Fractal Design Node 605 HTPC Case Review

Introduction and Technical Specification

 Fractal Design Node 605 HTPC Case Review  

 

Introduction

Swedish company Fractal Design have already embedded themselves firmly into the extremely competitive world of PC components and in particular PC cases. With products such as the Arc, Core and Define (now in it's 4th iteration), their designs leaning heavily towards sleek and understated, with a firm "less is more" underpinning the company mission statement. With the groundwork already completed and their ability to produce strong silent high quality cases it is then perhaps not surprising to see them add an HTPC case to their product line up. The Node 605 is able to accept Micro and Mini ITX along with DTX and more importantly ATX boards. It's also able to accept GPUs up to 290mm so there should be no problem finding a home for all but the very largest graphics cards. With those two boxes ticked it looks very likely that although the Node 605 is aimed at the HTPC market, it may well be able to house a pretty powerful system, perhaps enabling Hi-Res Living room gaming on a system that will please "She who wears the trousers"

 

Technical Specification.

We're seen that the Node doesn't limit us too much with regards to our choice of Motherboard and GPU, but what about the rest of the features? Well we're please to say the good news continues.

 

motherboard compatibilityATX, microATX, Mini ITX, DTX
expansion slots7
HDD / SSD4 - supports either 2.5" or 3.5"
Optical storage1 slim-line ODD (only supported with mATX or smaller motherboards)
Case dimensions (W x H x D): 445 x 164 x 349 mm
Net weight6,0 kg
Cooling / ventilation

5 (3 - 120mm + 2 - 80mm)

2 – 120mm Silent Series R2 fans included

 

PSU compatibility:

180 mm (including any modular connectors) with both hard drive cages mounted or 190 mm (excluding cables and any modular connectors) with one hard drive cage mounted

CPU cooler compatibility:

Approx 125mm with side-mounted fans - For coolers with top-mounted fans, Fractal Design recommends that you add at least 30 mm clearance for decent airflow

Graphics card compatibility:

290 mm in the top two ATX expansion card slots with two hard drive cages mounted

280 mm in the top four ATX expansion card slots with one hard drive cage mounted, containing one 3.5" HDD and one 2.5" SSD

 

Features   

Removable air filters for side fans and PSU

Integrated three-channel fan controller

Front interface

2 - USB 3.0

1 - FireWire (IEEE 1394)

1 - 3.5mm audio in (microphone)

1 - 3.5mm audio out (headphone)

Power button with LED

HDD LED

 

 

 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-01-2013, 08:17:02

tinytomlogan
Here we take a look at Fractal design's HTPC case. Able to take ATX motherboards and full size GPUs, the Node 605 certainly appears to have what it takes.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...112607212l.png


Continue Reading

02-01-2013, 08:23:40

Feronix
^Better

This might be a nice case for my dads pc that I'll be building in a few months... he wants something really compact. I'll have to read through this once I get home!

02-01-2013, 13:09:55

FTLN
Nice review, im loving fractals gear from the past year or so.

Any idea if a h100 could fit along the left hand side ?

(edit)

I guess it should looking at the specs - 164mm height and the h100 rad is 120mm, might need a bit of modding though...

03-01-2013, 00:08:08

yggdrasil
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...165455694s.JPG
Who the heck has a VHS now days?

But it does look like a nice clean and functional/preforming case.
Not often you get them all together you either have looks or air flow.
Nice review.

03-01-2013, 05:41:35

CPMFW
nice review as always...
the case just looks amazing, it would be ideal for a htpc

03-01-2013, 17:42:59

elarchidos
I really would be interested whether space between Mobo and inner-side of the case is wide enough to fit 27mm deep radiator for water AIO cooling. I would place a fan outside with dust filter on top of It. I did write to Fractal Design, unfortunately no response. Would reviewer be so kind to measure It for us? posible

04-01-2013, 13:10:28

G-Dubs
Quote:
Originally Posted by elarchidos View Post
I really would be interested whether space between Mobo and inner-side of the case is wide enough to fit 27mm deep radiator for water AIO cooling. I would place a fan outside with dust filter on top of It. I did write to Fractal Design, unfortunately no response. Would reviewer be so kind to measure It for us? posible
Hi. A pleasure to help but the news is not good I'm afraid. The gap is actually 26mm with the motherboard I have used. Just enough room for a fan and a tiny gap to the edge of the mobo. a 27mm deep rad is probably a no go unless you were prepared to shave a bit of the edge of your mobo. Even if the distance were great enough you'd still have to factor in the lugs on the ports of the rad which tend to stock out a bit more than the rest of the body. Youcan see the size of the gap betweeen the 25mm thick fan and the mobo on the first 2 images of page 5 of the review.

