NZXT Phantom 630 Review

The Build

NZXT Phantom 630 Review

 

The Build.

With its cavernous interior it's hard to fight the urge to flip the case on its side, grab the motherboard and climb on in. But as this is a slight exaggeration of the internal dimensions we shall continue the build in the undertake the build in the conventional manner. First up then is the PSU. Here we're using a 160mm unit, but as you can see the case is able to accept even the very longest PSUs, and with a total of 6 rubber tipped isolation mounts the PSU in question isn't going to be left flapping around. passing the cables through to the rear is made easy by the large holes adjacent to the PSU area, although we can't help wondering why NZXT chose not to grace them with their wonderful rubber grommets.

NZXT Phantom 630 Review     NZXT Phantom 630 Review  

 

With the motherboard in let's have a look at the clearance at the top of the case for roof mounted Radiators.  A good 55mm of space here, so no problem with a slim radiator, and if it's under 30mm thick it's entirely possible to set up a 120.3 with your fans in a push pull configuration, but you will lose the top 5.25" bay.  If you prefer a thicker single radiator then anything under 55mm should be fine as a 140.2 or 120.2. This does include AIO coolers like the Kraken series and the Corsair H100i.        

NZXT Phantom 630 Review     NZXT Phantom 630 Review

 

When we looked at the front I/o you'll remember we mentioned a switch that controlled an LED above the rear I/O area. Well here it is. Look carefully at the centre of the image below right and you can just see it. Far from a gimmick, how wonderfully handy it is to have the luxury of being able to illuminate this area when you're trying to insert a fresh connection. Kudos to NZXT, take note everyone else. Below right we can see how the lowermost of the grommeted management holes is utilised to feed USB and Audio connections through from the back. Although this hole will be covered if you opt for an XL ATX motherboard there is another un-grommeted hole beneath it.

NZXT Phantom 630 Review     NZXT Phantom 630 Review  

 

Those of you who read our reviews regularly will know we have something of a fetish for cable management. To us the look at the rear is nearly as important as the look round the front. With between 25mm and 35mm of space back there and 20 good sized cable tie points we're confident that a decent job can be easily achieved. In fact, if you chose to, there's easy enough room back here to route watercooling tubing, and more than enough holes to bring it from front to back and vice versa.

NZXT Phantom 630 Review     NZXT Phantom 630 Review  

 

So good are the cable management options that it's pretty hard to see the cables at all in the finished build. this is of course made easier by NZXT having all their own cables coloured black, the same as the interior of the case. Although we've only used a modest GPU for the test build (our now ancient EN 8800 GT) it's easy enough to see that the 630 is more than capable of accepting truly monstrous GPUs, either with or without the removal of the HDD bays.

NZXT Phantom 630 Review     NZXT Phantom 630 Review  

 

With regards to CPU coolers the 630 is able to provide a home for anything up to 170mm in height with the door fan in place, or 200mm in height with the door fan removed, which basically means you'll be hard pushed to find a cooler that won't fit inside.  Here we've used the NZXT Havik 120, which although a good sized cooler at 160mm in height, as you can see it looks a little lost in there. 

NZXT Phantom 630 Review     NZXT Phantom 630 Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-02-2013, 05:54:58

tinytomlogan
Can the 630 continue the pround liniage of the NZXT Phantom range?


http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...084713496l.jpg


Continue Reading

04-02-2013, 09:48:36

AverageNinja
Nice review! Still seems a bit too expensive for what you get though.

04-02-2013, 10:04:01

Gamepro105
Theres some nice features included. not a bad case!

05-02-2013, 04:02:41

EPiiKK
This might be EXACTLY what i'm looking for my first wc build in the future.
Just cant find any in my country yet...

06-02-2013, 10:15:36

XNine
Quote:
Originally Posted by EPiiKK View Post
This might be EXACTLY what i'm looking for my first wc build in the future.
Just cant find any in my country yet...
They are starting to make their rounds abroad, so I'd expect to see them in the next 1-2 weeks.

06-02-2013, 12:34:45

jamesriley94
I'd have preferred this to my Switch tbh.

Just wasn't available when I was buying, and the side panel put me off a bit.

NZXT really needs to get a replacement parts store up, so clean side panels, or windowed options can be bought - or at least replacements so if you mess it up, you aren't completely in the dark!

07-02-2013, 00:54:46

andrevautour
I don't like the look of these at all, but it certainly does have a lot of good features. it's nice to see some things that i was complaining about in the 650d like a grommet above the power supply for routing cables, hard drive cages divided up into 3 sections, and the nice LED that lights up the rear I/O. I'd like to see a subtle light for the front I/O on some cases like the 650D in the future.

09-02-2013, 04:02:22

frozenwings
First off, thanks for the measurement between the motherboard and the roof; I've been looking around for it for a few days now. You would be surprised (or maybe you wouldn't) to know how often reviewers leave out how thick of a radiator can put in the top. I see the clearance is only 55mm, so I'm going to try and squeeze in a 30mm rad in push/pull since I can't fit in a 60mm rad up top.

I was wondering about how the bottom was looking in terms of radiators, I didn't see any measurements in the review. I will probably keep the 3 hdd bay (I'm a bit of a digital pack rat) hooked in it's default position and get rid of all the rest of the bays and put the thickest 240mm rad in the bottom in push/pull that it will allow. It looks like a ton of space, so I'm guessing I could fit at least a 45mm rad in push/pull.

I'm going to probably end up getting this case, it has pretty much everything I need in terms of looks and watercooling potential. That side fan/mesh area on the side panel has a date with a jigsaw though, only thing I don't like about the case. Thanks again for the review, now I can now start ordering parts.

09-02-2013, 07:45:52

FredEx
I have always wondered about airflow in these cases. I mean taking air from inside and out. Especially if one is going to be water cooling. Anything in the way disrupts flow and not having any mesh panels clear of any obstacles would impede air flow. Even some perforated panels impede air flow and create fan noise.

09-02-2013, 09:21:19

Spiderz
Some of the features on this are great just really do not like the styling of the Phantom range, especially the side panel, the window is tiny.

I'd take the switch over this just because I prefer the cleaner look to it.

09-02-2013, 10:56:59

(SS)Stu
Great review!
Wish it had a full window instead of this window/mesh mix!
Seems to have great features for watercooling but i still too expensive for this size of a case.

04-07-2013, 02:44:37

chiewleong
just want to know whether XSPC AX360 can fit into the top of this case?
I know that if EX360 can fit, and RX240 can fit at bottom.
thanks in advance.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.