CM Storm Scout 2 Advanced Review

The build

Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Advanced Gun Metal Case Review

 

The Build

Not the best instructions in the world to be honest.  In fact if we're even more honest if you're going to have to resort to looking at them aside from having your manhood questioned, as they're not a booklet but actually a strategically folded single sheet which resembles something put together by Ordinance survey, you're also going to look like you're out orienteering.  You're either going to look like you're reading a map, or reading instructions, either way you'd better hand over your "Man Card".  Accessories wise things are a little better, with all the usual screws, 10 cable ties and a set of HDD rack mount rails along with a buzzer to round things off. 

Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review     Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review  

 

With the PSU in we're able to see that even a much longer unit would still not obscure the bottom management hole.  The rubber grommets themselves are strong and despite our ham fisted stuffing of cables resisted our efforts to dislodge them.  Round the back we know we're going to have space but still have concerns about only having two, albeit large management holes back here to work with. 

Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review     Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review  

 

With the motherboard in we look to the roof of the case.  Just 30mm of room up here means there's plenty for a pair of standard 25mm thick 120mm fans, but as we suspected, there's  no way you're getting a rad and a set of fans into this gap.  If you were absolutely insistent, and didn't give a flying flip about what your case looked like you could with a bit of modding mount the fans outside the case.  But please don't.

Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review     Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review  

 

Dropping in our usual Havik 120 Cooler as a basis for comparison, there's plenty of room to be had around the edges and clearance against the side panel.  Although the side panel does have a power bulge in it not all of the area lies of the CPU cooler zone and as such can't be taken into account when calculating cooler height.

 Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review     Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review

  

Having said we were a little concerned over the amount and placing of the management holes it's perhaps worthwhile taking a close up look to explain why.  With the 24 pin ATX power connection positioned as it is on this board (as it is on many others, but granted not every) there's no hole immediately adjacent to the socket.  What this means is quite a stretch in either direction from the hole to the socket.  Not exactly a disaster but had the upper hole been slightly lower and the lower hole a fraction higher the issue would have dissipated entirely.

Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review     Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review  

 

Believe it or not the image below left shows the Scout 2 loomed up and ready to go.  In all we only needed to use 4 of the cable ties that CM supplied.  The wiring job is made possible by a well thought out spacing of cable tie points and a nice fat space along the sides and base to tuck away unwanted cables.  Thing is, we actually think it looks neater round the back than it does at the front.

Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review     Cooler Master Storm Scout 2 Case Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-05-2013, 05:43:46

tinytomlogan
The Advanced edition of the CM Storm Scout 2 brings improved cooling and a bang up to date Gun Metal finish.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...153637107l.jpg


Continue Reading

07-05-2013, 08:41:27

F-alienware
Thanks for the review Gary

Nice case.

07-05-2013, 09:29:58

alpenwasser
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Thanks for the review Gary

Nice case.
Finally someone got that right on the first try.
I was already waiting for somebody to compliment Tom on his review when I saw the author
on the article.

And yes, it's quite a good read Gary, nicely done

07-05-2013, 14:32:10

G-Dubs
Glad you liked it guys, we tries hard, And I will always take being confused with Tom as a compliment

07-05-2013, 20:27:00

GreenBarb
The one thing that would have clinched it for me would have been if you could have fitted even a H-100 and fans in the top. But for me Lan Parties is about portability, and M-ATX over the size of ATX is the better option. Now that you have the Socket 2011 and 1155 M-ATX boards out there with Sli and Crossfire.

08-05-2013, 14:15:13

FTLN
Nice review mate, any reason why you cropped the images of the final build ? do you have any full on shots ?

09-05-2013, 15:47:45

G-Dubs
The Pictures aren't cropped, they're zoomed in on the relevant areas that are noted and discussed in the text.

17-05-2013, 12:40:03

AverageNinja
I think I've fallen madly in love with this one.
Is €77.99 (65.88) a good deal for the gunmetal one? And will mATX look really bad in there? I think ATX looks a bit tight in there.

17-05-2013, 12:43:58

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by AverageNinja View Post
I think I've fallen madly in love with this one.
Is €77.99 (65.88) a good deal for the gunmetal one? And will mATX look really bad in there? I think ATX looks a bit tight in there.
I think an m-ATX board never looks good in an ATX case (unless it's filled up with other stuff, like watercooling) but since the window is only on the CPU socket area, and ends about where your board would end as well, you might just get away with that...

17-05-2013, 12:50:42

AverageNinja
Just found an image of a mATX board in the scout 2, doesn't look too roomy me thinks.
http://i.imgur.com/0TJbsIQ.jpg
Though ATX looks a bit better IMO

17-05-2013, 12:54:56

Feronix
^That's not a Scout 2 though, look at the HDD cage and the rubber grommets (Oh wait, they aren't there )

But the window only shows the top bit anyway, so you won't really see the difference when the side panel is on.

17-05-2013, 13:24:05

G-Dubs
Quote:
Originally Posted by AverageNinja View Post
I think I've fallen madly in love with this one.
Is 77.99 (65.88) a good deal for the gunmetal one? And will mATX look really bad in there? I think ATX looks a bit tight in there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Feronix View Post
I think an m-ATX board never looks good in an ATX case (unless it's filled up with other stuff, like watercooling) but since the window is only on the CPU socket area, and ends about where your board would end as well, you might just get away with that...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feronix View Post
^That's not a Scout 2 though, look at the HDD cage and the rubber grommets (Oh wait, they aren't there )

But the window only shows the top bit anyway, so you won't really see the difference when the side panel is on.
m-ATX won't look correctly proportioned in there. However, as commented above, as the window in the case is placed quite high I don't think you'll see the bottom of your board unless you look down on it from above.

If you've already got an m-ATX board then it's fair enough to use it, If you can stretch to a new one or have to buy one anyway you're best going for ATX.

17-05-2013, 13:26:13

AverageNinja
Alright then! Thanks!
I'm building from scratch, so ATX it is!

17-05-2013, 16:57:31

G-Dubs
Quote:
Originally Posted by AverageNinja View Post
Alright then! Thanks!
I'm building from scratch, so ATX it is!

You know it makes sense.

Any mods or straight build?

21-05-2013, 01:34:15

AverageNinja
Straight build
I did have some mods in mind, but my parents were like: "NO! YOU'LL VOID WARRANTY!". :/
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.