If you wanted to you could easiy mod the side of the case to accept both the rad and the fan externally, or even round the back by modding one of the 80mm fan grills.

05-01-2013, 00:25:29

andrevautour
I love the look of this!

05-01-2013, 03:38:04

PsyTech
Neat case. Something that one of my co-workers was looking for, should recommend.

05-01-2013, 18:48:32

Koolzy
For guys that likes horizontal cases is very beautiful and nice choice... Thumbs up for the review

05-01-2013, 19:00:45

dragoonk
That is one... beautiful.. case! I absolutely love cases that have that brushed aluminium finish to it and then painted black. Looks very high quality, not flashy, not vulgar, it doesn't feel cheap, it doesn't have all those plastic attachments and weird shapes. it looks just like a high quality, beautifully crafted out of massive wood, piece of furniture. And look at that power button. Really nice case.

06-01-2013, 17:51:33

elarchidos
Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Dubs View Post
Hi. A pleasure to help but the news is not good I'm afraid. The gap is actually 26mm with the motherboard I have used. Just enough room for a fan and a tiny gap to the edge of the mobo. a 27mm deep rad is probably a no go unless you were prepared to shave a bit of the edge of your mobo. Even if the distance were great enough you'd still have to factor in the lugs on the ports of the rad which tend to stock out a bit more than the rest of the body. Youcan see the size of the gap betweeen the 25mm thick fan and the mobo on the first 2 images of page 5 of the review.

If you wanted to you could easiy mod the side of the case to accept both the rad and the fan externally, or even round the back by modding one of the 80mm fan grills.
Thanks for reply. I have to buy this case, as It's only one witch fits hand luggage and has space for ATX mobo. I'll go with rad outside and fan inside, modding the case. This way I can even use deeper/more efficient rad and leave noisy fan inside. The question remains, whether to suck cool air into the case or blow a bit warm air out through the rad.

07-01-2013, 17:51:13

G-Dubs
Ah the old suck or blow question. Best thing to do is try both. We'd like to see your results. In reality won't make that much of a difference probably.

You could perhaps argue that a lot depends in this case as to whether you're going to be running a toasty GPU in the case. If you are i'd have the fans sucking cool air in as it won't heat up too much coming over the rad and will extracted along with the hot air from the gpu on the other side. If you're not running a hot GPU then i'd be tempted to go for blowing air out from inside as the air going over the rad won't be too hot.


Love the reason for buying the case Hand luggage,not heard that one before

16-01-2013, 17:56:02

LaRocK
Great review of the case. I bought one recently for a bit of a monster gaming build, seems nuts I know but space is an issue. The build is Node 605, motherboard is an asus maximus v gene, i7-3770k cpu, corsair dominator platinum 16gb (2x8) ram, EVGA 680 superclocked GFX. I unfortunately already made the mistake of buying a corsair h80i cpu cooler and will be sending it back as I now know it won't fit. Do you have any recommendations for a suitable air cooler. Fractal say maximum height on cooler should be 125mm so I was thinking of a Noctua NH-U9B SE2 CPU Cooler (fns are pretty hideous looking though ^^). I'm hoping it wont obstruct the GFX card slot or the corsair ram I have on the maximus gene. Any help or other suggestions would be appreciated, thanks.

01-02-2014, 18:17:15

rost333
Hi!

What motherboard was used in this project? I can see it's Asus, but what model?

Thx for your answer!

01-02-2014, 19:02:06

dalewakelin
Quote:
Originally Posted by rost333 View Post
Hi!

What motherboard was used in this project? I can see it's Asus, but what model?

Thx for your answer!
ASUS P6TD Deluxe.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.