Corsair VS NZXT Battle of the AIO Watercoolers

Testing

Corsair VS NZXT Battle of the AIO Watercoolers


Testing

 

Intel i7 3930k
Stock@ 1.1v (undervolted)
4.0GHz @ 1.25v
4.4GHz @ 1.35v
4.6GHz @ 1.45v
Gigabyte X79 UD3
Corsair Vengeance LP Memory
Corsair HX850 V2
Corsair Force GT 60GB
Coolermaster Storm Trooper

So we have arranged our tests to gradually get more and more strenuous, with a 2011 system able to put out a huge amount of heat we needed a basic test for basic coolers. Most CPU's at stock don't need stock volts and many people don't realise this. We have managed to get our 3930K running at stock at just 1.1v. This is 100% stable and will be our initial baseline test.

We run all of our tests in the same way, only the fan speeds and the overclocks differ. We use OCCT in Linpack X64, AVX compatible with all logical cores tested and 90% free memory utilised. We have set the test up so its simply a click and run affair, there is a 10minute idle period for the system to settle followed by a 30minute torture test. We have allowed a 5 minute cool down to the end of the test to round the total test time to 45minutes. 

We have set an upper limit of 80C as a maximum, OCCT has a feature that it will stop the test if temperatures exceed this limit. During testing we have noticed that it fails if one of the cores hits 82C. Never the less if the program halts the test we consider this a failed run.




Moving on to the 4GHz test, this is at 1.25v which is pretty close to what boards run at when left on 'auto'. If you are a regular on our forums you'll know how many times we end up telling beginners auto DOES NOT mean stock when overclocking!!! This does make quite a large difference in temperatures though with over a 10c increasing being seen on most coolers over our stock test. This is a good comparison for a basic overclock. 


 

Our 4.4GHz run has the volts increased again to 1.35v, this does put a lot of demand on the cooler and only good performing heatsinks should make it into this graph with decent temps. You can see the D14 and the H100 both tipping there toes into the 70C averages here showing that they are getting close to the limits of our acceptable maximum.

 




Finally our 4.6GHz test. Dont be fooled this is an extreme test and the graph reflects this, you will only see the cream of the crop featured in this graph. The most surprising result here for us was that the H80i passed this test, quite the achievement considering both the 140mm units, the H100 and the NH-D14 all failed.

 

«Prev 1 2 3 Next»

Most Recent Comments

31-01-2013, 10:22:57

tinytomlogan
With all these new AIO's being released we put the two 140mm versions from both Corsair and NZXT head to head on our new test rig.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...084811398l.jpg


Continue Reading

31-01-2013, 10:31:12

JMMP
Once again, an excellent review Tom!
an 100% thumbs up review!!!! lol

31-01-2013, 10:45:16

UkGouki
thanks for this tom

31-01-2013, 22:49:23

airdeano
excellent review and comparo.

now to fend off the trolls, because Tom said Corsair.. jeez
i see another troll video.. 4 stacked H100i rads with only 20 fans because we
want it believable... sub-zero cooling anyone? LOL

01-02-2013, 01:55:30

Vlada011
I love CORSAIR.
But I would stay at 2x120mm, 240mm radiators.
They are always better for me.

01-02-2013, 06:51:06

Smoke2049
Very helpful and the timing couldn't be better i was literally just going over which cooler would be best for my new build , Thanks Tom

01-02-2013, 07:58:53

SPS
All this testing and re-testing with 2011 must have been painful. But that's why we respect your reviews - no corners cut!

01-02-2013, 08:16:11

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPS View Post
All this testing and re-testing with 2011 must have been painful. But that's why we respect your reviews - no corners cut!

Was a complete nightmare!

01-02-2013, 08:20:06

Smoke2049
Well it is very much appreciated Tom thanks mate

01-02-2013, 08:27:12

mArTyN


VERY pleased I got the 100i after watching the review.

Regards,

mArTyN

01-02-2013, 14:27:02

mastercrim
Great review sad to see the DH 14 fail at 4.6 because I loved the one I put in a friends rig.

01-02-2013, 14:50:58

jamesriley94
Interesting that the H80i beats the H100.

Also:
http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews/c...watercoolers/2

The test rig says 3930k, but all of the graphs say 3960x. Just wanted to point that out

03-02-2013, 11:10:01

murphy7801
cant wait for either company to do coolit version of dual 140mm rad

14-02-2013, 09:37:43

eminus
I got the X40 after the review..just because I got an Arc Midi lol...2x 1000rpm(push/pull) easily beats the 1x 2000rpm(push or pull)...in performance both cooling and noise

20-02-2013, 16:12:19

Greenback
It would be interesting with your new test rig to see how a proper watercooling setup would compare to these AIO, I know it will come as you do a lot of watercooling gear reviews.

On a side note you mention how long your video reviews go on for but from my side I'd rather watch a 40 minute review with all the info good and bad, then a 10 minute with the info I can go to the items website and get or in some cases 30 minutes with less info then what is on the website.

and for that I would like to thank you

29-05-2013, 17:02:13

Willzzz
Any news on the retesting with the Noctua fans?

01-06-2013, 13:31:54

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Willzzz View Post
Any news on the retesting with the Noctua fans?
Not had time and tbh the moment has passed

20-07-2013, 12:58:09

loglog
Excellent review, although just having purchased an H100i i dont regret my purchase at all, nor will i be switching. But kudos to NZXT and their x60.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.