Silverstone Raven RVZ01 Review

Up Close: Interior and Accessories

Silverstone Raven RVZ01 Review

Up Close:  Interior and Accessories

After undoing a pair of screws at the rear of the case the roof lifts off easily, and boy do things get interesting in here.  Looking down on the case with it's front to our left the area nearest is shared between the SFX PSU and the motherboard.  The other half of the case, being given over to the GPU, SSD and ODD bays.  If you didn't pick up on the clues when we viewed the rear of the case then the included riser card should enlighten you as to how this case houses GPUs that some other SFF units would struggle with.  If you're straining to see how all this is done, don't worry as all will become clear when we start the build. 

Silverstone Raven RVZ01 Review     Silverstone Raven RVZ01 Review

 

The GPU bracket is removed by undoing six quite small screws, so make sure you have a little pot to hand to place them in.  Lifting it off reveals the two 120mm fan mounts below, one of which is fitted with a slim line 120mm 1500rpm unit rated at 18db(A).  Having the fans positioned where they are will be key in keeping the GPU cool as there's otherwise not a great deal of space around it.  It is of course the work of seconds to move the supplied fan to the other location should you feel it would be better suited to your GPU or if you felt a bit more oomf was needed then you could always add another.  Looking more closely at the other side of the case we can see the small bracket designed to house a SFX power supply, on top of which are four metal tabs enabling the solitary 3.5" drive this case can hold to be mounted.  There's no additional cooling up here and the 3.5" drive will be sitting directly on top of your SFX PSU so it may get more than a little toasty.

Silverstone Raven RVZ01 Review     Silverstone Raven RVZ01 Review

 

We thought we'd show you the GPU bracket in a little more detail as it is key to the design and functionality of the RVZ01.  We're calling it the GPU bracket as that's it's main job, but this piece of plastic has more to offer than mere GPU support.  At the opposite end to the PCI slots, holes are provided for a slim line ODD to be attached in an under slung configuration, whilst when viewed from above it's easy to see where two SSDs can be mounted.  This sure is one multi tasking bit of plastic.

Silverstone Raven RVZ01 Review     Silverstone Raven RVZ01 Review

 

We've already seen a few of the accessories in action when we looked at the case feet options, but don't go thinking that's your goody bag empty.  Silverstone have been more than generous with the inclusion of a riser card extension adapter, GPU supports, a fan splitter, a set of no less than three magnetic fan filters and a curved Raven badge for use when the case is vertical.  Not bad Silverstone, Not bad at all.

Silverstone Raven RVZ01 Review    Silverstone Raven RVZ01 Review  

  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-03-2014, 04:28:19

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...080257456l.jpg

Silverstone offer up the RVZ01, Raven styling with an M-ITX form factor. Did somebody say Steam-Box?

Continue Reading

03-03-2014, 05:36:15

barnsley
I've got a build log of one of these to do. Its got an i7 4770s (lower power draw), a GTX 780 (with the ugly as sin evga plastic cooler) and the silverstone cooler. It'll be powered by silverstone's 450w gold psu that they released for this case. Its also modular as well. which should be helpful.

03-03-2014, 05:46:21

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
I've got a build log of one of these to do. Its got an i7 4770s (lower power draw), a GTX 780 (with the ugly as sin evga plastic cooler) and the silverstone cooler. It'll be powered by silverstone's 450w gold psu that they released for this case. Its also modular as well. which should be helpful.
Do a proper job then......

03-03-2014, 05:57:25

barnsley
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Do a proper job then......
Just waiting for the motherboard to arrive as it was out of stock when it was ordered (gg scan). The same for the short cable set. I'm going to build it at the weekend as its at a mate's.

03-03-2014, 10:38:05

Feronix
So much innuendo

Kind of want to do a build in this...

03-03-2014, 10:38:37

barnsley
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feronix View Post
So much innuendo

Kind of want to do a build in this...
Make a steambox!

03-03-2014, 10:41:58

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
Make a steambox!
Truth is that I don't really need a Steambox as my monitor has a TV tuner built-in and I have an Xbox controller for Windows adaptor so if I want, I can sit on my bed (which is conveniently placed against a wall to which I have attached a black baby matress, turning my bed into a couch).

Long story short, for me it would just be €400-500 wasted which is a lot for a student. Still want to downsize my main rig to a Phenom though... Or the RVZ01, hmmm...

Phenom would be cooler/quieter and look better though. Not going to put custom braided cables and mods on the inside of a case where a window makes no sense.

03-03-2014, 11:23:09

Conchubair
beenn following this case for ages now, wanting to replace the family pc with one. Its similar in size to a x360 too.

My only complaint us the ribbed front, which I think could look more like the steambox iFixit did a teardown on, more sleek and curvatious. I actually think that may have been sikverstone built too.

03-03-2014, 11:34:28

barnsley
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conchubair View Post
My only complaint us the ribbed front, which I think could look more like the steambox iFixit did a teardown on, more sleek and curvatious. I actually think that may have been sikverstone built too.
I think the steambox prototypes were these but slightly modified. Silverstone are releasing a non Raven version of the RVZ01 as well, called the ML07.
http://techreport.com/r.x/2014_1_14_...cases/ml07.jpg

03-03-2014, 11:56:59

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
I think the steambox prototypes were these but slightly modified. Silverstone are releasing a non Raven version of the RVZ01 as well, called the ML07.
http://techreport.com/r.x/2014_1_14_...cases/ml07.jpg
I think I like this one even more!

Don't Silverstone tend to release cases with the same internals twice all the time? One for the Raven series and one for the Fortress series, with different exteriors.

03-03-2014, 11:57:43

barnsley
Quote:
Originally Posted by Feronix View Post
I think I like this one even more!

Don't Silverstone tend to release cases with the same internals twice all the time? One for the Raven series and one for the Fortress series, with different exteriors.
Yep. The silverstone model always costs more I think though.

03-03-2014, 12:01:45

Conchubair

03-03-2014, 12:13:43

cooperman
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
I think the steambox prototypes were these but slightly modified. Silverstone are releasing a non Raven version of the RVZ01 as well, called the ML07.
http://techreport.com/r.x/2014_1_14_...cases/ml07.jpg
It looks like the CD player off my sony stack system i had about fifteen years ago

26-03-2014, 01:22:07

captainzombie
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...080257456l.jpg

Silverstone offer up the RVZ01, Raven styling with an M-ITX form factor. Did somebody say Steam-Box?

Continue Reading
Tom, are you going to do a video review of the RVZ01? Always love your video reviews and this case would be an awesome one if you have time to do one. Thanks

26-03-2014, 03:09:49

NeverBackDown
Quote:
Originally Posted by captainzombie View Post
Tom, are you going to do a video review of the RVZ01? Always love your video reviews and this case would be an awesome one if you have time to do one. Thanks
Asking him to do a case review after a written review was already done is pointless.. he does not do request because he has no time.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.