Water Cooling Kit Group-Test

Up Close: XSPC Raystorm 750 RS240 V4

Water Cooling Kit Mega-test

 

Up Close:  XSPC Raystorm 750 RS240 V4

XSPC kits based on the  X20 750 bay/res pump combination have been around for a while now, indeed, it's a predecessor of the kit supplied for test by those grand chaps at SpecialTech that sits in the PC i'm writing this review on.  Never one to rest on their laurels though XSPC have continually evolved the breed, offering new CPU blocks, rads and pump res combinations.  The box housing the goodies appears to have taken a bit of a battering along the way, but once you have made your way through the two (yes two) internal brown boxes you find....yet more brown boxes.  These certainly don't have the wow factor of EK's but then again, you're not left wondering just how much of the cost of the kit went on the packaging, as at £142.95 the XSPC kit is the cheapest on test here. 

   Water Cooling Kit Group-Test     Water Cooling Kit Group-Test

 

Technical Specification 

 XSPC Raystorm RS 240V4
 Price£142.95
Intel Socket CompatibilitySocket 2011     Socket 1366     Socket 1156     Socket 1155
AMD Socket CompatibilitySocket FM2 Socket FM1 Socket AM3+ Socket AM3     Socket AM2+     Socket AM2
CPU WaterblockXSPC Raystorm
VGA WaterblockN/A
RadiatorXSPC RS240
Radiator Dimensions277 x 121 x 35mm
Radiator Fan Specification2 x Low Noise 1650rpm 120mm Fan
PumpXSPC X20 750 12v
Pump Flow Rate750 L/ph
ReservoirBuilt In Pump
Tubing7/16" ID - 5/8" OD Clear
Fittings6 x 1/4" thread 1/2" Barbs
FluidNot Included
SuitabilitySimple CPU Watercooling     Mild Overclock CPU Cooling
Package Contents

1 x XSPC Raystorm CPU Waterblock     1 x XSPC RS240 Radiator     2 x 120mm Fan     1 x XSPC X20 750 Pump & Reservoir combo     2 x 7/16" Clear Tubing     6 x 1/2" Barb Fittings     1 x 3mm Twin Blue LED with 4Pin Molex     1 x 5mm Blue LED with 4Pin Molex     1 x Intel and AMD RayStorm Brackets 1 x Socket 1366 and 1155/1154 Backplates 1 x Socket AM2 and AM3 mounting kit       6 x Hose Clips       1 x 80 - 120mm Radiator Mounting Kit       1 x Thermal Paste       2 x 120mm Fan Grill

 

Core Components

The latest incarnation of the X20 750 reservoir (so named because the pump therein outputs 750 litres/minute) is the V4. This has been coupled with an RS 240 radiator and the Raystorm CPU water block.  The Raystorm water block has a removeable face plate, enabling you, should you want to, to paint it to match the colour scheme of your build.  The clear acrylic  section of the Raystorm can also be illuminated using the supplied blue LEDs 

Water Cooling Kit Mega-test     Water Cooling Kit Mega-test

From the front at least theX20 750 reservoir/pump  looks exactly the same as the older units which is no bad thing.  Gone though is the all acrylic box with interchangeable fronts, replaced instead with a black nylon reservoir with a single removable faceplate.  Although a slightly bigger window wouldn't be unwelcomed the simple elegance of the twin 5.25" bay reservoir continues through to this evolution.  XSPC have also kept the ability to illuminate the inside of the reservoir using the supplied blue LED.  The Matte Black RS240 radiator in the kit is something of a water cooling staple, partly we think due to it's looks, and partly due to it's reputation for producing good results, although at 35mm thick the RS240 is the thinnest radiator on test here so it certainly has it's work cut out if it's to measure up.  Like the EK rad though the RS240 only has connections on one side of it's end tanks which may limit your tubing routing options.

Water Cooling Kit Mega-test      Water Cooling Kit Group-Test

 

Assembly and Testing

The Raystorm Water block attaches in much the same way as the EK unit, with mounting pins locating the block and springs being compressed by thumb bolts over the top.  The tubing provided is clear 7/16" ID 5/8" OD, which is secured to the supplied Gun metal effect 1/2" barbs by rather ugly black plastic double grip circumferential clips.  The tubing is easier to attach to the barbs by dipping it in warm water and as the grip it has on the tubing once cooled is substantial you could probably do away with the clips.  However as XSPC have supplied them we have used them and would suggest you do also.  Positioning the rad so as to have the connections at the front of the case enables you to construct a compact loop without the need for runs of tubing to cross over the length of the motherboard. 

