distinctive power bulges, with the left hand panel split between an irregular shaped window and mesh areas for 2x120mm fans, should you feel the need to lavish more air on the GPU area of the motherboard.

  Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review     Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review

 

The front I/O is hidden under a sliding flap, and while not perhaps the smooooothest motion in the world the flap is neither flimsy or stiff.  Underneath we discover the usual audio headers as well as a pair each of USB2 and USB3.  Between the front I/O and the roof mesh area lies a row of switches, these control power, reset, and also toggle the LED function of attached compatible fans.

Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review     Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review  

 

The carry handle is sturdy in the extreme, with an examination under the covers detailing that a steel support strut is bolted to the chassis itself.  Under the handle and nestled between the ventral strakes is a large roof ventilation area with Gun Metal hex pattern plastic picking out black mesh underneath.

Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review     Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review

 

This mesh panel is removable in its entirety revealing the mounting holes for 120mm fans.  If you look real close you'll see the holes are actually slightly oval.  Bad manufacturing perhaps but we think may in fact be a design element enabling easier seating of screws.

Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review     Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-05-2013, 05:43:46

tinytomlogan
The Advanced edition of the CM Storm Scout 2 brings improved cooling and a bang up to date Gun Metal finish.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...153637107l.jpg


Continue Reading

07-05-2013, 08:41:27

F-alienware
Thanks for the review Gary

Nice case.

07-05-2013, 09:29:58

alpenwasser
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Thanks for the review Gary

Nice case.
Finally someone got that right on the first try.
I was already waiting for somebody to compliment Tom on his review when I saw the author
on the article.

And yes, it's quite a good read Gary, nicely done

07-05-2013, 14:32:10

G-Dubs
Glad you liked it guys, we tries hard, And I will always take being confused with Tom as a compliment

07-05-2013, 20:27:00

GreenBarb
The one thing that would have clinched it for me would have been if you could have fitted even a H-100 and fans in the top. But for me Lan Parties is about portability, and M-ATX over the size of ATX is the better option. Now that you have the Socket 2011 and 1155 M-ATX boards out there with Sli and Crossfire.

08-05-2013, 14:15:13

FTLN
Nice review mate, any reason why you cropped the images of the final build ? do you have any full on shots ?

09-05-2013, 15:47:45

G-Dubs
The Pictures aren't cropped, they're zoomed in on the relevant areas that are noted and discussed in the text.

17-05-2013, 12:40:03

AverageNinja
I think I've fallen madly in love with this one.
Is €77.99 (65.88) a good deal for the gunmetal one? And will mATX look really bad in there? I think ATX looks a bit tight in there.

17-05-2013, 12:43:58

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by AverageNinja View Post
I think I've fallen madly in love with this one.
Is €77.99 (65.88) a good deal for the gunmetal one? And will mATX look really bad in there? I think ATX looks a bit tight in there.
I think an m-ATX board never looks good in an ATX case (unless it's filled up with other stuff, like watercooling) but since the window is only on the CPU socket area, and ends about where your board would end as well, you might just get away with that...

17-05-2013, 12:50:42

AverageNinja
Just found an image of a mATX board in the scout 2, doesn't look too roomy me thinks.
http://i.imgur.com/0TJbsIQ.jpg
Though ATX looks a bit better IMO

17-05-2013, 12:54:56

Feronix
^That's not a Scout 2 though, look at the HDD cage and the rubber grommets (Oh wait, they aren't there )

But the window only shows the top bit anyway, so you won't really see the difference when the side panel is on.

17-05-2013, 13:24:05

G-Dubs
Quote:
Originally Posted by AverageNinja View Post
I think I've fallen madly in love with this one.
Is 77.99 (65.88) a good deal for the gunmetal one? And will mATX look really bad in there? I think ATX looks a bit tight in there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Feronix View Post
I think an m-ATX board never looks good in an ATX case (unless it's filled up with other stuff, like watercooling) but since the window is only on the CPU socket area, and ends about where your board would end as well, you might just get away with that...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feronix View Post
^That's not a Scout 2 though, look at the HDD cage and the rubber grommets (Oh wait, they aren't there )

But the window only shows the top bit anyway, so you won't really see the difference when the side panel is on.
m-ATX won't look correctly proportioned in there. However, as commented above, as the window in the case is placed quite high I don't think you'll see the bottom of your board unless you look down on it from above.

If you've already got an m-ATX board then it's fair enough to use it, If you can stretch to a new one or have to buy one anyway you're best going for ATX.

17-05-2013, 13:26:13

AverageNinja
Alright then! Thanks!
I'm building from scratch, so ATX it is!

17-05-2013, 16:57:31

G-Dubs
Quote:
Originally Posted by AverageNinja View Post
Alright then! Thanks!
I'm building from scratch, so ATX it is!

You know it makes sense.

Any mods or straight build?

21-05-2013, 01:34:15

AverageNinja
Straight build
I did have some mods in mind, but my parents were like: "NO! YOU'LL VOID WARRANTY!". :/
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.