Corsair Obsidian 900D Review

Corsair Obsidian 900D Review

Corsair Obsidian 900D Review 


Introduction

So if you've not heard about the new Obsidian what rock have you been hiding under? It's been all over the web since it first got seen properly at CES. This does mean this is the replacement for the 800D, which when first released and still to this day a case that we were not and are not, all that impressed with here at OC3D. So in our eye we have several areas that we will be being very strict with, air flow and layout being the top of our list. So without further ado lets take a quick glance at the specifications and then get comfy for our feature length 101 minute video behemoth!

Specifications

Specification
Case TypeSuper Tower
Motherboard SupportE-ATX
HPTX
ATX
Micro ATX
Mini ITX
Power Supply SupportATX
Maximum GPU Length 
PCI Expansion Slots10
External 5.25" Drive Bays4
External 3.5" Drive Baysn/a
Internal 3.5" Drive Bays9
Internal 2.5" Drive Bays9 (using internal 3.5" bays)
Front I/O Panel2 x USB 3.0
4 x USB 2.0
ColourBlack
Removable Motherboard TrayNo
CPU Mounting Hole in Motherboard TrayYes
MaterialsSteel
Aluminium
Dimensions (W x H x D)252 x 691.60 x 649.60 mm
Cooling
Front3 x 120mm AF120L Case Fans
Rear1 x 140mm AF140L Case Fan
Topn/a
Bottomn/a
Siden/a
Watercooling SupportYes
Radiator Supportup to 360mm Front
up to 480mm Top (or 420mm)
up to 480mm Bottom Side 1 (or 420mm)
up to 240mm Bottom Side 2 (or 280mm)
120mm Rear (or 140mm)
Radiators NOT Included
Additional Information
Special FeaturesUp To 15 Total Fan Mounting Locations
9 Tool Free 3.5" Drive Bays
Four Tool Free 5.25" Drive Bays
Tool Free Side Panel Access
Magnetic Latch Nottom HDD/Radiator Chamber Access
Full Side Panel Window
Removable Lower Radiator Covers
Three Hot Swap Bays
Dual PSU Locations 



Video Review




Conclusion

Okay so let's not beat about the bush here, that's our longest video review to date. Why? Well if you hadn't noticed the case is jam-packed full of features without being jam-packed full of gimmicks like LED's and fan controllers. Corsair have delivered a case that can take pretty much any hardware and cooling setup and left the rest up to us. They know full well if you have the money to buy this case and the hardware required to justify it that you will have some very specific requirements when it comes down to what fan controller you want or if you want to light your hardware up. So they've left it out and kept the price down.

Now price. £299 doesn't make it a budget case or something everyone is going to want to purchase. Again they are fully aware of this and that's the whole point. It was built and designed to hold an extreme system. You wouldn't have a £3000 system and a £30 case now would you?

There were many times during the assembly of the system we thought we had found some oversights, but for the most part each time we did we found screws to remove the offending object. For example, the front lower fan mount and the top optical bay runners (see video). The case isn't entirely oversight free though. The PCI slot mounts or expansion port thumb screws how ever you would like to name them are restricted by the side of the case with absolutely no way of getting a screw driver to them. We were lucky when building this system but we have had many moments in the past when GPU's just don't quite line up and its taken a screwdriver and a bit of leverage on the thumb screw to get the thread started. If that happened in this case it could become a mission to get things fitted. We also feel there are many places on the case that are vented that didn't really need to be, and if for some reason Corsair are sure they do then that would mean no dust filters on these locations is an oversight. The sheer size of these vented areas would mean you would have to be running a very high positive pressure in the case to make sure these didn't start drawing in dust from outside the chassis.

Water Cooling options are probably the best out of the box (no extra purchase required) of any case on the market today. The sheer size of the case will mean anyone looking to water cool it will have to think long and hard about hosing to keep things tidy, but if you are willing to put the effort in it can be done. It's worth noting that you can get hose up the back of the motherboard tray just to hide things as much as possible. Talking of cooling its not just a case for water, there's ample room for the largest of CPU heat sinks and with all the fan mounting options there's no lack of airflow with this Obsidian!

