Silverstone Raven RV02-E White Ltd Edition Review

Silverstone Raven RV02-E White Ltd Edition Review

  Silverstone Raven RV02-E White Ltd Edition Review  


Introduction

Those avid readers and followers of what the team at OC3D get up to will not be surprised to see the Silverstone Raven RV02-E because it's not the first time it has been seen here. The Raven was one of the white chassis we recently took to Gadget Show Live. This meant not only did we have to build a chassis up to show quality but we also got to use the system for a solid week in some pretty demanding conditions but also talk to the public to get a feel for their instant reactions on the case.

So fresh back from GSL we were straight on the blower to the boys and girls at Silverstone to badger them about samples. Sadly due to the demand for the case in the EU the stock is flying out the doors that its been very hard to secure one for review. Thankfully a quick call to the fine folks at Scan and some serious eyelid battering and we were set. I generally would not chase a sample this hard very often, but the honest fact of the matter is I was properly impressed with the case from the go so it just had  to be shared with all you lot!

Anyways enough waffle even if the syrup is tasting good today, lets take a look at the specifications for the case before moving on to the video.

Specifications

Model No.SST-RV02B-E (black)
SST-RV02B-EW (black + window)
--
--
Materialreinforced plastic outer shell, 0.8mm Steel body.
ColorMatte black
MotherboardSSI CEB, ATX (maximum 12” x 11”) , Micro ATX
Multimedia--
Drive BayExternal5.25" x 5
--
Internal3.5" x 5, 2.5" x 1
Cooling SystemFront--
Rear--
Side--
Top1 x 120mm exhaust fan, 950rpm, 18dBA
Bottom3 x 180mm intake fan 700/1200rpm, 18/34dBA
Internal--
Expansion Slot7
Front I/O PortUSB2.0 x 2
audio x 1
MIC x 1
Power Supply1 x optional standard PS2 (ATX)
Expansion CardUp to 12.2 inch
Limitation of CPU cooler169mm
Limitation of PSUUnlimited
Net Weight12.5kg
Dimension212mm (W) x 503mm (H) x 643mm (D)
Extra

One CP05 included for single hot-swappable SATA hard drive, additional CP05 can be purchased separately.

 

 

Video


Conclusion

I'm really hoping the video has emphasised why I felt the need to get this case in for a full review. Regular readers will know that when I look at a chassis I can find problems in what most people will deem to be perfect. I can honestly say the only things that's even remotely negative about this case is the depth and the fact that the window is 'on the other side of the case'. Due to these two facts some may have to jiggle their set up to accommodate and also be able to drool over their hardware through the window.

Now I dont go making claims lightly when it comes to a chassis, but here's a rather big one for you (I don't get to say that often!) the airflow layout that Silverstone use in this and a selection of their other chassis is nothing short of amazing. To the point that I would go as far as to say that its the best air cooled configuration available at this present moment in time from any manufacturer. Fitting a chassis with 100cfm fans is easy, but designing a chassis that comprises of so little fans but yet manages to keep not only the airflow up, but also the noise down, has been one of the main factors that has surprised all the OC3D team.

The windowed side panel is pretty much in the ideal position to display the bits you want to see and hide the bits you'd rather not, a claim that can't be levelled at every windowed case out there. It's also worth noting due to the compact area the hardware is housed in it's actually very easy to make your system quite the show piece, LED cables runs and LED fans easily light up the system a treat.

Cable management options are great. If you install your rig with care pretty much everything can be kept concealed without much of a problem at all. During our time using the case we also fitted a full set of individually braided extensions cables to it. This adds pretty much 50% more cables to try and hide neatly behind the back panel. This was all achieved and with a bit of planning it all went in without a hitch. You couldn't see the cables and just as a billy bonus the back panel slid straight on as well!

We can't go without mentioning the fact that Silverstone have jumped on the white chassis bandwagon.... FINALLY! This is something we try and keep out of reviews because it most definitely is a personal preference but there's just something about white cases that makes me go all warm and fuzzy! 

When we first looked at this chassis I have to admit that we were under the impression it was about £180, and I'll happily confess I did feel it was worth that and would still have given it our coveted Gold Award. The cases actual price is just £142, a significant amount less than what we first assumed, so this is definitely going to be scoring well on the price board then!

All in all if you are looking to buy a case for an air cooled system any of the Silverstone's with this layout should be on your list, maybe with the white RV02 just nudging its way to the top for the pure bling factor. With everything taken into account there really was not a second thought in our minds that this deserves a rock solid Gold Award.

    

Thanks to Scan for the sample on test today, you can discuss your thoughts in the OC3D Forums.

«Prev 1 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-05-2011, 04:09:54

tinytomlogan
Finally the Silverstone Raven RV02-E chassis hits the OC3D labs for testing.



Continue Reading

11-05-2011, 04:25:12

merrymustu
ooohhh likey likey!!!

11-05-2011, 04:46:19

SieB
I like this case it's one of the best looking there is, it's just a shame you can't water cool in it because it would look even better with a water cooled set up in there.

11-05-2011, 05:17:00

BeeP^
I have a 360mm rad in the bottom of this case, it has to be a slim rad but an RS360 fits a treat depending on the gfx card.

11-05-2011, 05:27:52

SieB
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeeP^ View Post

I have a 360mm rad in the bottom of this case, it has to be a slim rad but an RS360 fits a treat depending on the gfx card.
Can you post some pics of it? It would be good to see how it looks

11-05-2011, 05:39:27

dugdiamond
if there were 3x GPUs in there, would the 3rd be hampered?

