CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

Up Close: Base, Rear, Roof and Reverse

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

 

Up Close:  Base, Rear, Roof and Reverse

Circular mesh ventilation runs practically the full length of the base of the cae, stopping only when it reaches the drive bay area.  Inlaid into this myriad of ventilation holes can be found mounts for a 120mm fan as well as a 2.5" drive. 

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review     CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

 

Four rubber pad topped dimples provide a secure mount for the PSU, with an elongated non grommeted cut out enabling the cables to exit to the rear.

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review     CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

 

The 690 II has room for 7 expansion cards in addition to an eighth that sits vertically alongside for non mobo PCI devices such as fan and lighting controllers.  Up in the top corner we find a CoolerMaster branded 120mm fan on extract duty.

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review     CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

 

Looking now at the roof from the inside we can see that the rectangular mesh is supported by a plastic elongated honeycomb pattern mesh.  The mounting holes for 120mm and 240mm fans can also be seen, as well as those for the optional 200mm fan off-set into the metal of the chassis in the image below right.  The holes for the 240mm fans are elongated allowing for varying inter hole pitch on radiators, and although  there are 140mm holes, you're not going to be getting a 280 rad up here without a bit of modding.  But more of the water cooling options when we come to the build.

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review     CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review  

 

The reverse side of the 690 III is very well laid out  with 13 well distributed cable tie points, for example the row of tie points that run down the side of the vertical management holes and the sets of tie points around the slots for the rear mounted SSD. 

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review     CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

 

At first the 19mm of space back here seems a little worrying, and it would be were it not for the bulged side panel which will bring the total space available up to a more than adequate 27mm

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review     CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review

 

There's also plenty of room for managing what could be a multitude of power and SATA cables, should you choose to populate all the drive bays.

CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review     CoolerMaster CM 690 III Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-09-2013, 05:25:10

tinytomlogan
Oh boy, the new CM 690 III is here. Are we excited or what! We loved the first two generations so hopes are high.


http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...164733182l.JPG


Continue Reading

16-09-2013, 05:32:45

Etlar
Miss a link :-D

16-09-2013, 06:51:20

barnsley
Everytime I see this case it reminds me how much of a copy my enermax case is of this :l.

Anyway, good to see that its still a strong, solid performer.

16-09-2013, 06:53:42

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Etlar View Post
Miss a link :-D
Easy doofus I was still putting it live.

16-09-2013, 08:22:57

Saltire35
There is an optional window panel with no fan mount.

But whether this is just available in the US, time will tell.

eBuyer usually stock the panels as they are the only place in the UK I've found that stock them as they did with previous generations of the 690.

http://imagescdn.tweaktown.com/news/...the_690_ii.jpg

16-09-2013, 08:26:07

jamesriley94
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saltire35 View Post
There is an optional window panel with no fan mount.

But whether this is just available in the US, time will tell.

eBuyer usually stock the panels as they are the only place in the UK I've found that stock them as they did with previous generations of the 690.
Sure about eBuyer?
Specialtech, OCUK and Scan, along with a fair few others stocked the CM690-II's windowed side panel, and did it for about 8.

I never saw eBuyer have them tbh, although I don't really use them anymore.

16-09-2013, 08:28:51

Saltire35
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesriley94 View Post
Sure about eBuyer?
Specialtech, OCUK and Scan, along with a fair few others stocked the CM690-II's windowed side panel, and did it for about 8.

I never saw eBuyer have them tbh, although I don't really use them anymore.
When I had the case, eBuyer were the only place that stocked them when they first came out.

16-09-2013, 16:32:28

Spiderz
Damm G-Dubz has been busy with the reviews recently. Do like the look of this case more than the II but at that money I'd honestly prefer the fractals.

16-09-2013, 18:51:37

Mgutierrez33
Great review. I'll never understand why grommets aren't included in this chassis, but once a windowed version releases my girlfriend's rig may be moving into one of these for sure.

17-09-2013, 01:36:30

deejayburnout
what a nice case. Might have to get my kids to buy me one for christmas.

17-09-2013, 08:59:36

Ady6UK
Windowed and non windowed versions available on pre order in the UK at Scan. About 5 difference between the two:
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/coole...usb-30-w-o-psu
http://www.scan.co.uk/products/coole...window-w-o-psu

24-11-2013, 20:45:36

Mosephuss
Sadly I can't find it on amazon. I hope it sill be available in the US a bit more by the time I get my pc so I don't have to order from a different website.

06-02-2014, 18:41:00

Michel Merlin
What is the TRUE GPU compatibility of the CM 693 (with all HDD trays in place)?

Still little available, or expensive: $150 on CM 690 III - black - Mid Tower (amazon.com), 93.00 EUR ($126) on Cooler Master CM 690 III Ordinateur de bureau (amazon.fr), 98.91 ($161) on Cooler Master CM690 III, ohne Netzteil (amazon.co.uk).

For the GPU compatibility, all sites endlessly repeat Cooler Master site's "423mm" which is a joke: this is obviously the card length you can insert after removing the upper HDD cage; none shows the true compatibility, i.e. with keeping and using both HDD cages with all their trays, which is probably around 300mm. TIA to the one who would be able to post the true value.

Versailles, Fri 07 Feb 2014 00:41:00 +0100

03-07-2014, 14:26:20

PhatBastard
Just bought this for 79.99, it's windowed, comes with grommets and came with a free Cooler Master Seidon 120V AIO 120cm water cooler!

Got mine from Ebuyer. http://www.ebuyer.com/584015-cooler-...s-693-kwn1-s12
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.