Water Cooling Kit Group-Test

Up Close: Phobya UC LT 240

Water Cooling Kit Mega-test

 

Up Close:  Phobya UC LT 240

You might be wondering why there isn't a picture of the box that the Phobya kit comes in.  The answer is simple, unlike all the other kits the LT240 doesn't come in its own custom box, instead it is simply supplied as a collection of parts.  This isn't a problem in itself as the box will surely be discarded anyway, but it might go some way to explain why there are no instructions whatsoever included with the phobia kit.  And we mean none, not a sausage, nil, diddly squat.  Well you get the idea.  This might seem like no big deal if you've already slung a loop or two together, but if you haven't you might be slightly put off by this.  Granted some of the manufacturers have gone the extra mile and included extensive installation instructions, but that doesn't mean that this is a given with kits as manufacturers also bring components together like this as a way of assuring value and compatibility without the need for the consumer to shop around for all the bits and pieces involved in bringing a custom loop together.

Water Cooling Kit Group-Test     Water Cooling Kit Group-Test  

 

Technical Specification

CPU WaterblockPhobya UC2 LT
 Price£147.05
Intel Compatability           Socket 2011     Socket 1136     Socket 1156     Socket 1155     Socket 775
AMD Compatabilityn/a
ReservoirPhobya Single 5.25" Drive Bay Reservoir
PumpPhobya DC12-220
Pump Flow Rate400 L/ph
RadiatorPhobya G-Ghanger 240 V2 Full Copper (275x125x60.5mm)
Radiator Fans2 x Phobya NB-eLoop 120mm
Fan Speed1600 rpm
Fan Noise22.5 dBA
Fan Connection3 Pin
Fittings8 x Phobya 1/4" Thread 3/8" ID - 5/8" OD Silver Compression Fittings
Tubing2 Meters Masterkleer Clear 3/8" ID - 5/8" OD Tubing
FluidNOT INCLUDED
Package Contents1 x CPU Waterblock     1 x Drive Bay Reservoir     1 x Pump     1 x 240mm Radiator     2 x 120mm Fan     2 x 120mm Fan Grill     8 x Compression Fittings     3.3 Meters of Clear Tubing     1 x HeGrease Thermal paste     PSU Bridging Plug     All Mounting Hardware

 

Core Components 

The Phobya kit utilises a single bay reservoir that is similar to the Alphacool unit, with the exception that this one fits easily into the intended bay.  The black gauged front of the res sporting the Phobya name is removable should you want to whip out those rattle cans.  There are also ports for 5mm LEDs in the res although no LEDs are supplied.  The UC-2LT cold plate comes pre assembled for Intel sockets, with no provision in the kit for adaptation for AMD CPUs.  The cold plate itself is a hefty affair, however you do get the feeling that the plastic top cover is there to conceal the name of the OEM underneath 

Water Cooling Kit Group-Test     Water Cooling Kit Group-Test  

 

Those of you familiar with water cooling will no doubt recognise the fairly ubiquitous water pump used in the Phobya kit.  Nothing wrong with this, tried and tested is always a good thing.  Unlike the other kits however the pump cannot be integrated into the reservoir in any way so prepare yourself for a fair bit of head scratching as you endeavour to work out where to mount it.  It's in the Radiator department that the Phobya kit really excels.  With the G-Changer 240 V2 a smidge over 60mm thick we're pretty sure it's going to produce the goods when it comes to the torture tests.  It's not just in size where the G-Changer has the edge over some of the others on test here, with the EK and XSPC rads only having side tank ports, the G-Changer has an additional set of ports on the end of each end tank making for 4 in total, just shy of the Alphacool's fully flexible 6 ports.

Water Cooling Kit Group-Test     Water Cooling Kit Group-Test  

 

Assembly and Testing

The fitting method for the Phobya Cold plate is identical to the AlphaCool unit, with even the blocks having more than a passing resemblance to each other.  Phobya have supplied 8 3/8" ID x 5/8" OD 1/4" thread chrome compression fittings along with a very generous 3.3 metres (10 foot) of MasterKleer clear tubing to help you bring it all together.  The fans included in the kit are the rather unusual NB-eLoop 120s, with red blade edges extending all the way around the interior of the cowling they look to better focus the airflow into the rad.  The bright red areas in the corners of the cowlings are actually rubber pads which protrude slightly offering a degree of vibration damping. 

