NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review

Introduction and Technical Specification

 NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review  

 

Introduction

Back at the start of this decade NZXT released the original Phantom.  Representing as it did a bit of a change in aesthetic direction it wasn't without its detractors.  The main criticism levelled at it, and as such, subsequent continuations of the breed was that it was insubstantial and "plasticy", although it has to be said that these comments came predominantly from those who had never actually seen ones in the flesh.  Wind the clock on 3 years and following the larger 820 and 630, and of course the smaller 410, we now have the 530, sitting as you might imagine both size and price wise between the 410 and 630.

In trying to make a little more sense as to where the 530 sits in the range, it's perhaps easier to think of the 530 as a cut down 630 rather than a larger 410.  This is in the main due to it offering much the same functionality of the 630 in a smaller enclosure.

For full details of Specification and features best we have a look at the tables

 

Technical Specification

Size

Full Tower

Model Number

CA-PH530-W1 White
CA-PH530-B1 Black
CA-PH530-R1 Red

Drive Bays

External 5.25" x 3
Internal 3.5" /2.5": 6
Internal 2.5": 1 + 6

Cooling System

Front 2x140mm/ 120mm or 1x200mm
(1 x 200mm included)
Rear 1x140mm (included) / 120mm
Bottom 2x120mm
Side 1x140mm
Top 2x200mm/140mm or 3x120mm
Interior 1x120mm/140mm

 Water Cooling Support

Roof:  Up to 360mm (120.3) or 280mm (140.2) Max 43mm depth including fans

Front:  Up to 240mm (120.2)  Max 135mm depth including fans

Floor:  Up to 240mm (120,2) Max depth 75mm not including fans

Clearances

CPU 183mm

VGA 282mm (With Pivot Fan)
VGA Card 310mm (With Cage)/ 444mm (Without Cage)
Cable Management 26mm (Lowest Point)/ 34mm (Highest Point)

Dimensions

235mm x 572mm x 543mm

Material

Steel, Plastic

Motherboard Support

ITX, Micro-ATX, ATX, EATX   (322x272mm)

Expansion Slots

8

External Electronics

1 x Audio / Mic
2 x USB 3.0

Product Weight

10.5 kg

Warranty

2 Years

 

Features

  • Single channel, 30W fan controller with integrated fan hub
  • Up to three 200mm fans for maximum airflow
  • Discrete SSD mount behind motherboard tray
  • 34mm of cable management clearance
  • Fully modular, interchangeable hard drive cages
  • Signature rear I/O LEDs + Latest USB 3.0 connection
  • Large acrylic window
  • Extensive liquid cooling support includes Kraken X40/X60 all-in-one solutions and radiators of up to 360mm in size

 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-09-2013, 08:16:21

tinytomlogan
NZXT have refreshed the Phantom line up in the form of the 530. It seems they've been listening to customer feedback, because guess what guys...It's got a bloody great window!!!

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...121303422l.JPG


Continue Reading

02-09-2013, 08:32:22

Feronix
Is it just me (or the photos) or is this case just really tall compared to the depth?

Either way, it looks nice. I liked the exterior of the 410/630/820 better but it's not bad. Definitely a good case from NZXT, as I had expected tbh.

02-09-2013, 08:38:36

SieB
Looks like a decent case, you can see a lot of similarities with it and the Switch 810 though. Not that is a bad thing.

02-09-2013, 08:42:05

Watsyerproblem
Looks great, the new window works wonders for the looks of this case.

02-09-2013, 09:13:15

FTR.4500MHz
Nice review as always. Spoted a typo on page 7, 1st paragraphe, 1st line: 350 instead of 530.

02-09-2013, 09:15:22

Remmy
You can already see people making a window of that mesh panel on the side panel

02-09-2013, 09:58:05

Spiderz
Not a fan of the phantom cases (bit too garish a design for me) but this looks like the best of the lot all round. Now if only NZXT would stop with any side mesh for fans and made that part slightly different, all would be good.

02-09-2013, 13:51:12

SolarNova
As much as i like the look of the phantom series, and i really do like them, they are the sleekest/curviest looking PC casses out. The paint, specificaly the white paint, chips VERY easily.
I went through 6 ..yes SIX (from different retailers), white Phantom 820's and each and every one of them had paint chiping issues on the corners of the doors. They would ether be pre-chiped, or chip within a couple uses of the door.

In the end i had to give up and bought a CM Storm Stryker Instead.

If the 530 uses the same paint and application method, i would Highly advise people to avoid the white one.
Other than the white paint issue the NZXT casses look great and have great features.
And their customer support is brilliant, I recommend them.

03-09-2013, 07:25:26

R0Y
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
NZXT have refreshed the Phantom line up in the form of the 530. It seems they've been listening to customer feedback, because guess what guys...It's got a bloody great window!!!
So, are you going to do a video review of this one, with all your water-cooling gear fitting tips and all? You could do a comparison between the 530 and 630 side-by-side. That would be really awesome. Please do

03-09-2013, 08:36:12

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by R0Y View Post
So, are you going to do a video review of this one, with all your water-cooling gear fitting tips and all? You could do a comparison between the 530 and 630 side-by-side. That would be really awesome. Please do

No mate Gary has the case with him. He has done the review I wont be doing any work on these. Ive not got the time to put a watercooled rig in everything sadly.

03-09-2013, 09:02:25

SuB
Lies, you've got all the time in the world! (lol) :P (I'm joking of course)

03-09-2013, 11:34:53

R0Y
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
No mate Gary has the case with him. He has done the review I wont be doing any work on these. Ive not got the time to put a watercooled rig in everything sadly.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.