Zalman Z11 Plus Review

Introduction and Technical Specification

Zalman Z11 Plus Review

 

Introduction

The looks of the Zalman Z11 Plus may not be too every ones taste.  If you're one of those who makes up their mind about the inherrent attributes, performance and quality of a case, or any other product for that matter, based soley upon whether you like the aesthetics of it then you're perhaps missing out on a great many treats in life.  If however you're open minded then you might be tempted to read on and see what this case is really all about.

We probably best know Zalman for their range of coolers, however a quick visit to their website will astound you at just how many products they have out there for us to spend our hard earned wedge on. From cases to coolers, Zalman prety much cover the lot.  Start searching the e-tailers and you'll also be pleasantly surprised at how well priced this Zalman kit can be.  Here we take a look at the Z11 Plus case.  A mid-tower case with rather distinctive looks, and what appears to be a pretty reasonable feature set.  Priced at just £50 the Z11 certainly appears to be good value for money, but is there substance as well as style

 

Technical Specification

Enclosure Type

ATX Mid Tower

Dimensions

260(W) x 498(H) x 525(D)mm

Weight

7.4kg

Material

Plastic, Steel

Motherboard Compatibility

Standard ATX / Micro ATX

Power Supply Compatibility

Standard ATX / ATX12V

VGA Compatibility

Full Size (up to 290mm)

Expansion Slot

7

Drive Bays

5.25"

External Bay x 4

3.5"

External Bay x 1, Internal Bay x 5

5.25"/3.5"/2.5"

1 (3in-1)

Cooling
Components

Front

120mm/140mm Fan Vent x 1 (1 Fan included)

Top

120mm/140mm Fan Vent x 2 (1 Fan included, 1 optional)

Rear

120mm Fan Vent x 1 (1 Fan included)

Side

80mm Fan Vent x 2 (2 Fan included)

Bottom

120mm/140mm Fan Vent x 1 (Fan optional)

I/O Ports

Mic x 1, Headphones x 1, USB 2.0 x 2, USB 3.0 x 2

Color

Black

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

05-11-2012, 06:21:19

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...065344490l.jpg

Well known for their extensive range of coolers and accessories, Zalman also produce quite a prolific range of cases. Here we take a look at the Z11 Plus.


Continue Reading

05-11-2012, 06:29:34

SieB
I like the design of this case and at 50 it's definitely a bargain.

05-11-2012, 07:39:33

SPS
Great value for money

05-11-2012, 07:58:37

Chuckers
I have the Zalman Z9 Plus and I have to say I love it, its extremely well built for the price and its reasonably quiet and because of that I'm not surprised to see the Z11 Plus scoring well, Zalman do an excellent job on their cases

05-11-2012, 15:52:18

KingNosser
I own this exact case, have had it a fair few months now, switched out the side fans for better and also fitted a fan controller while adding a bottom intake and extra top exhaust, all blue LED fans. My Tunqi tower is a pretty large cooler and in this case there is plenty of space, for the money it's a really good feature case, as mentioned with the ties behind the mobo cable management is easy in this case and the added power extension is very handy, thou I would say now fit that cable before you do anything else or your have minor issues later.

My only gripe thou small is the front panel USB3 I have to route them out the back onto the motherboard connections, I like the case much better than my old one by a long way, I got mine for 45 with P&P it offers as good a set of needs as many 70+ cases and if you buy one your be more than happy with the case for the cash you paid.

I would feel it not only deserves VFM but also a bronze award it's well laid out and you can get plenty inside clean and tidy, it's main downfall for many looking at it is it's front looks, I prefer mine on it's side with the drives popping out over the desk, so I can get inside without the need of moving it an inch.

06-11-2012, 05:46:02

sheroo
I think the aesthetics are good, looks a bit like Darth Vader.. I would remove the 80mm fans though & not even bother to replace them. Plenty of room for a home server setup, 5 in 3 hot swap in the front, fill the rest full of drives - nice.

06-11-2012, 05:48:59

neoguyver1
Yea i have one of these will show it on the rig gallery soon , I have 4 of the zalman led fans inside with a led antec on front with a 7950, i reversed the fans on the side. I think you can fit a second 2.5" hdd in optical bay area(didn't read to check if said :P).
Overall a good case for the money if you like the looks the Z9 has the same chassis bur toned down looks.

06-11-2012, 09:01:19

SnW
A bit to plastic for me...
price is great, for people that like it !!

18-11-2012, 00:08:18

andrevautour
I really like the look of this, all of these lines create a really attractive looking case in my opinion.

23-07-2014, 17:27:27

xorcerer
as we all know - putting 140 mm fans wherever possible instead of 120 mm can make a big difference in perceived noise levels.

when I bought this case with silence in mind, I got frustrated to the point of fury over designers' short-sightedness. after all, Zalman was always about silence, right?

try if you like to fit a 140 mm over the top of that case, instead of a 120. also, try to fit a 140 into the front of the case instead of 120 mm. either you give up trying to fix the top cover by all screws, or try looking for extra-costing, extra-low profile 140 mm's (I didn't) - otherwise either remove the fancy Darth Vader'ish plastic covers, or don't transport the assembled system, because of all those fancy plastic extras hanging on a thread off the metal case.

someone at Zalman completely forgot how much space does a 140 mm fan take. seems justifiable, if that's the reason for a low price.

23-07-2014, 18:05:51

remember300
That front bit with the 80mm fans seems a little backward and a great way to build a vortex where it stops the case getting cool air. if they used plastic fins at 45 degrees inward at least they would push air in more.

When i've sold these i have said id not bother wiring them up even blocking if they want too. just cos im worried about the heat, and noise.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.