Water Cooling Kit Mega-test     Water Cooling Kit Mega-test  

 

The clear tubing may look a little bland by today's standards, but as the only thing not included in the kit is the coolant, this does leave you option of choosing from the myriad of colours available, picking a colour scheme to match the rest of your kit.  In use the X20 750 pump is as near silent as we've heard from a water pump, in fact during leak testing when only the pump was powered there were several moments of  panic when we thought the pump had failed only to find it was pumping happily and very quietly away.  The propensity of the X20 750 to vibrate within the drive bays and resonate through the case has also been negated with the V4, leaving the user with a very quiet pump indeed.  The 1650rpm fans supplied with the kit aren't however the quietest on test, and perhaps overly noticeable when compared to the pump.

Water Cooling Kit Group-Test     Water Cooling Kit Group-Test  

 

It's worth remembering that if you have a smaller case the X20 750  is going to take up 2 of your 5.25" bays.  As the filler for the res is on the top if you are able to mount the res in lower bays it will make filling a lot easier, removing the need for additional tubing in the loop which would otherwise be required to enable the res to be slid out.  We mentioned earlier that unlike previous iterations of the res the V4 only comes with a black face plate.  With the majority of cases being black these days we don't really see this as an issue, and as it is can be taken off easily you can always paint it up to match your case colour

Water Cooling Kit Group-Test     Water Cooling Kit Group-Test    

    

  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-07-2013, 06:17:35

tinytomlogan
XSPC, EK, AlphaCool and Phobya do battle. Who will be crowned king of the 240mm radiator Water Cooling kits


http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...053156396l.jpg


Continue Reading

08-07-2013, 06:38:38

bofeming
Nice review TTL, I really apreciate this beacause I was wondering to buy a kit, and I think the EK looks better for me.
Maybe in the near future I can buy some loop expansion, like other rad, better pump/res and a block for my GC.
Do you think it will be worth? Or should I buy a custom loop directly.
Must say that this gonna be my 1st custom WC project.

Thx again for the review

08-07-2013, 06:45:20

SieB
Interesting read, would be good to see more reviews like this

I'm surprised at the performance of the XSPC RS rad, given that it's the thinnest out of the lot. Not much in it at all though really, unless you are trying to get the lowest temps possible, it doesn't really matter which kit you go with.

08-07-2013, 06:56:13

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by bofeming View Post
Nice review TTL, I really apreciate this beacause I was wondering to buy a kit, and I think the EK looks better for me.
Maybe in the near future I can buy some loop expansion, like other rad, better pump/res and a block for my GC.
Do you think it will be worth? Or should I buy a custom loop directly.
Must say that this gonna be my 1st custom WC project.

Thx again for the review

G-Dubs did this review dude. I may own OC3D but theres VB and Gdubs doing reviews too dudio

08-07-2013, 08:48:35

Greenback
Thanks Gary for the time you put in to this I have been hoping for something like this.
As SieB said the xspc rs240 result was interesting and makes you wonder how the RX240 kit would of done. (I don't expect you to do it you have done a good job here)
I think it also shows that in all fairness if you are only looking at a cpu loop and never want to upgrade the AIO's are a viable option considering they are cheaper and you could put Gt ap15's or nf-f12's with the money you would save, And probably get near on the same results

08-07-2013, 09:35:58

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greenback View Post
Thanks Gary for the time you put in to this I have been hoping for something like this.
As SieB said the xspc rs240 result was interesting and makes you wonder how the RX240 kit would of done. (I don't expect you to do it you have done a good job here)
I think it also shows that in all fairness if you are only looking at a cpu loop and never want to upgrade the AIO's are a viable option considering they are cheaper and you could put Gt ap15's or nf-f12's with the money you would save, And probably get near on the same results

The RX240 would have scored much the same as the phobya, the CPU isnt maxing the rads hence the temps. Having a bigger rad just means better low speed fan results if you look........

08-07-2013, 10:21:39

lwatcdr
I was surprised how well the H110 and H100i held up. Seems like AIOs are pretty good these days.

08-07-2013, 10:22:46

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by lwatcdr View Post
I was surprised how well the H110 and H100i held up. Seems like AIOs are pretty good these days.
Its not THAT surprising tbh. These style kits are as low as I would ever go tbh.

IMHO water is all about aesthetics and low fan speeds with better than air load temps.

08-07-2013, 10:41:34

Montysaurus
I just ordered my first XSPC WC kit from Specialtech and find your beginners Vids on their site extremely helpful. This set of reviews has been really informative regarding the instructions which come with the kits and I'm glad I went with XSPC.
Thanks again TTL and all the crew at OC3d for all the hard work and getting us the info.