12-05-2011, 07:15:02

Leibritz
Funny that the window on the other side is just what I was looking for

I've been using the original black case for more than a year now and I would

not trade it for anything else.

20-05-2011, 01:15:20

Ophidian
I plan on getting this case for my next build, and have been gathering information about it.. love your review btw! From what I've read/heard its a great case, but some GPU heatsink designs arent great in vertical alignment.. any suggestions/observations on that front? Thinking of getting a 6950

25-05-2011, 11:39:14

superlattice09
I like the nice white case and its logical thermal dynamic position. Can't help noticing that the 180mm fans look like air penetrators series. (not sure if you mentioned that at all, or I missed it. )

ps. like video review than just reading tbh.

25-05-2011, 12:05:41

SG12004
love the case but its out of my price rang just now

25-05-2011, 14:58:35

Endzy
Quote:
Originally Posted by superlattice09 View Post

I like the nice white case and its logical thermal dynamic position. Can't help noticing that the 180mm fans look like air penetrators series. (not sure if you mentioned that at all, or I missed it. )

ps. like video review than just reading tbh.
Yeah they are air penetrators. I recently built my rig with this case, except in black. I have another 120mm air penetrator at the top as well.

26-05-2011, 14:28:07

Jonn DeMain
I watched this review several weeks ago and then went out to Amazon.com and got a white one to upgrade my chassis. Just got in today so can't wait for the extra time to rebuild system. Will try and post pictures once I have it finished. Tom great video reviews keep up the great work.

30-05-2011, 17:54:44

bleddyn
I second the picture request for a 360 rad in the bottom.

08-06-2011, 18:40:06

neoguyver1
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Finally the Silverstone Raven RV02-E chassis hits the OC3D labs for testing.



Continue Reading
Hi Tim I just bought the Silverstone SST-RV02B-W I seen one review that was giving out about the thermal properties of the case were the earlier versions not as good.

13-06-2011, 13:00:00

Jonn DeMain
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonn DeMain View Post

I watched this review several weeks ago and then went out to Amazon.com and got a white one to upgrade my chassis. Just got in today so can't wait for the extra time to rebuild system. Will try and post pictures once I have it finished. Tom great video reviews keep up the great work.
Here are some pictures I posted on the forums if you all want to see them of my Raven 02E

http://forum.overclock3d.net/index.php?/topic/36097-quadro-t-in-on-lights/

you will also find my specs with it.

22-09-2011, 02:52:19

reeper250
So what is the difference between the 'standard' RV02-E and the Special Edition White?

22-09-2011, 05:47:40

yassarikhan786
Brill review of a very beautiful case.

22-09-2011, 06:53:50

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by reeper250 View Post

So what is the difference between the 'standard' RV02-E and the Special Edition White?
Its very complicated tbh so get a pen and a bit of paper and some coffee as this might take a while.

One is white, one is black.

22-09-2011, 06:59:30

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

Its very complicated tbh so get a pen and a bit of paper and some coffee as this might take a while.

One is white, one is black.
Lmao!!!!!

22-09-2011, 07:10:23

reeper250
That's the ONLY difference...? Wow, the white is $34 more expensive $219 as oppose to $185...

22-09-2011, 07:58:20

daniSAUR
Quote:
Originally Posted by reeper250 View Post

That's the ONLY difference...? Wow, the white is $34 more expensive $219 as oppose to $185...
You're paying for the quality of the paint job really. If you were to spray your black one with powdercoating you'd probably be spending more than $34..

22-09-2011, 08:04:29

Youngie1337
Quote:
Originally Posted by reeper250 View Post

That's the ONLY difference...? Wow, the white is $34 more expensive $219 as oppose to $185...
Jeez, now I'm swinging towards this case. It's nice and in white! Damn you brain!

22-09-2011, 11:22:07

jonowee
Also white is a pain in the bum to get right. Black absorbs enough light that you willn't easily notice differences; but with white, get the paint, powdercoat, plastics and rubber to match the same or very-very similar hue of white is a royal pain. And that's before if the type of plastic or rubber implemented will not yellow over time. Having cream white plastic panels next to a frosty cool white steel panel is like... like... to put it crudely... a bit like a cum stain.

23-09-2011, 02:40:50

reeper250
Ok, thanks heaps for all the information! What about the Fortress FT02B, Raven RV01, Raven RV02-E or something else around that price with black interior and NOT the HAF series because they look ugly in my opinion...

27-09-2011, 19:20:33

CocaCola
Quote:
Originally Posted by reeper250 View Post

Ok, thanks heaps for all the information! What about the Fortress FT02B, Raven RV01, Raven RV02-E or something else around that price with black interior and NOT the HAF series because they look ugly in my opinion...
I'm not so sure about the FT02 series, but the difference between the RV02 and the RV02-E should be the fans. Silverstone replaced the original 180mm fans on the RV02 with the Air Penetrators in the RV02-E version. So you get 3 really nice high performance fans. If I recall, there is a single hot swap in 1 of the hard drive trays. Orientation of the hard drive cage is different and improved in the RV02-E. Also, I believe there is 1 less expansion bay for the RV02-E. Please correct me if I'm wrong guys. I'm just recalling the details by memory.

07-01-2012, 17:58:36

Flanders_finest
Nothing wrong with your memory, CocaCola!

20-01-2012, 08:41:32

maccaria
you can also buy the hot swap brackets seperate, they come with all the screws etc to mount them in, I have extra ones on mine that I added. Great idea and so simple to install, 2 screws job done
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.