ASUS Rampage III Gene Review

Introduction and Technical Specs

ASUS Rampage III Gene Review

Introduction

Let me digress.

The importance of genetics upon all of our lives cannot possibly be overstated. It's the reason that we look how we do, have the colour eyes we do, roughly our body shape and type, even our likelihood of early baldness.

In the animal kingdom it plays an large role with the survival of entire species thanks to their genetics and the evolutionary process.

This evolutionary process is evident in PC hardware too. From the humble glide-based Voodoo and Rendition cards we now see the latest mighty Direct 3D graphics systems. Of course almost nothing can trace its lineage quite as far as the x86 processors.

So being able to "trace your roots" is vital whether it's your family tree and knowing why Uncle George has got big ears, or being able to look at your hardware and see the evolution from a previous product you know and love.

We're very fond of the Rampage III Extreme here at OC3D and consider it one of the premium motherboards on the planet. So much so we keep badgering Asus to give us enough so the whole team can have one. Of course with any premium product it has a price tag to match and so isn't for everyone. If you, like us, lust after owning one then what you need is something that has the genetics of the Rampage III Extreme, without the price-tag.

Enter the Rampage III Gene. Genetically linked to the Rampage III Extreme, but in a compact form.

See, I was going somewhere with that genetics waffle after all.

Technical Specifications

CPULGA1366 Support
ChipsetIntel X58 with ICH10R
System Bus6.4GT/s with QPI
MemoryTriple Channel
6xDIMM, max 24GB
Supports 2200, 2133, 2000, 1800, 1600, 1333, 1066
Supports XMP
Expansion Slots2x PCIe 2.0 x16 (x16 and x16)
1x PCIe x4
1x PCI 2.2
Multi-GPU SupportNVIDIA SLI and ATI CrossFireX
Storage6xSATA 3.0 (grey)
Intel Matrix Storage Technology supports RAID 0,1,5 and 10
2x Marvell PCIe 9128 SATA 6Gb/s (red)
LANGigabit Intel LAN
AudioSupremeFX X-Fi 2 Built-in
IEEE 1394a2 ports. 1 rear, 1 internal
USB2x USB 3.0 (NEC Controller)
11x USB 2.0 (4 internal, 6 rear, 1 for ROG Connect)
Form FactormATX

 

Let's get a good look at the board then.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

28-06-2010, 05:48:17

tinytomlogan
Want a high end motherboard but haven't got the room for a full ATX? Try the Rampage Gene

Continue Reading

28-06-2010, 07:27:33

Runebeard
Nice review Tom, love the looks of this board such clean-cut design matching the current gen RoG style. Also congratulations are in order! ASUS have put the review up on Facebook stating,

Wow - Overclock3D have done it again with the WORLDS FIRST REVIEW of the Rampage III Gene!!!!



Excellent publicity. Asus must totally love you dude

28-06-2010, 07:46:59

tinytomlogan
We do try to do our best for you guys..... Lets just say this is the warm up act eh

28-06-2010, 08:46:05

F-alienware
This board kicks all kinds of ass. LOADS of people I know are using it.

A little while ago you could pick up the latest Alienware chassis on Ebay for about 200 with a 1kw Delta PSU. Few of my friends got them and put in this board.. It kicked seven shades out of the actual Alienware

28-06-2010, 08:49:50

F-alienware
BTW Tom I think this is relevant.. I am an ROG owner. I have noticed the ROG site is immensely slow. Terrible, even.

Is this just me and if not could you have a word with Asus? TBH that's the ONLY gripe I ever had with my board was waiting all day for the updates to download and then finding they had dropped and corrupted..

If this post needs moving then please do so

28-06-2010, 10:12:32

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AlienALX'
This board kicks all kinds of ass. LOADS of people I know are using it.
I doubt anyone is using this, seeing as this is the worlds first RE3G review, the RRP hasnt even been confirmed 100% yet let alone any shops have them!

28-06-2010, 10:36:38

F-alienware
Ooo. I wonder what the heck the board was that they're all using then. I'm sure it was this one.

My bad. It was the Rampage 2 (or II) Gene.

God Asus are confusing with their names

Well if it's anything like the one before (and I'm sure it is) and it improves on the one before (which I am sure it does) then it will be another hit out of the park for Asus.

They definitely don't have any competition IMO. the eVGA one is the same size, more money and a terribly bad overclocker.

28-06-2010, 11:01:52

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AlienALX'
Ooo. I wonder what the heck the board was that they're all using them. I'm sure it was this one.

My bad. It was the Rampage 2 (or II) Gene.

God Asus are confusing with their names

Well if it's anything like the one before (and I'm sure it is) and it improves on the one before (which I am sure it does) then it will be another hit out of the park for Asus.

They definitely don't have any competition IMO. the eVGA one is the same size, more money and a terribly bad overclocker.
faffing right

28-06-2010, 11:52:19

Runebeard
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
Lets just say this is the warm up act eh
Oooh of course! I almost forgot THAT is coming up very soon. I won't be able to get one, but I can still drool over the hardware. It'll be like the centre spread of playboy except it won't bounce quite as well as theirs

29-06-2010, 00:16:11

enyownz
When is the release date?

29-06-2010, 00:17:44

enyownz
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='runebeard'
oooh of course! I almost forgot that is coming up very soon. I won't be able to get one, but i can still drool over the hardware. It'll be like the centre spread of playboy except it won't bounce quite as well as theirs
what do you mean "that"

29-06-2010, 02:46:03

wraithien
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='enyownz'
what do you mean "that"
I have an incling it might be Asus's other extreme motherboard (hopefully)

30-06-2010, 04:56:31

Runebeard
If that is what I think it is, I wouldn't want to spoil the surprise so obviously. Fancy a bit of a riddle? Let's just say I hope it doesn't bring Phobos and Deimos with it. Hopefully I'm right and Tom will know exactly what I mean

30-06-2010, 06:29:44

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Runebeard'
If that is what I think it is, I wouldn't want to spoil the surprise so obviously. Fancy a bit of a riddle? Let's just say I hope it doesn't bring Phobos and Deimos with it. Hopefully I'm right and Tom will know exactly what I mean
Not a scooby what you on about. But hands on Horoscope preview will be going live in the morning.

30-06-2010, 11:38:31

Andrew Moore
As Matx go this is an excellent little unit providing a strong base to a powerful lan box that unlike atx should be far more managable.

Nice review!

Andy
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.