Water Cooling Kit Group-Test     Water Cooling Kit Group-Test  

 

Once assembled the kit ran well although the noise from the pump was the highest observed in these tests.  The fans however were very quiet at 12 volts and almost silent when stepped down to the lower speed under the 7 volt supply.  It seems the blade design and the rubber mounts must be doing some good at least.  We again chose not to mount the res in the highest bay which although might be most aesthetically pleasing does make for a tiresome filling process.  On the subject of filling, the Phobya rad is he only one on test to have a bleed port built in, just a shame we couldn't access it as it as the clearance at the rear of the case didn't permit.

Water Cooling Kit Group-Test     Water Cooling Kit Group-Test  

 

The high gloss acrylic front panel of the single bay reservoir looks rather elegant, with even the large Phobya name and gauge not managing to ruin the looks.  Unlike the Alphacool unit the Phobya res slipped easily into the bay, being secured by screws from each side or your cases tool-less mechanism.

Water Cooling Kit Group-Test     Water Cooling Kit Group-Test  

  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

08-07-2013, 06:17:35

tinytomlogan
XSPC, EK, AlphaCool and Phobya do battle. Who will be crowned king of the 240mm radiator Water Cooling kits


http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...053156396l.jpg


Continue Reading

08-07-2013, 06:38:38

bofeming
Nice review TTL, I really apreciate this beacause I was wondering to buy a kit, and I think the EK looks better for me.
Maybe in the near future I can buy some loop expansion, like other rad, better pump/res and a block for my GC.
Do you think it will be worth? Or should I buy a custom loop directly.
Must say that this gonna be my 1st custom WC project.

Thx again for the review

08-07-2013, 06:45:20

SieB
Interesting read, would be good to see more reviews like this

I'm surprised at the performance of the XSPC RS rad, given that it's the thinnest out of the lot. Not much in it at all though really, unless you are trying to get the lowest temps possible, it doesn't really matter which kit you go with.

08-07-2013, 06:56:13

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by bofeming View Post
Nice review TTL, I really apreciate this beacause I was wondering to buy a kit, and I think the EK looks better for me.
Maybe in the near future I can buy some loop expansion, like other rad, better pump/res and a block for my GC.
Do you think it will be worth? Or should I buy a custom loop directly.
Must say that this gonna be my 1st custom WC project.

Thx again for the review

G-Dubs did this review dude. I may own OC3D but theres VB and Gdubs doing reviews too dudio

08-07-2013, 08:48:35

Greenback
Thanks Gary for the time you put in to this I have been hoping for something like this.
As SieB said the xspc rs240 result was interesting and makes you wonder how the RX240 kit would of done. (I don't expect you to do it you have done a good job here)
I think it also shows that in all fairness if you are only looking at a cpu loop and never want to upgrade the AIO's are a viable option considering they are cheaper and you could put Gt ap15's or nf-f12's with the money you would save, And probably get near on the same results

08-07-2013, 09:35:58

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greenback View Post
Thanks Gary for the time you put in to this I have been hoping for something like this.
As SieB said the xspc rs240 result was interesting and makes you wonder how the RX240 kit would of done. (I don't expect you to do it you have done a good job here)
I think it also shows that in all fairness if you are only looking at a cpu loop and never want to upgrade the AIO's are a viable option considering they are cheaper and you could put Gt ap15's or nf-f12's with the money you would save, And probably get near on the same results

The RX240 would have scored much the same as the phobya, the CPU isnt maxing the rads hence the temps. Having a bigger rad just means better low speed fan results if you look........

08-07-2013, 10:21:39

lwatcdr
I was surprised how well the H110 and H100i held up. Seems like AIOs are pretty good these days.

08-07-2013, 10:22:46

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by lwatcdr View Post
I was surprised how well the H110 and H100i held up. Seems like AIOs are pretty good these days.
Its not THAT surprising tbh. These style kits are as low as I would ever go tbh.

IMHO water is all about aesthetics and low fan speeds with better than air load temps.

08-07-2013, 10:41:34

Montysaurus
I just ordered my first XSPC WC kit from Specialtech and find your beginners Vids on their site extremely helpful. This set of reviews has been really informative regarding the instructions which come with the kits and I'm glad I went with XSPC.
Thanks again TTL and all the crew at OC3d for all the hard work and getting us the info.

08-07-2013, 10:47:24

airdeano
i love a good ole shootout.. great review gary!

watching the graphs shrink with voltage increase was interesting, as the 1.45v
"weed out" temperatures showed kit brawniness.
very good..

