NZXT Phantom 630 Review

Introduction and Technical Specification

 NZXT Phantom 630 Review  

 

Introduction

Imagine what it would be like to come into the world and find yourself suddenly placed between a highly capable younger brother and a very successful older brother. you'd have to be pretty damn good to make a name for yourself. The Phantom 630, being a bit bigger than the 410, and smaller than the 820 is in exactly that position, placed, as you might imagine, directly in between its smaller and bigger brothers.

Although the 630 is also available in Gunmetal or white, the sample we have for review today is the Matte Black version. And boy is it black, or as Ford Prefect might put it "It's so....Black you can hardly make out its shape...Light just seems to fall into it" So a paint job worthy of Hotblack Desiato's stunt ship, but what else does it have going for it. Well aside from seemingly infinitely configurable hard drive bay assemblies the 630 is also capable of offering support for a considerable number of radiators and fans. We're not just talking little 120s in the back here, oh no, the 630 can take some of the big boys. 120.3s and 140.2s in the roof 140.2s in the front and 120.2s or 140.2s in the base. In short enough native watercooling support to make even the most hardened air enthusiast want to get wet. Don't go thinking that's all the 630 has to offer though, for the full fat version of the features best we have a look at the technical specification.

 

Technical Specification

Dimensions

245x627x600mm (W,H,D)

 Materials

 Steel and Plastic

 Weight

 12.3kg

Motherboard Support

XL-ATX
ATX
Micro ATX

Power Supply Support

ATX

Maximum GPU Length

325mm (507mm without HDD cage)

 Maximum CPU Cooler height

170mm (200mm without side panel fan)

PCI Expansion Slots

9

External 5.25" Drive Bays

4

Internal 3.5" Drive Bays

6

Internal 2.5" Drive Bays

8 (using 3.5" Drive Bays)
2 x 2.5" located behind Motherboard tray

Front I/O Panel

2 x USB 3.0
2 x USB 2.0
1 x Audio
1 x Mic
LED On / Off Switch
Single Channel 3 position 30w Fan Controller

Colour

Matte Black

Removable Motherboard Tray

No

CPU Mounting Hole in Motherboard Tray

Yes

Cooling

Front

1 x 200mm Case Fan
option for 2 x 140mm Case Fans
option for 2 x 120mm Case Fans

Rear

1 x 140mm Case Fan
option for 1 x 120mm Case Fan

Top

1 x 200mm Case Fan
option for 2 x 140mm Case Fans
option for 3 x 120mm Case Fans

Bottom

option for 2 x 140mm or 2 x 120mm Case Fans

Side

1 x 120mm

Watercooling Support

 

Radiator Support

Roof    120.3 or 140.2
Front   120.2

Rear    120.1 or 140.1
Base   1 20.2 or 140.2

  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-02-2013, 05:54:58

tinytomlogan
Can the 630 continue the pround liniage of the NZXT Phantom range?


http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...084713496l.jpg


Continue Reading

04-02-2013, 09:48:36

AverageNinja
Nice review! Still seems a bit too expensive for what you get though.

04-02-2013, 10:04:01

Gamepro105
Theres some nice features included. not a bad case!

05-02-2013, 04:02:41

EPiiKK
This might be EXACTLY what i'm looking for my first wc build in the future.
Just cant find any in my country yet...

06-02-2013, 10:15:36

XNine
Quote:
Originally Posted by EPiiKK View Post
This might be EXACTLY what i'm looking for my first wc build in the future.
Just cant find any in my country yet...
They are starting to make their rounds abroad, so I'd expect to see them in the next 1-2 weeks.

06-02-2013, 12:34:45

jamesriley94
I'd have preferred this to my Switch tbh.

Just wasn't available when I was buying, and the side panel put me off a bit.

NZXT really needs to get a replacement parts store up, so clean side panels, or windowed options can be bought - or at least replacements so if you mess it up, you aren't completely in the dark!

07-02-2013, 00:54:46

andrevautour
I don't like the look of these at all, but it certainly does have a lot of good features. it's nice to see some things that i was complaining about in the 650d like a grommet above the power supply for routing cables, hard drive cages divided up into 3 sections, and the nice LED that lights up the rear I/O. I'd like to see a subtle light for the front I/O on some cases like the 650D in the future.

09-02-2013, 04:02:22

frozenwings
First off, thanks for the measurement between the motherboard and the roof; I've been looking around for it for a few days now. You would be surprised (or maybe you wouldn't) to know how often reviewers leave out how thick of a radiator can put in the top. I see the clearance is only 55mm, so I'm going to try and squeeze in a 30mm rad in push/pull since I can't fit in a 60mm rad up top.

I was wondering about how the bottom was looking in terms of radiators, I didn't see any measurements in the review. I will probably keep the 3 hdd bay (I'm a bit of a digital pack rat) hooked in it's default position and get rid of all the rest of the bays and put the thickest 240mm rad in the bottom in push/pull that it will allow. It looks like a ton of space, so I'm guessing I could fit at least a 45mm rad in push/pull.

I'm going to probably end up getting this case, it has pretty much everything I need in terms of looks and watercooling potential. That side fan/mesh area on the side panel has a date with a jigsaw though, only thing I don't like about the case. Thanks again for the review, now I can now start ordering parts.

09-02-2013, 07:45:52

FredEx
I have always wondered about airflow in these cases. I mean taking air from inside and out. Especially if one is going to be water cooling. Anything in the way disrupts flow and not having any mesh panels clear of any obstacles would impede air flow. Even some perforated panels impede air flow and create fan noise.

09-02-2013, 09:21:19

Spiderz
Some of the features on this are great just really do not like the styling of the Phantom range, especially the side panel, the window is tiny.

I'd take the switch over this just because I prefer the cleaner look to it.

09-02-2013, 10:56:59

(SS)Stu
Great review!
Wish it had a full window instead of this window/mesh mix!
Seems to have great features for watercooling but i still too expensive for this size of a case.

04-07-2013, 02:44:37

chiewleong
just want to know whether XSPC AX360 can fit into the top of this case?
I know that if EX360 can fit, and RX240 can fit at bottom.
thanks in advance.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.