We could rattle this written conclusion on for pages, but that is really what all 101 minutes of the video is for. We honestly think this is jewel in Corsairs chassis crown. Sure £299 isn't cheap but if you are looking to build your dream PC case with multiple water cooling radiators, massive motherboards and still keep things cool and quiet we don't think you'll be able to find anything cheaper or as easy to use. The only thing we think Corsair has missed is there isn't a white one......... Yet ;)


      

Thanks to Corsair for the 900D on test here today, you can discuss your thoughts in the OC3D Forums.

«Prev 1 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-04-2013, 10:55:37

tinytomlogan
The wait for the Corsair flagship chassis the Obsidian 900D is finally here. We give it the full OC3D treatment to see if it really can live up to all the hype.


http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...062911761l.jpg


Continue Reading

16-04-2013, 11:00:02

AverageNinja
That case... Looks the danglies!
Watching the review now!

16-04-2013, 11:06:47

crshd
Holy cow, that's movie-length. Hope it was worth the wait. Actually, I'm fairly confident that it is, since it's a TTL review

16-04-2013, 11:13:11

Spiderz
101 minutes? Screw studying for finals I have a mammoth TTL video to watch.

In all seriousness this looks like a great case, a mid-tower based on this (i.e. 650D V2) would be ideal, this is just a tad big.

16-04-2013, 11:22:43

pcjunkie429
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiderz View Post
101 minutes? Screw studying for finals I have a mammoth TTL video to watch.

In all seriousness this looks like a great case, a mid-tower based on this (i.e. 650D V2) would be ideal, this is just a tad big.
Corsair is supposedly coming out with a "350D" sometime in the near future. (I put the name in quotes because I dunno if that's the real name they're going with, or just like a code name). Bad thing (kinda) is, it's gonna be m-ATX and under, so no regular ATX mobo support.

-EDIT-: Source

16-04-2013, 11:30:22

AverageNinja
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcjunkie429 View Post
Corsair is supposedly coming out with a "350D" sometime in the near future. (I put the name in quotes because I dunno if that's the real name they're going with, or just like a code name). Bad thing (kinda) is, it's gonna be m-ATX and under, so no regular ATX mobo support.

-EDIT-: Source
It's supposed to cost less than 100 though

16-04-2013, 11:35:04

Spiderz
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcjunkie429 View Post
Corsair is supposedly coming out with a "350D" sometime in the near future. (I put the name in quotes because I dunno if that's the real name they're going with, or just like a code name). Bad thing (kinda) is, it's gonna be m-ATX and under, so no regular ATX mobo support.

-EDIT-: Source
For a supposed "mATX" case they suggested dimensions make it taller and wider than my current ATX case and about half an inch shallower. Very interesting from Corsair.

Half an hour into the review and I like that Tom is doing the "accelerated" strip down of things in videos in these days instead of just fading to black, long may it continue.

16-04-2013, 12:55:20

Butterz
Good GOD Tom that was awesome I so neeed a smoke after watching that and you sold me on that case

16-04-2013, 13:16:16

Nogginthenog
I think its kind of overkill for me at least, but its still has the 'want' factor by the bucket load.

Great review of it as well, I have to say, excellent work.

16-04-2013, 13:20:51

airdeano
I really, really hate when you do this kinda review, Tom.. makes me almost
(almost, I say) doubt my CaseLabs SM8. for a mass-production style case, i'd
have to give it up for Corsair and the 900D. as a way former owner of the 800D
you are utmost correct, it is their first water-cooling cabinet, period. really, no
hacking, dremeling, jigsaw, etc.. just a Phillips and allen key and boom, its going.

i left mass-produced cases because of the extensive modification needed to
support water-cooling in an extreme way. now Corsair has done it to where the
end-user doesn't have to own a machine shop or intricate power tools to add
multi-radiator to the chassis. that is a big plus for Corsair and their design team
(yea! Corsair George). with the hype, previews and now reviews, no wonder my
RSVP to buy one in advance is always empty.

i do really like the rear tray area and using the bulkhead fittings (or fill port) to
transfer the hoses to the back, epic idea. now some of the rear VRM plates
have access to easy to rig tubing. to have monster proper water-cooling and have
HDD array (if needed) was a big task. box checked. Corsair has given the public a
blank canvas to stuff as much gear and hardware to make the radiator mannies
to produce more radiators. nice to see Corsair spreading more to the other support
companies...

thanks Tom on another brilliant review and making me think of "what else?"

