Scythe Mugan4 Review

Introduction and Technical Specification

Scythe Mugan4 Review

 

Introduction

Deep breath now...The Mugan4 has a three-dimensional multiple airflow pass-through structure fin design, coupled with a  120mm GlideStream PWM fan.  Well that's how Scythe describe it anyway.  We do love those chaps in marketing, but when you decipher the gobbled gook what you're actually left with is a description of a pretty traditional tower cooler with a 120mm fan strapped on the front.

Although traditional if not old school in looks, the Mugan4 though is actually a chunky little number, being 130mm wide and standing as it does only 156mm tall.  It  also feels surprisingly light for its size.  We think this might be down to the use of Aluminium heat pipes as opposed to copper ones.  Whether this will affect performance will be seen when we come to the testing.

 

Technical Specification

ManufacturerScythe
Model NumberSCMG-4000
Intel CompatibilitySocket 2011   Socket 1366   Socket 1156   Socket 1155 Socket 1150     Socket 775
AMD CompatibilitySocket FM2     Socket FM1   Socket AM3+   Socket AM3   Socket AM2+    Socket AM2
Air Flow20.7 to 79 CFM
Sound Level5.3 to 28 dB(A)
Fan Speed400 to 1400 RPM
Static Pressure0.12-1.56mmH20
Fan Connection4 Pin PWM
Fan Dimensions120 x 120 x 25 mm
Dimensions130x88x156mm
Weight 625g
Approx. Cable Length300 mm
Fan LED Colourn/a
MaterialsCopper and Aluminium
Heat Pipes6
Special FeaturesPWM Fan Speed     Multi Fan Mount Structure     HPMS Mounting System
Package Contents1 x Scythe CPU Cooler     1 x Scythe Fan     HPMS Mount
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-10-2013, 09:27:53

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...084004182l.jpg

Has the chunky little Mugan4 from Scythe got it where it counts?


Continue Reading

11-10-2013, 09:47:44

barnsley
Ahh Scythe, one of my fave companies when it comes to budget cooling. big fan (heehee) of their products .

11-10-2013, 10:45:22

Feronix
True, Scythe make some epic (immensely large) heatsinks.

Oh, btw Tom/Gary; It's actuall called the Mugen, as it says on the box, not a Mugan

11-10-2013, 10:53:05

PingPangBV
Nice review as always, was quite surprised of the temps this cooler managed to keep compared to the other coolers, and it comes at a cheap price too.

11-10-2013, 11:39:12

barnsley
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feronix View Post
True, Scythe make some epic (immensely large) heatsinks.

I really like their Shuriken, best low profile cpu cooler in my opinion I have one as a spare from when I had to RMA my seidon, it kept my 8320 cool and was much quieter than anything else in my pc's case.

17-10-2013, 15:57:30

demonking
Always gone with scythe for my air coolers they are right on the money for price/performance. except that monstrosity..... erm can't remember what it was called susano maybe.

shame we don't see many reviews from them on this site anymore. tom used to review alot of their stuff.

17-10-2013, 19:31:24

looz
It's called Mugen, not Mugan

Anyway, nice review, after owning the cooler for a month I think this resembles it rather well.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.