(side note: in the graphs Raystorm is Raysorm)

08-07-2013, 14:05:02

Mysterae
Great review for wannabe and existing watercooling folk; to learn and compare respectively. Having done a lot of testing with my own rig, I can see the amount of work this group test would have taken.

Testing these kits in the fairest and honest way as has been done here, I think vindicates the AIO market somewhat. Performances almost on par, it's about the kind of experience one wants, and how risk averse they are too .

08-07-2013, 16:02:26

Mgutierrez33
Very informative review (typos aside x-P). May have to do some measurements in my chassis now (Graphite 600T with roof and front mesh removed) based on what I saw here in terms of rad thickness since I want to go for single low-speed fan configs when I DO get a loop going. Also has me considering some other brands as well for components.

08-07-2013, 17:04:19

FTLN
Nice reviews Gary,,

But i wish you guys would change the way you do your graphs..

There so uneasy on the eye....

08-07-2013, 20:53:41

lwatcdr
For me it is all about practicality. I like the reduction in the stress on the motherboard and reduction of RAM clearance issues compared to a large air cooler. I do like less noise as well. That isn't to say that I do not enjoy your builds. I hate windows in cases and just want a nice clean look myself. My wife wants a red case for her next build with a big window and lights. My next build will probably use a Fractal Design case while my wife will probably get a Phantom.

09-07-2013, 09:17:16

kittysniper
Thanks for the review and comparison, nice to know the best way to improve is to use noctua fans instead of stock 1s imo, which seems to be causing the biggest difference.

09-07-2013, 09:34:47

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by kittysniper View Post
Thanks for the review and comparison, nice to know the best way to improve is to use noctua fans instead of stock 1s imo, which seems to be causing the biggest difference.
Doesnt have to be noctua dude...... Just 'better' fans. Also if you READ the whole review youll see the closed loop fans in one of the kits performed the same as the Noctuas

09-07-2013, 10:23:52

d3rrial
That review was very helpful, I now decided I would buy an EK-Kit now, instead of the Alphacool one thank you a lot!

10-07-2013, 12:36:16

SimonB
love xspc raystorm look illuminated with leds of your build color would be just ,och my god geekporn for sure =DD other then that they all are good but i wouldint buy it ;/ since i prefer 360 or 240x6/8 fat rad just to be able having lover noise i become silence adict since i got my sp120QE =DD

24-07-2013, 21:19:38

loglog
honestly i'm kind of dissapointed in these kits. Seeing as how a NZXT-X60 and Corsair H100i can keep up or out preform them for a cheaper price an no maintenance required.
It is true that these have expandability options, but honestly if thats your plan you should save up and do it all at once.

25-07-2013, 01:39:10

NeverBackDown
Quote:
Originally Posted by loglog View Post
honestly i'm kind of dissapointed in these kits. Seeing as how a NZXT-X60 and Corsair H100i can keep up or out preform them for a cheaper price an no maintenance required.
It is true that these have expandability options, but honestly if thats your plan you should save up and do it all at once.
Well the kits don't exactly have much more surface area than the AIOs so for them being as far ahead as they were is pretty impressive.

26-07-2013, 17:36:54

loglog
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
Well the kits don't exactly have much more surface area than the AIOs so for them being as far ahead as they were is pretty impressive.
I certainly dont disagree with you. However I would have imagined being a true WC kit, that having a separate res and rad would have lowered temps a little bit and by holding more coolant, but maybe thats just thining wrong.

26-07-2013, 19:53:47

NeverBackDown
Quote:
Originally Posted by loglog View Post
I certainly dont disagree with you. However I would have imagined being a true WC kit, that having a separate res and rad would have lowered temps a little bit and by holding more coolant, but maybe thats just thining wrong.
You're correct. But think about it.. How much more fluid is actually making contact and how much faster is the fluid going? Not much(mostly) so therefore it as almost always comes down to the fans. So considering how much farther they are it's pretty impressive.

26-07-2013, 21:47:40

loglog
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
You're correct. But think about it.. How much more fluid is actually making contact and how much faster is the fluid going? Not much(mostly) so therefore it as almost always comes down to the fans. So considering how much farther they are it's pretty impressive.
Very true, very true. I guess I was simply over estimating their stock potential. Better fans would definintly have helped; I'm qurious to see how each would have preformed with some GT AP-15's or NF-F12's.
Also having the ability to expand to a second rad or being able to add the GPU into the loop i guess is where the main value comes into play.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.