NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review

Up Close: Stripped

NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review

 

Up Close:  Stripped

Still fighting the urge to call this section In the nip" let's take a look at the 350 once all the trimmings have been stripped away.  The plastic panels that identify the 530 clearly as part of the Phantom range are easily removed by a firm tug.  Although plastic, they are rigid and do not give the impression they are going to break or warp any time soon.  The image below left shows the front panel with the mesh fan filter in place, so should you want to clean this filter you're going to have to take the front off.  But let's face it, who cleans their filters?

NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review     NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review

 

The front of the case has a large cut out for the 5.25" bays, below which we find the front fan intake area.  Supplied as it is with a 200mm NZXT fan, the area is also able to accept 2x120mm or 2x140mm units

NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review     NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review

 

We've already talked about the importance of fittings being screwed as opposed to riveted when it comes to case modding, and it's nice to see that NZXT have carried this through to the plastic fittings supporting the various front I/O and lighting mounts.

NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review     NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review

 

Looking down onto the roof gives us a good idea of how much space there is up here.  although no fans are fitted as standard, it's possible to get 2x200mm up here.  So if air cooling's your thing just think of the effect of 2 almost silently spinning low RPM 200mms will have on your cooling.  Other options include 3x140mm and 3x120mm fans.  If you're planning to water-cool then you have the option of a 360mm or 280mm rad up here, and with slotted screw spacing you're no going to have to worry about compatibility.  There's also 43mm of clearance so although you're not going to be fitting a massively thick rad you should have plenty of room for units such as the XSPC RS, EX and AX series as well as the Alphacool NexXxos ST30 and Hardware labs Black ice GT Stealth.  Pretty much any of the ever growing crop of AIOs which tend to have thinner rads such as the Corsair H100i and H110 will fit up here no problem at all, as will NZXTs own mighty Kraken X60

NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review     NZXT PHANTOM 530 Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

02-09-2013, 08:16:21

tinytomlogan
NZXT have refreshed the Phantom line up in the form of the 530. It seems they've been listening to customer feedback, because guess what guys...It's got a bloody great window!!!

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...121303422l.JPG


Continue Reading

02-09-2013, 08:32:22

Feronix
Is it just me (or the photos) or is this case just really tall compared to the depth?

Either way, it looks nice. I liked the exterior of the 410/630/820 better but it's not bad. Definitely a good case from NZXT, as I had expected tbh.

02-09-2013, 08:38:36

SieB
Looks like a decent case, you can see a lot of similarities with it and the Switch 810 though. Not that is a bad thing.

02-09-2013, 08:42:05

Watsyerproblem
Looks great, the new window works wonders for the looks of this case.

02-09-2013, 09:13:15

FTR.4500MHz
Nice review as always. Spoted a typo on page 7, 1st paragraphe, 1st line: 350 instead of 530.

02-09-2013, 09:15:22

Remmy
You can already see people making a window of that mesh panel on the side panel

02-09-2013, 09:58:05

Spiderz
Not a fan of the phantom cases (bit too garish a design for me) but this looks like the best of the lot all round. Now if only NZXT would stop with any side mesh for fans and made that part slightly different, all would be good.

02-09-2013, 13:51:12

SolarNova
As much as i like the look of the phantom series, and i really do like them, they are the sleekest/curviest looking PC casses out. The paint, specificaly the white paint, chips VERY easily.
I went through 6 ..yes SIX (from different retailers), white Phantom 820's and each and every one of them had paint chiping issues on the corners of the doors. They would ether be pre-chiped, or chip within a couple uses of the door.

In the end i had to give up and bought a CM Storm Stryker Instead.

If the 530 uses the same paint and application method, i would Highly advise people to avoid the white one.
Other than the white paint issue the NZXT casses look great and have great features.
And their customer support is brilliant, I recommend them.

03-09-2013, 07:25:26

R0Y
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
NZXT have refreshed the Phantom line up in the form of the 530. It seems they've been listening to customer feedback, because guess what guys...It's got a bloody great window!!!
So, are you going to do a video review of this one, with all your water-cooling gear fitting tips and all? You could do a comparison between the 530 and 630 side-by-side. That would be really awesome. Please do

03-09-2013, 08:36:12

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by R0Y View Post
So, are you going to do a video review of this one, with all your water-cooling gear fitting tips and all? You could do a comparison between the 530 and 630 side-by-side. That would be really awesome. Please do

No mate Gary has the case with him. He has done the review I wont be doing any work on these. Ive not got the time to put a watercooled rig in everything sadly.

03-09-2013, 09:02:25

SuB
Lies, you've got all the time in the world! (lol) :P (I'm joking of course)

03-09-2013, 11:34:53

R0Y
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
No mate Gary has the case with him. He has done the review I wont be doing any work on these. Ive not got the time to put a watercooled rig in everything sadly.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.