16-04-2013, 13:30:27

alpenwasser
Quote:
Originally Posted by airdeano View Post
I really, really hate when you do this kinda review, Tom.. makes me almost
(almost, I say) doubt my CaseLabs SM8.
I hear ya. Although as a 560 rad addict, I still love my SMH10. No competition there
without having to do some modding

Quote:
Originally Posted by airdeano View Post
thanks Tom on another brilliant review and making me think of "what else?"
+1

16-04-2013, 13:38:21

Etlar
Seen the movie on this case now, need to go and eat whit the GF before she kills me !

And i also need to talk whit my bank ! Damn you TOM !

16-04-2013, 15:14:23

F-alienware
Thanks for the review.

16-04-2013, 15:51:45

SPS
Hmm which one to watch..

http://i.imgur.com/SGeC999.png

..back in an hour and 41 minutes! *Grabs mandatory coffee*

16-04-2013, 16:02:16

Spiderz
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPS View Post
Hmm which one to watch..

http://i.imgur.com/SGeC999.png

..back in an hour and 41 minutes! *Grabs mandatory coffee*
This speaks volumes regarding the depth TTL goes into with his reviews on video at least. How can they fit everything into 17 minutes?

16-04-2013, 16:08:08

SPS
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiderz View Post
This speaks volumes regarding the depth TTL goes into with his reviews on video at least. How can they fit everything into 17 minutes?
Lol don't even bother with that, it's 17mins of watching someone fit a H100 in there with an electric screwdriver..

But you are right, no one else on YT puts out videos of this much detail.


EDIT: Haha only Tom can spend 5 minutes talking about PCI brackets

16-04-2013, 17:30:18

alpenwasser
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPS View Post
Lol don't even bother with that, it's 17mins of watching someone fit a H100 in there with an electric screwdriver..
I thought you were joking. I've found you were not.

16-04-2013, 17:44:31

SPS
Quote:
Originally Posted by alpenwasser View Post
I thought you were joking. I've found you were not.
Haha I know right

16-04-2013, 18:03:34

Greenback
thanks tom that was 1 hell of a review and as normal if you haven't mentioned it it's not worth mentioning.
I don't think with the other rad options corsair missed anything by not having the front 360, though I did wonder if it would fit between the front filter and fans instead of inside, also if rear rad would benefit from a non modular psu as they normally have the cables coming out of 1 corner you could rotate it so they wouldn't obstruct the 360 rad

16-04-2013, 18:25:43

Mysterae
Excellent review as always. I think this case will be popular with the enthusiasts. Obtaining positive air pressure is a little concerning but doable.

Is it just me that thinks the name of this case looks like "good" g00D,? Just me? Okay then...

16-04-2013, 19:17:05

Butterz
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPS View Post
Lol don't even bother with that, it's 17mins of watching someone fit a H100 in there with an electric screwdriver..

But you are right, no one else on YT puts out videos of this much detail.


EDIT: Haha only Tom can spend 5 minutes talking about PCI brackets
I had to see this for myself OMG that was great He must feel stupid for putting that video up as a review H100i in a 900D

Here's a question can you get a dual bay res in the top without having to pull in out to fill? (90 from fill port)

16-04-2013, 19:50:52

Greenback
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPS View Post
Lol don't even bother with that, it's 17mins of watching someone fit a H100 in there with an electric screwdriver..
Now I know what NDA stands for Not Deserving Another and that bloke doesn't deserve getting anything else from corsair.
Just as well they have reviewers like tom

16-04-2013, 21:22:33

Excalabur50
Wow what a lllloooooonnnnggggggg video but a real joy to watch and Kudos to Corsair for a fantastic case, and with the way they are doing things it's no wonder they are pulling and going to pull more business their way and deservedly so. And once again Tom well done on a thorough informative review.

