Corsair Carbide SPEC 01 & 03 Review

Introduction and Technical Specification

Corsair Carbide SPEC 01 Review

Introduction

We all know that Corsair make some of the best cases on the market, we also know that they do "High End" extremely well.  What has perhaps been missing from their world dominating line up though is a decent value for money gaming case.  Enter then the Spec-01.  It's so tempting to tell you here and now just how feature packed this case is, but you know what, you're just going to have to read the review.  For now let's just say that you won't be expecting it to offer as much as it does, and especially for the £40 Corsair say it will retail for.

Technical Specification

 Dimensions 428x200x447mm (HxWxD)
 Material Steel with Plastic front cover
 3.5" 4
 2.5" 4 (shared with 3.5")
 5.25" 2
 Expansion slots 7
 Motherboard ATX, M-ATX, M-ITX
 Front I/O 1xUSB2.0, 1xUSB3.0, Audio
 Cooling

 Front:  1x120mm, 1x120mm optional

 Rear:  1x120mm Optional

 Roof:  2x120mm Optional

 Max GPU length 420mm
 Max CPU Cooler Height 153mm
PSU ATX up to 200mm

  

  

  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-04-2014, 09:01:30

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...080603234l.png

What! A Corsair case for £37. Surely this is too good to be true.


Continue Reading

11-04-2014, 09:52:53

barnsley
Well done Corsair,nice to finally get a new standard set for budget cases. Now everyone else, please follow. To be totally honest though, there really isn't much competition. The NZXT source 210 is only the real competitor for it and thats much more basic looking.

-edit- Also the Silverstone RL04B is another competitor. Slightly better cable management but no window

11-04-2014, 09:54:14

RobCrezz
Wow, they are really nice cases for the money.

11-04-2014, 10:46:53

RickPlaysWarr
Hi

This is perfect for one thing I have been tagged for in my family. Everyone comes to me to say "can you build me a pc, not much money;" Its really awesome case and I can see using it with mATX sized MB a lot for the family builds.

--Rick--

11-04-2014, 11:35:14

Watsyerproblem
Nice review and video .

It is good to see such a great case at such a low price point.

11-05-2014, 11:59:15

kinghaq
Will corsair carbide spec 01 be able to fit the cooler master 212x..??

11-05-2014, 12:18:57

Wraithguard
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinghaq View Post
Will corsair carbide spec 01 be able to fit the cooler master 212x..??
Given the dimension of the 212 Evo 120 x 80 x 159 mm (4.7 x 3.1 x 6.3 in) I'm going to say NO. The review says any cooler 153mm will fit just fine though.

EDIT: What happened to the Spec-2?? I've not seen anything about it since the leaked images months ago...

11-05-2014, 15:34:06

paulstung
No idea they have the 01, and 03 on pre order most everywhere, but not the 02, very odd

02-06-2014, 06:13:03

Chris_Sparrow
Cooler master 412s,the only way to fit this beasty in this case, is the one on the photo
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.