CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

Introduction and Technical Specification

 CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review  

 

Introduction

The word Icon is banded around with somewhat gay abandon these days.  Strictly speaking it refers to Christian religious imagery depicting figures of worship as an aid to devotion.  In more recent times the term has been attached to pretty much any-one or anything you care to mention, whether it be a pop group, a football player or even the "Iconic" chocolate hob-nob.  In overuse, the term then becomes somewhat diluted, losses it's meaning and drifts of into meaningless obscurity.  That is until something comes along that is truly worthy of the word.  In hushed tones we speak not of the second coming, for that was some years ago, but of the third coming (we should be so lucky), for CoolerMaster have seen fit to grace us with an update to the "Iconic" CM 690 class of cases.  Ladies and Gentlefolk, we're no experts at Roman Numerals, but pray silence as we bring you the CM 690 Eye Eye Eye.

The build up we've given this case should allude to our expectations of it.  You see the previous iterations of the 690 have been mightily impressive, and whether or not you consider them iconic it's hard to deny that they have had it where it counts.  So what of the 690 III then?  Well it's a fraction bigger, allowing more flexibility on the inside, but not so much as you'd notice from the outside, it has more than ample storage with room for endless configuration between 3.5" and 2.5" drives as well as room for tall coolers and long GPUs.  Throw in battleship build quality, native water cooling support for up to two 240mm radiators, a price tag of £85 and you might be starting to see why we're getting so worked up.

 

Technical Specification

Model Number

CMS-693-KKN1 | KWN1

Available Colour

Midnight Black

Materials

Polymer, mesh front bezel

Dimensions (W x H x D)

230 x 507 x 502 mm / 9.1 x 20.0 x 19.8 inch

Net Weight

8.7 kg / 19.2 lbs

M/B Type

microATX, ATX

5.25" Drive Bays

3 (exposed)

3.5" Drive Bays

7 (hidden)

2.5" Drive Bays

10 (hidden; 7 from the HDD/SSD combo cages, 1 under the ODD cage, 1 behind the M/B tray,1 at the bottom)

I/O Panel

USB 3.0 x 2, USB 2.0 x 2, Audio In & Out (supports AC97 / HD Audio)

Expansion Slots

7+1

Cooling System

Top: 120/140mm fan x 2, or 200mm fan x 1 (optional)
Front: 200mm fan x 1 (installed), or 120/140mm fan x 2 , 180mm fan x   1(optional)
Rear: 120mm fan x 1 (installed)
Side: 120mm fan x 2 or 180/200mm fan x 1(optional)
Bottom: 120mm fan x 1 (optional)
HDD cage: 120mm fan x 1 (optional)

Power Supply Type

Standard ATX PS2 (not included)

Maximum Compatibility

VGA card length: 423 mm / 16.6 inch
CPU cooler height: 171mm / 6.7 inch

 

Features

  • Full mesh on the front panel and top with large vents on the side panel for superior cooling
  • 3 designated places for radiators: 240mm: roof and front; 120mm: rear
  • Supports up to three 200mm large fans for extreme airflow with support for up to 9 total fans (KKN1: 9 fans, KWN1: 7 fans)
  • New ODD tool-less design “EZ tray” for quick installation
  • Supports up to 10 SSDs (4 in the removable HDD/SSD combo cage, 1 behind the M/B tray) and 7 HDDs with HDD/SSD combo trays
  • Dual Super Speed USB 3.0
  • High-end component support – long graphics cards up to 423mm and tall CPU coolers up to 171mm
  • Multiple removable dust filters (top, front, PSU) for improved system maintenance

Top compartment with cover to place personal belongings

 

  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-09-2013, 05:25:10

tinytomlogan
Oh boy, the new CM 690 III is here. Are we excited or what! We loved the first two generations so hopes are high.


http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...164733182l.JPG


Continue Reading

16-09-2013, 05:32:45

Etlar
Miss a link :-D

16-09-2013, 06:51:20

barnsley
Everytime I see this case it reminds me how much of a copy my enermax case is of this :l.

Anyway, good to see that its still a strong, solid performer.

16-09-2013, 06:53:42

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Etlar View Post
Miss a link :-D
Easy doofus I was still putting it live.

16-09-2013, 08:22:57

Saltire35
There is an optional window panel with no fan mount.

But whether this is just available in the US, time will tell.

eBuyer usually stock the panels as they are the only place in the UK I've found that stock them as they did with previous generations of the 690.

http://imagescdn.tweaktown.com/news/...the_690_ii.jpg

16-09-2013, 08:26:07

jamesriley94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saltire35 View Post
There is an optional window panel with no fan mount.

But whether this is just available in the US, time will tell.

eBuyer usually stock the panels as they are the only place in the UK I've found that stock them as they did with previous generations of the 690.
Sure about eBuyer?
Specialtech, OCUK and Scan, along with a fair few others stocked the CM690-II's windowed side panel, and did it for about 8.

I never saw eBuyer have them tbh, although I don't really use them anymore.

16-09-2013, 08:28:51

Saltire35
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesriley94 View Post
Sure about eBuyer?
Specialtech, OCUK and Scan, along with a fair few others stocked the CM690-II's windowed side panel, and did it for about 8.

I never saw eBuyer have them tbh, although I don't really use them anymore.
When I had the case, eBuyer were the only place that stocked them when they first came out.

16-09-2013, 16:32:28

Spiderz
Damm G-Dubz has been busy with the reviews recently. Do like the look of this case more than the II but at that money I'd honestly prefer the fractals.

16-09-2013, 18:51:37

Mgutierrez33
Great review. I'll never understand why grommets aren't included in this chassis, but once a windowed version releases my girlfriend's rig may be moving into one of these for sure.

17-09-2013, 01:36:30

deejayburnout
what a nice case. Might have to get my kids to buy me one for christmas.

17-09-2013, 08:59:36

Ady6UK
Windowed and non windowed versions available on pre order in the UK at Scan. About 5 difference between the two:
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/coole...usb-30-w-o-psu
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/coole...window-w-o-psu

24-11-2013, 20:45:36

Mosephuss
Sadly I can't find it on amazon. I hope it sill be available in the US a bit more by the time I get my pc so I don't have to order from a different website.

06-02-2014, 18:41:00

Michel Merlin
What is the TRUE GPU compatibility of the CM 693 (with all HDD trays in place)?

Still little available, or expensive: $150 on CM 690 III - black - Mid Tower (amazon.com), 93.00 EUR ($126) on Cooler Master CM 690 III Ordinateur de bureau (amazon.fr), 98.91 ($161) on Cooler Master CM690 III, ohne Netzteil (amazon.co.uk).

For the GPU compatibility, all sites endlessly repeat Cooler Master site's "423mm" which is a joke: this is obviously the card length you can insert after removing the upper HDD cage; none shows the true compatibility, i.e. with keeping and using both HDD cages with all their trays, which is probably around 300mm. TIA to the one who would be able to post the true value.

Versailles, Fri 07 Feb 2014 00:41:00 +0100

03-07-2014, 14:26:20

PhatBastard
Just bought this for 79.99, it's windowed, comes with grommets and came with a free Cooler Master Seidon 120V AIO 120cm water cooler!

Got mine from Ebuyer. http://www.ebuyer.com/584015-cooler-...s-693-kwn1-s12
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.