16-04-2013, 22:55:00

airdeano
where are all the white 900d's?
kinda wanna be outta the BBB club

17-04-2013, 00:39:24

SirJamesD
Now that I've watched the whole thing, I think it's safe for me to say that was an absolutely classic review.
Best I've ever seen by Tom.
That being said, anybody not willing to at least put a 360 rad in the thing shouldn't bother ponying up for it.
It's that degree of specialized art and design.

17-04-2013, 01:07:52

Luscious
Two shorter power supplies instead of the 1200i would allow dual 360 rads on the bottom. Best use of the space IMO.

17-04-2013, 02:17:33

CueBall
That video was loooooooooong but rather brillliant though. It kept me there and I watched it fully. Top notch Tom.

The case itself, just friggin awesome. I hope they make a smaller one like they did with the 800D. As much as I like this case its way to friggin big for me. So Corsair get your eginering had on again and build us a smaller one aswell

17-04-2013, 02:32:44

airdeano
Quote:
Originally Posted by CueBall View Post
I hope they make a smaller one like they did with the 800D.
they are releasing a 350D (windowed 300R with ally fascia). not quite 900D
look alike, but new to the line-up. doubt there will be a smaller 900D, takes
away from the elite status..

17-04-2013, 03:27:21

Ciric
Epic video featuring a epic case ....nice work Tom.

Apart from the things Tom allready mentioned in the video, I got one little thing.

Corsair, please please please, make a midplate covering the bottom compartment, going from the HDD cages to the rear. Just fasten it with srews, then those who whant to show of the PSU ect in the bottom can just remove it.

A minor "fix" to the pci slots, can be screws with longer heads, similar to those you get for the MB with some Lian Li's. Then they will be easyer to get a hold of, if the holes don't line perfectly up.

17-04-2013, 03:30:33

Damien c
Epic review Tom!

That has made my mind up about buying this case, and I will get one as soon as I can.

In the modding video that you are planning on doing though, can you cover how easy or difficult it would be to remove the 5.25" bays fully.

17-04-2013, 04:31:29

f0d
first time forum poster and i have to say that was a totally awesome review

one thing i dont think you covered (unless i somehow missed it) is how well do 38mm fans fit in the top section with a 60mm rad? im fairly sure i could run one set of fans but could i run scythe ultra kaze's in push-pull? (yes i know they are not very quiet but i dont really care about being quiet )
im fairly sure i cant but its worth asking

im definitely going to get one - we cant get caselabs cases in australia without spending wayy too much money (about $200+ shipping) so it wasnt a very hard decision to buy this case when it comes out

17-04-2013, 04:35:35

Vicey
This was an excellent review Tom. I watched every second of it and I was so happy it was so long as you really did cover everything. It was the only review I needed to see.

Now I really want this case. Just thinking about all the options with radiators and modding it blows my Lian Li out of the water in every way possible. Corsair seem unstoppable since they branched out from Memory it's just one hit after another, Solid State Drives, Cases, Power Supplies, CPU Coolers, Headsets, Mice, Keyboards. They just seem to be becoming the dominant force in a lot of areas with really well designed quality products.

Congrats on a fine review!

17-04-2013, 05:01:54

Lystfiskern
I think Tom made a very good point of this case being proned for negative pressure if not given attention. (Who wants a dustbox)
Tom even suggested reverseing the back-fan as an (filtered) intake but im not shure what effect that would for the flow of air inside the case as i am worried this could create a"swirl" of air inside possibly increasing the possibility for negative pressure? Im just speculating here.... Whats your thoughts on this guys (..and girlies )?

17-04-2013, 07:07:00

MrKambo
Finally got a chance to watch this, and all i can say is

Everything that was wrong with the 800 they fixed with this, and everything that was good they made better

Well done Corsair you guys have well and truly made a amazing case!! Tom, well done with the review, im sure you could have gone on even longer but i think you mentioned every single point anyone who is considering a case would wanna know

Also in your conclusion you mention 'benching' the case LOL! it was me that said i reckon you should squat it

22-04-2013, 06:19:55

Vlada011
Obsidian 350D will be one of best little cases for mATX form factor.

http://i.imgur.com/J4dl3J1.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/O5DSf2M.jpg

27-04-2013, 12:53:28

Zaim
Excellent review as usual mate, looks like an awesome case And the video is quite long lol :P
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.