08-07-2013, 10:47:24

airdeano
i love a good ole shootout.. great review gary!

watching the graphs shrink with voltage increase was interesting, as the 1.45v
"weed out" temperatures showed kit brawniness.
very good..

(side note: in the graphs Raystorm is Raysorm)

08-07-2013, 14:05:02

Mysterae
Great review for wannabe and existing watercooling folk; to learn and compare respectively. Having done a lot of testing with my own rig, I can see the amount of work this group test would have taken.

Testing these kits in the fairest and honest way as has been done here, I think vindicates the AIO market somewhat. Performances almost on par, it's about the kind of experience one wants, and how risk averse they are too .

08-07-2013, 16:02:26

Mgutierrez33
Very informative review (typos aside x-P). May have to do some measurements in my chassis now (Graphite 600T with roof and front mesh removed) based on what I saw here in terms of rad thickness since I want to go for single low-speed fan configs when I DO get a loop going. Also has me considering some other brands as well for components.

08-07-2013, 17:04:19

FTLN
Nice reviews Gary,,

But i wish you guys would change the way you do your graphs..

There so uneasy on the eye....

08-07-2013, 20:53:41

lwatcdr
For me it is all about practicality. I like the reduction in the stress on the motherboard and reduction of RAM clearance issues compared to a large air cooler. I do like less noise as well. That isn't to say that I do not enjoy your builds. I hate windows in cases and just want a nice clean look myself. My wife wants a red case for her next build with a big window and lights. My next build will probably use a Fractal Design case while my wife will probably get a Phantom.

09-07-2013, 09:17:16

kittysniper
Thanks for the review and comparison, nice to know the best way to improve is to use noctua fans instead of stock 1s imo, which seems to be causing the biggest difference.

09-07-2013, 09:34:47

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by kittysniper View Post
Thanks for the review and comparison, nice to know the best way to improve is to use noctua fans instead of stock 1s imo, which seems to be causing the biggest difference.
Doesnt have to be noctua dude...... Just 'better' fans. Also if you READ the whole review youll see the closed loop fans in one of the kits performed the same as the Noctuas

09-07-2013, 10:23:52

d3rrial
That review was very helpful, I now decided I would buy an EK-Kit now, instead of the Alphacool one thank you a lot!

10-07-2013, 12:36:16

SimonB
love xspc raystorm look illuminated with leds of your build color would be just ,och my god geekporn for sure =DD other then that they all are good but i wouldint buy it ;/ since i prefer 360 or 240x6/8 fat rad just to be able having lover noise i become silence adict since i got my sp120QE =DD

24-07-2013, 21:19:38

loglog
honestly i'm kind of dissapointed in these kits. Seeing as how a NZXT-X60 and Corsair H100i can keep up or out preform them for a cheaper price an no maintenance required.
It is true that these have expandability options, but honestly if thats your plan you should save up and do it all at once.

25-07-2013, 01:39:10

NeverBackDown
Quote:
Originally Posted by loglog View Post
honestly i'm kind of dissapointed in these kits. Seeing as how a NZXT-X60 and Corsair H100i can keep up or out preform them for a cheaper price an no maintenance required.
It is true that these have expandability options, but honestly if thats your plan you should save up and do it all at once.
Well the kits don't exactly have much more surface area than the AIOs so for them being as far ahead as they were is pretty impressive.

26-07-2013, 17:36:54

loglog
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Well the kits don't exactly have much more surface area than the AIOs so for them being as far ahead as they were is pretty impressive.
I certainly dont disagree with you. However I would have imagined being a true WC kit, that having a separate res and rad would have lowered temps a little bit and by holding more coolant, but maybe thats just thining wrong.

26-07-2013, 19:53:47

NeverBackDown
Quote:
Originally Posted by loglog View Post
I certainly dont disagree with you. However I would have imagined being a true WC kit, that having a separate res and rad would have lowered temps a little bit and by holding more coolant, but maybe thats just thining wrong.
You're correct. But think about it.. How much more fluid is actually making contact and how much faster is the fluid going? Not much(mostly) so therefore it as almost always comes down to the fans. So considering how much farther they are it's pretty impressive.

26-07-2013, 21:47:40

loglog
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
You're correct. But think about it.. How much more fluid is actually making contact and how much faster is the fluid going? Not much(mostly) so therefore it as almost always comes down to the fans. So considering how much farther they are it's pretty impressive.
Very true, very true. I guess I was simply over estimating their stock potential. Better fans would definintly have helped; I'm qurious to see how each would have preformed with some GT AP-15's or NF-F12's.
Also having the ability to expand to a second rad or being able to add the GPU into the loop i guess is where the main value comes into play.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.