NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review

Up Close: Exterior, Roof, Rear and Base

NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review

 

Up Close:  Exterior, Roof, Rear and Base 

Phantom case roofs have always been sleek minimalist affairs, and the 530 is no different, in fact we think it might be the most minimalist yet with just 2 buttons and a fan controller stealthily secreted about it's surface there's little to break up the slippery lines                

NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review     NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review

 

The metal grill on the roof of the 530 is one of the finest we've ever seen, and by that we mean the mesh is of such a fine weave as to be almost transparent when viewed from certain angles.  While there is a strength to it, we suspect it won't stand up to well to having anything dropped on it, or a bit of ham fisted lifting perhaps

NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review     NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review

 

See the buttons?  Yeah we had trouble finding them too.  It's not just the photography, they really do blend in that well.  On the left of the case we have a sliding fan controller and a small button which turns on and off the handy dandy rear I/O LED.  Over on the right along with the power button we have a brace of USB3.0 (there's no USB2.0) and the usual audio sockets

NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review     NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review

 

Round the back of the case there's a quite gargantuan rear fan grill, bulging slightly out from the rear panel and with slotted holes enabling both 120 and 140mm fans to be mounted here, their positions altered to best suit the internal hardware.

NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review     NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review  

 

Further down there's a pair of rubber grommeted tubing holes (please stop doing this, it's not 2005 anymore).  These are flanked to the left by 8 expansion bays.  The bay covers are vented and finished in a black to nicely counterpoint the white.  At the very base of the case we do of course find the PSU cut out. 

NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review     NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review

 

Flipping the chap over onto it's side allows us a good look at the underside.  To the front there is a pair of 120mm fan cut outs to allow air in for any base mounted rads or fans, and to the rear there's a slatted area providing the same service for the PSU.  Both of these areas are awarded their own easily removable mesh fan filters

NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review     NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-09-2013, 08:16:21

tinytomlogan
NZXT have refreshed the Phantom line up in the form of the 530. It seems they've been listening to customer feedback, because guess what guys...It's got a bloody great window!!!

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...121303422l.JPG


Continue Reading

02-09-2013, 08:32:22

Feronix
Is it just me (or the photos) or is this case just really tall compared to the depth?

Either way, it looks nice. I liked the exterior of the 410/630/820 better but it's not bad. Definitely a good case from NZXT, as I had expected tbh.

02-09-2013, 08:38:36

SieB
Looks like a decent case, you can see a lot of similarities with it and the Switch 810 though. Not that is a bad thing.

02-09-2013, 08:42:05

Watsyerproblem
Looks great, the new window works wonders for the looks of this case.

02-09-2013, 09:13:15

FTR.4500MHz
Nice review as always. Spoted a typo on page 7, 1st paragraphe, 1st line: 350 instead of 530.

02-09-2013, 09:15:22

Remmy
You can already see people making a window of that mesh panel on the side panel

02-09-2013, 09:58:05

Spiderz
Not a fan of the phantom cases (bit too garish a design for me) but this looks like the best of the lot all round. Now if only NZXT would stop with any side mesh for fans and made that part slightly different, all would be good.

02-09-2013, 13:51:12

SolarNova
As much as i like the look of the phantom series, and i really do like them, they are the sleekest/curviest looking PC casses out. The paint, specificaly the white paint, chips VERY easily.
I went through 6 ..yes SIX (from different retailers), white Phantom 820's and each and every one of them had paint chiping issues on the corners of the doors. They would ether be pre-chiped, or chip within a couple uses of the door.

In the end i had to give up and bought a CM Storm Stryker Instead.

If the 530 uses the same paint and application method, i would Highly advise people to avoid the white one.
Other than the white paint issue the NZXT casses look great and have great features.
And their customer support is brilliant, I recommend them.

03-09-2013, 07:25:26

R0Y
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
NZXT have refreshed the Phantom line up in the form of the 530. It seems they've been listening to customer feedback, because guess what guys...It's got a bloody great window!!!
So, are you going to do a video review of this one, with all your water-cooling gear fitting tips and all? You could do a comparison between the 530 and 630 side-by-side. That would be really awesome. Please do

03-09-2013, 08:36:12

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by R0Y View Post
So, are you going to do a video review of this one, with all your water-cooling gear fitting tips and all? You could do a comparison between the 530 and 630 side-by-side. That would be really awesome. Please do

No mate Gary has the case with him. He has done the review I wont be doing any work on these. Ive not got the time to put a watercooled rig in everything sadly.

03-09-2013, 09:02:25

SuB
Lies, you've got all the time in the world! (lol) :P (I'm joking of course)

03-09-2013, 11:34:53

R0Y
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
No mate Gary has the case with him. He has done the review I wont be doing any work on these. Ive not got the time to put a watercooled rig in everything sadly.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.