Gigabyte Z68X UD5 B3 Preview

Introduction

Gigabyte Z68X UD5 B3 Preview

Introduction

Today we're going to whet your whistle with a little preview of a forthcoming attraction, namely the new Z68 chipset from Intel, here in Gigabyte Z68X UD5 B3 guise.

As we'll be giving you a full review by the end of the week, this is a small taster. The Z68 is the latest chipset from Intel designed for their LGA1155 processor, currently being served admirably by the P67 chipset.

We have a few little changes, the majority of which are on the value end of the spectrum where the Z68 melds the qualities of the P67 and H67. So you have all the integrated graphics benefits of the H67 models, with the performance and high-end feature-set we've come to expect from the P67.

However the real trick is the inclusion of two major technologies. Firstly the amazing Lucid Hydra, that enables you to take advantage of any pairing of GPUs at all, is reborn here as Lucid Virtu. This gives obvious performance options and, more importantly in these energy efficient times, a real power saving.

Gigabyte Z68X UD5 B3 Preview     Gigabyte Z68X UD5 B3 Preview  

The second major upgrade is Intel Smart Response Technology. If you're one of those people who love to follow all technological improvements then you've certainly heard of the ability to use the speed of a SSD as a cache drive coupled to the large capacity, cheap 'per gigabyte' costings of a normal HDD, to obtain a fast high-capacity storage solution at a far cheaper cost than attempting to get the same size from SSDs or the same speed from HDDs.

Well now this is in-built into the Z68 chipset, enabling everyone to take advantage by adding a small, and therefore cheap, SSD to their existing storage medium.

Gigabyte Z68X UD5 B3 Preview     Gigabyte Z68X UD5 B3 Preview

We can't wait to see if the Intel Smart Response Technology does what it says on the tin, and that's something we'll be covering in our full review this week.

But we wouldn't want to leave you hanging without some eye-candy, so let's have a very brief look at our Gigabyte Z68X UD5 on the next page.

«Prev 1 2 Next»

Most Recent Comments

10-05-2011, 04:36:36

tinytomlogan
The latest chipset for LGA1155 processors is upon us. Prior to our full review at the end of the week, here is a quick preview.



Continue Reading

10-05-2011, 04:50:34

sheroo
Tom, you have more motherboards go through your hands than my wife has shoes and handbags - she has lots of those...

10-05-2011, 04:54:41

Luger718
that ssd cache tech sounds awesome kinda like the momentus xt hybrud drives but with whichever hdd and sdd you want hmmm 2TB hdd with a 128GB ssd as a cache sounds good to me

where are the video out ports? how would you use the onboard?

10-05-2011, 05:00:32

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luger718 View Post

that ssd cache tech sounds awesome kinda like the momentus xt hybrud drives but with whichever hdd and sdd you want hmmm 2TB hdd with a 128GB ssd as a cache sounds good to me

where are the video out ports? how would you use the onboard?
The higher end gigabytes dont have onboard video

10-05-2011, 05:07:10

Luger718
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

The higher end gigabytes dont have onboard video
ahh ok guesses so so basically the higher ends are p67 + ssd caching

ssd caching really sounds badass

10-05-2011, 05:57:02

Firat
so is the nda being lifted tommoro? when can we purchase the z68 boards?

10-05-2011, 06:23:00

silenthill
[/size][size="3"]it this m/b designed for enthusiasts like the x58 ormainstream users and is Intel coming up with something more powerful becauseI've seen some websites showing a new platform which is called the x59 whichwill be designed for enthusiasts?

10-05-2011, 07:06:12

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by silenthill View Post

[/size][size="3"]it this m/b designed for enthusiasts like the x58 ormainstream users and is Intel coming up with something more powerful becauseI've seen some websites showing a new platform which is called the x59 whichwill be designed for enthusiasts?


X79 thats the 2011 socket which is the extreme line.

10-05-2011, 07:14:30

SieB
Interesting, looking forward to the full review to see if things like quick sync are available and whether the SSD caching is any good. The Lucid hydra is a good addition as well saves you having to sell your AMD card if you buy a Nvidia one or vice versa.

10-05-2011, 07:29:35

dugdiamond
i hope you will be testing it's lucid capabilities in the full review (with new/new; new/old; mixed vendor; etc)

some people haven't realised the full potential of lucid yet (as i have)

10-05-2011, 09:11:56

adamjamesroe
This SSD caching is basicaly just intergrating a Silverstone HDDBoost on to a motherboard.

10-05-2011, 11:33:44

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by dugdiamond View Post

i hope you will be testing it's lucid capabilities in the full review (with new/new; new/old; mixed vendor; etc)

some people haven't realised the full potential of lucid yet (as i have)
We've tested (and loved) Lucid before. The Lucid within the Z68 series is only part of the Integrated models, and not a full Hydra chip. So we can't include testing, because this board hasn't got it as it hasn't got Integrated Graphics.

10-05-2011, 12:50:21

dugdiamond
aaahhhhhhh! okay.

hmmm - i hate intergated graphics.

if you want it right, do it right, with a seperate GPU(s) IMHO

looking forward to the full review anyway (as always)

10-05-2011, 22:01:42

Luger718
what does the z68 chipset offer other then the ssd caching and integrated graphics

11-05-2011, 00:57:27

DiggyDiggyHole
Will they have a Z68 UD7? Also is there any news on a possible Asus ROG series of Z68 MOBO?

11-05-2011, 02:10:47

Firat
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luger718 View Post

what does the z68 chipset offer other then the ssd caching and integrated graphics
That's pretty much it, just Touch Bios which I think is a bios update for p67. So not much, but can't wait for the reviews

11-05-2011, 23:56:35

Luger718
p67 is pretty much useless now no? unless you looking for a really low end sub 100 board or dont plan on overclocking theyd get H67/61

12-05-2011, 05:38:25

sheroo
Quote:
Originally Posted by DiggyDiggyHole View Post

Will they have a Z68 UD7? Also is there any news on a possible Asus ROG series of Z68 MOBO?
Oh Yes!



http://www.scan.co.uk/products/gigab...6gb-s-raid-atx

Lovely lookin' board!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.