Cooler Master Hyper Z600 CPU Cooler

Introduction & Specification

Introduction

Cooler Master Z600Cooler Master is a name most commonly known for luxurious cases, rather than performance CPU cooling. However, Cooler Master have made some bold claims about their new Z600 cooler, with passive cooling for quad-cores and active cooling promising high overclock capabilities for your CPU. We put the Z600 to the test to find out if it can really live up to the hype.

There is quite a lot of information about the company available on the Cooler Master website, but for those that don’t fancy the long read, here’s an extract:

‘Cooler Master was founded with the mission of providing the industry’s best thermal solutions. Since its establishment a decade ago, the company has remained faithful to this mission, emerging as a world leader in products and services for companies dealing with devices where heat issues must be resolved.’
 
 
Specifications

As this is a passive cooler, there are no specifications for fans, however, since we will be testing this cooler with active cooling (push/pull configuration) in addition to passive cooling, we have supplied the specifications for both:

Cooler Master Z600:
CPU Socket: Intel Socket LGA775 & AMD Socket (Socket 940/AM2/AM2+)
CPU Support: Intel Core 2 Extreme, Core 2 Quad, Core 2 Duo, Pentium Extreme Ed., Pentium Dual-Core,
Pentium D, Pentium 4 Extreme Ed., Pentium 4 HT, Pentium 4, Celeron Dual-Core, Celeron D, AMD Phenom, Athlon 64 X2, Athlon X2, Sempron.
Dimensions: 127.28 x 127.28 x 160 mm
Material: Cu base, 6 heat pipes, Aluminium fin
Weight: 1045 g
Heat Pipes Dimensions: φ6mm

Aero Cool turbine fan:
Dimension: 120mmx120mmx25mm  
Air Flow: 37.44 CFM
Static Pressure: 0.035 Inch-H2O
Speed: 950+ - 10%RPM
Noise: 19.66 dBA
 
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-09-2008, 13:12:39

JN
Thomas "Teknokid" Koflach gains his reviewer wings as he checks out Cooler Master's beefy Z600 CPU Cooler:

"Cooler Master have made some bold claims about their new Z600 cooler. We put the Z600 to the test to find out if it can really live up to the hype."

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...205952745s.jpg

Cooler Master Hyper Z600 CPU Cooler

11-09-2008, 13:16:11

Luigi
Cheers Jim, Brings warmth to your heart seeing it up there live!

A big thanks goes to yourself and the whole OC3D team as well, top chaps!

11-09-2008, 13:46:02

Nick R
Could you give temps with the two fans attached @ 1.4v?

11-09-2008, 13:47:21

WC Annihilus
Haven't gotten a chance to read through it yet, but something to mention is that on the graphs themselves the stock ones should explicitly say it was run passive and the OC'ed ones should explicitly say run with fans. Tons of people who look up cooler reviews only look at the graphs and don't actually read any of the review itself.

11-09-2008, 13:48:41

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Nick R'
Could you give temps with the two fans attached @ 1.4v?
It should be pretty similar, the Z600 handles extra heat extremely well. I cant really go testing for everyones individual set ups, otherwise It would take years. But if you are after a top notch HSF, the z600 is the one

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='WC Annihilus'
Haven't gotten a chance to read through it yet, but something to mention is that on the graphs themselves the stock ones should explicitly say it was run passive and the OC'ed ones should explicitly say run with fans. Tons of people who look up cooler reviews only look at the graphs and don't actually read any of the review itself.
There is the little text before the graphs, and hopefully people will look accross at them. I dont think there is enough room on the graphs themselves to add in "@ passive" or "@ Load". But I will have to wait for Jim on that one

11-09-2008, 13:54:20

Nick R
I misread the latter text and thought that it was still passive when OCed.

11-09-2008, 13:57:31

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Nick R'
I misread the latter text and thought that it was still passive when OCed.
Nope, For testing we figured that users that are going to overclock would run the cooler with fans, so therefore tested it in that configuration.

11-09-2008, 17:57:27

ionicle
very nice review

well written

good item

decent price

good performance

11-09-2008, 19:41:02

gotmaxpower
It looks a bit like a cross shaped version of the Scythe Ninja.

12-09-2008, 03:37:36

Diablo
Great review, but, should the passive cooling test last for a bit longer, because even with the best heatsink in the world, over time the fins would heat up and the temperature of the processor would increase. Maybe if you had a time vs. temperature for the cooler it would be helpful.

On another point, would this handle the QX9770 (at 4.0 ghz), I move my computer far too much to want to water cool it, so I need decent air cooling. I'm getting idles of 51, 52, 36, 41 and loads (after 20 mins of cpu burn at 100% cpu usage) of 59, 57, 58, 61

12-09-2008, 11:27:52

Luigi
If you put fans on it, I would expect it to handle that quite easily, Especially if your current cooler is....

If we tested for an hour, there would be someone who would say 2, and so on. At the end of the day, 15 minutes is enough IMO

12-09-2008, 14:49:09

Diablo
Fair enough, if the results are very similar across that time, it would still be nice to see some time vs. temperature graphs. Great review though.

Also, a quick remount later, turned out the thermal paste hadn't spread properly, was a sort of thick layer on the middle, bit of scraping out solved everything. Now in the mid 40-s for 1 and 2 and low 40s for 3 and 4.

12-09-2008, 16:34:20

Luigi
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Diablo'
Fair enough, if the results are very similar across that time, it would still be nice to see some time vs. temperature graphs. Great review though.

Also, a quick remount later, turned out the thermal paste hadn't spread properly, was a sort of thick layer on the middle, bit of scraping out solved everything. Now in the mid 40-s for 1 and 2 and low 40s for 3 and 4.
If you're worried about remount descrepancies in the review, the cooler was remounted 3 times and an average taken, so all should be fine for the review figures.

12-09-2008, 17:20:25

Diablo
Sorry, to clarify, i thought your review was done very thoroughly, when I remounted my cooler, the temps dropped. Sorry for the confusion!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.