NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review

Up Close: Floor, Rear and Roof

NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review

 

Up Close:  Floor, Rear and Roof

The images below afford a better view of the anterior floor area and in particular the space allocated for floor mouted fans or a 240mm Rad.  Although a 25mm thick fan will fit under the floor bracket, if you want to get a rad and fans in there, and as such keep the majority of your storage then the floor bracket will need to come out.  Have no fear if you have no Dremmel, NZXT have been thoughtful in securing this bracket with screws and not rivets.

NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review     NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review

 

A football pitch of space has been given over to the PSU mounting area, with full length ventilation and even an addition set of rubber pad topped supports for the very longest of PSUs.  Sadly there's no padding around the PSU aperture though, and as we mentioned earlier, the PSU cable out hole is "moin le grommet"

NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review     NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review

 

Above the PSU area there are no less than 8 PCI slots.  The slotted brackets, finished in a matte black counterpoint the white of the interior nicely

NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review     NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review

 

A 140mm white bladed NZXT fan is fitted on extract duty up in the back corner, although slotted mounting holes are provided allowing variable fitting of both 120mm and 140mm fans.  The picture below right showing the business end of the small LED that is switched via the front I/O allowing illumination of the rear I/O

NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review     NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review  

 

The spacious roof of the 530 is able to accept rads of up to 43mm thick (with the rad mounted in the roof space below the plastic top plate and the fans internally).  The screw holes here are also slotted allowing for variances in inter hole pitch sometimes seen in rads.  In broad terms what this means is that you have access to a wide range of 360 and 280 rads and although this sot of space does lend itself more towards the custom build it does also mean that you can fit pretty much any AIO you care to mention up here. 

NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review     NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-09-2013, 08:16:21

tinytomlogan
NZXT have refreshed the Phantom line up in the form of the 530. It seems they've been listening to customer feedback, because guess what guys...It's got a bloody great window!!!

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...121303422l.JPG


Continue Reading

02-09-2013, 08:32:22

Feronix
Is it just me (or the photos) or is this case just really tall compared to the depth?

Either way, it looks nice. I liked the exterior of the 410/630/820 better but it's not bad. Definitely a good case from NZXT, as I had expected tbh.

02-09-2013, 08:38:36

SieB
Looks like a decent case, you can see a lot of similarities with it and the Switch 810 though. Not that is a bad thing.

02-09-2013, 08:42:05

Watsyerproblem
Looks great, the new window works wonders for the looks of this case.

02-09-2013, 09:13:15

FTR.4500MHz
Nice review as always. Spoted a typo on page 7, 1st paragraphe, 1st line: 350 instead of 530.

02-09-2013, 09:15:22

Remmy
You can already see people making a window of that mesh panel on the side panel

02-09-2013, 09:58:05

Spiderz
Not a fan of the phantom cases (bit too garish a design for me) but this looks like the best of the lot all round. Now if only NZXT would stop with any side mesh for fans and made that part slightly different, all would be good.

02-09-2013, 13:51:12

SolarNova
As much as i like the look of the phantom series, and i really do like them, they are the sleekest/curviest looking PC casses out. The paint, specificaly the white paint, chips VERY easily.
I went through 6 ..yes SIX (from different retailers), white Phantom 820's and each and every one of them had paint chiping issues on the corners of the doors. They would ether be pre-chiped, or chip within a couple uses of the door.

In the end i had to give up and bought a CM Storm Stryker Instead.

If the 530 uses the same paint and application method, i would Highly advise people to avoid the white one.
Other than the white paint issue the NZXT casses look great and have great features.
And their customer support is brilliant, I recommend them.

03-09-2013, 07:25:26

R0Y
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
NZXT have refreshed the Phantom line up in the form of the 530. It seems they've been listening to customer feedback, because guess what guys...It's got a bloody great window!!!
So, are you going to do a video review of this one, with all your water-cooling gear fitting tips and all? You could do a comparison between the 530 and 630 side-by-side. That would be really awesome. Please do

03-09-2013, 08:36:12

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by R0Y View Post
So, are you going to do a video review of this one, with all your water-cooling gear fitting tips and all? You could do a comparison between the 530 and 630 side-by-side. That would be really awesome. Please do

No mate Gary has the case with him. He has done the review I wont be doing any work on these. Ive not got the time to put a watercooled rig in everything sadly.

03-09-2013, 09:02:25

SuB
Lies, you've got all the time in the world! (lol) :P (I'm joking of course)

03-09-2013, 11:34:53

R0Y
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
No mate Gary has the case with him. He has done the review I wont be doing any work on these. Ive not got the time to put a watercooled rig in everything sadly.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.