Lian Li PC-A51 Review

Introduction and Technical Specification

Lian Li PC-51A

Introduction

We don't get to see that many cases from Lian Li, but when we do it's always a treat.  You see Lian Li are one of those manufacturers that often do things just a little bit differently.  Let's put it this way, you couldn't exactly accuse then of churning out OEM boxes with a different fascia stuck on the front could you on.  That said, different isn't always better, and in straying away from the norm, perhaps to proffer a solution to a problem, there's always the risk of introducing other issues into the mix.  On the face of it, the PC-A51 has a lot going for it.  At just  393mm tall it's still able to accept full size ATX motherboards as well as M-ATX.  GPUs up to 400mm, PSUs up to 160mm, and any CPU cooler up to 175mm will be fine.  It also looks suspiciously like it might have native water cooling support in the roof.  Now we've whetted your appetite, let's a look at the full spec.

 

Technical Specification

 Model PC-A51
 Body Material Aluminium
 Dimensions 230x393x489 (WxHxD)
 Colour Silver, Black, Internal Black, Internal Red
 Motherboard ATX, Micro-ATX
 5.25" drive bay (External) 1 with Cover (C-02-1)
 HDD bay 3.5"/2.5" HDD x5 + 2.5" HDD x1(base)
 Expansion Slot 7
 System Fan (Front) 140mm Fan
 System Fan (Rear) 120mm Fan
 System Fan (Top) 140mm or 120mm Fan x2 (Optional)
 I/O Ports USB3.0 x 4, HD Audio
Maximum Compatibility VGA Card length: 280mm – 400mm(Max) 
 PSU length: 160mm 
 CPU cooler height:175mm
 240mm or 280mm Radiator
 Cable Management Space: height 30mm
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

17-06-2014, 07:15:36

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...080503978l.jpg

Lian Li do things differently, and the new PC-A51 is no exception. Who's for rear to front airflow and a front mounted PSU


Continue Reading

17-06-2014, 07:20:22

YouWhat
Sounds strange, but if it works...

Link missing btw

http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews/c...c-a51_review/1

17-06-2014, 07:22:05

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by YouWhat View Post
Sounds strange, but if it works...

Link missing btw

http://www.overclock3d.net/reviews/c...c-a51_review/1

I was in the process of putting it live.....

17-06-2014, 07:33:39

YouWhat
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
I was in the process of putting it live.....
Sorry jumped on it too quick...

17-06-2014, 07:37:32

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by YouWhat View Post
Sorry jumped on it too quick...
I need a forum post before the front end stuff can go live.....

17-06-2014, 08:01:21

barnsley
Lian Li stuff has grown on me so much and tbh while this case isn't exactly what I need...
Must. Not. Buy. hnnnng D:

17-06-2014, 08:54:37

Feronix
I'm just happy that they've finally started painting the case interiour black and added proper cable management

17-06-2014, 10:29:44

RickPlaysWarr
Very nice case, I would have considered it if I had not bought the H440. Their placement of the Power supply would make me worry a bit about buying the GPU. Would probably have to fit everything I wanted in the case and then decide on the GPU options.

Also this case seems to me that it would be really hard to fit in a custom water cooling loop. I think this one is AIO only.

--Rick--

17-06-2014, 13:21:06

Zoot
I'd been eying this case for a while after I saw Lian Li announce it. If I hadn't bought a Define R4, I'd probably be getting this instead.

My problem with a lot of ATX cases is that they're just too big, there's loads of empty space inside them that just doesn't need to be there, particularly if you don't care about watercooling (like me). Putting the PSU in the front is kind of cool because it means the case can be shorter so you don't have all that wasted space at the bottom. But I can see the issue that Gary describes in the review with the graphics card being right up against the PSU connections being a problem then, maybe if they inverted the motherboard tray instead?

Nonetheless, it's nice to see those like Lian Li pushing the boundaries of PC cases. They'd get boring very fast instead!

17-06-2014, 13:50:08

Wraithguard
Nice to see Lian Li getting back into the mainstream again. +1 for the Black interior.

04-07-2014, 15:06:13

luongo27
Just ordered one, really like the size and quality of it. Nice review as well, tipped me towards buying it.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.