Intel Pentium G3258 20th Anniversary Review with Asus ROG Z97 Ranger

Introduction and Technical Specifications

Intel Pentium G3258 20th Anniversary Review

Introduction

Whenever you're looking at a new processor there are always, and we're no exception, a ton of benchmarks around telling you what kind of performance you can expect if you're planning to produce a home-rendered Pixar rival, or perhaps decode the Human Genome.

Those things are all good indicators of performance, and when it comes to processors, within reason, performance is king. It's everything. It's the reason we're not all still running a Pentium II. Let's be realistic though, for 99% of us our computing requirements start and stop with enough performance to check Twitter and keep our gaming desire sated.

The use of the Pentium as an example above helps segue into today's review. Yes it's the Pentium G3258, aka the Pentium K, aka the Pentium 20th Anniversary. Given that the orange-loving member of OC3D cut his teeth on a 386 and remembers when the Pentium was the newest chip that everyone wanted, it's fair to say that this has made us feel rather old.

But rather than go with an Anniversary edition with a suitably bumped price tag, Intel have gone the other direction and released a CPU at a stunning £50 price point. So what are you getting for a bullseye?

Technical Specification

Undoubtedly this is a simple processor for a small price. Dual core 3.2GHz goodness reminds us of one of the most legendary CPUs ever, the E8400, and if it gets anywhere near the joy of owning one of those then it's guaranteed to sell out faster than a Monty Python reunion tour. A microscopic 53W TDP means it's not only frugal when it comes to initial costs but in use too. So is it any good?

StatusLaunched
Launch DateQ2'14
Processor NumberG3258
# of Cores2
# of Threads2
Clock Speed3.2 GHz
Cache3 MB
DMI25 GT/s
# of QPI Links0
Instruction Set64-bit
Instruction Set ExtensionsSSE4.1/4.2
Embedded Options AvailableNo
Lithography22 nm
Scalability1S Only
Max TDP53 W

 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 Next»

Most Recent Comments

04-07-2014, 04:49:07

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...133332362l.jpg

If you want a cheap gaming system, or an inexpensive overclocking tool, the latest Pentium could be just the thing.


Continue Reading

04-07-2014, 05:30:21

SieB
Definitely a no brainer for people building a budget build, you could get a low end matx mobo and a G3258 for ~130 and still have great performance.

04-07-2014, 06:05:54

Dexo
Sad ending for a nice review...

04-07-2014, 06:26:22

Wraithguard
I can't help but think how much further this little Intel fighter would have got had it been Hyperthreaded.. but even so with those temps at 4.5Ghz it's got legs, all in all though a top little chip for nice budget surfers. Nice review Guv.

04-07-2014, 06:30:11

JR23
Ahh nice review Tom, the whole concept of the little Pentium K makes me happy and if I had any Z87/97 kit I would get one just for some overclocking fun. I thave an urge to pair one with a 750Ti and some overkill cooling and absolutely rape it, better finish αclass first.

JR

04-07-2014, 06:32:17

barnsley
H105 is overkill? Oh dear .

Good review Tom! still very excited to get my hands on mine.

04-07-2014, 06:37:20

Watsyerproblem
Just think how great this pocket rocket of a CPU would be with hyper threading1

This is great move here by Intel, they release something that competes well in the low end while not taking the thunder away from the higher end i5 and i7s.

It is good to see a competitive low end CPU from Intel.

Perhaps now is the time for some recommended builds Tom?

04-07-2014, 06:38:20

Wraithguard
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
H105 is overkill? Oh dear .

Good review Tom! still very excited to get my hands on mine.
You say overkill, I say more thermal headroom

04-07-2014, 06:39:10

barnsley
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wraithguard View Post
You say overkill, I say more thermal headroom
Personally I think my rad setup is a little bit more overkill

-edit- its a shame that this isn't the physical successor to the ol' unlocked i3 xxx cpus. they were an excellent idea.

04-07-2014, 06:46:59

Addnan
Would be nice if some multiplayer benchmarks could be posted since that is where CPU is pushed a fair amount more than single player benchmarks. Battlefield, DOTA and the likes.

04-07-2014, 06:51:45

barnsley
Quote:
Originally Posted by Addnan View Post
Would be nice if some multiplayer benchmarks could be posted since that is where CPU is pushed a fair amount more than single player benchmarks. Battlefield, DOTA and the likes.
When my setups get built I'll be doing multiplayer comparisons between it and a 4770k (using a gtx 780).

04-07-2014, 07:43:41

Nogginthenog
I enjoyed that one. There are quite a few 70ish H97 motherboards with overclocking options in BIOS now, and paired with this chip and a 750Ti gaming you could build a very decent every day rig that could play most games at higher settings at 1080p for not much money at all.

In fact, If I were still into MMO's. this would be my rig of choice I think. Low power, cool and quiet, enough umph to drive most of modern MMOs at decent settings.

04-07-2014, 17:11:54

RickPlaysWarr
Hi

Great review Tom. I am tempted just to buy one and pop it into the maximus VII Hero build that is on the workbench just to see how far I could push it.

The twins have been bugging me for their own machines for some time and I can see this in an mITX small build suiting them just fine for their Minecraft addictions. GTX 750ti or regular 750 would make a very sweet little machine.

--Rick--

04-07-2014, 18:03:06

MaddenShadow
Quote:
Originally Posted by RickPlaysWarr View Post
Hi

Great review Tom. I am tempted just to buy one and pop it into the maximus VII Hero build that is on the workbench just to see how far I could push it.

The twins have been bugging me for their own machines for some time and I can see this in an mITX small build suiting them just fine for their Minecraft addictions. GTX 750ti or regular 750 would make a very sweet little machine.

--Rick--
Isn't Minecraft fairly taxing on the CPU side? If so, a dual core wont do too well.

04-07-2014, 18:17:46

Watsyerproblem
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaddenShadow View Post
Isn't Minecraft fairly taxing on the CPU side? If so, a dual core wont do too well.
Does minecraft use more than two cores? I don't think it does.

04-07-2014, 18:21:06

MaddenShadow
Quote:
Originally Posted by Watsyerproblem View Post
Does minecraft use more than two cores? I don't think it does.
I'm really not sure, but you are probably right.

04-07-2014, 18:23:43

Watsyerproblem
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaddenShadow View Post
I'm really not sure, but you are probably right.
I definitely remember modding it to allow multi threading, so at least last time i was playing it it couldn't. Unless it is patched?

04-07-2014, 18:24:15

DiyEyal
I was hoping your review will cover more in detail overclocking with non Z motherboards, after all the people buying this chip will try to overclock it on a cheap motherboard..
I wonder how far you could push it with an entry level H81 motherboard, sounds ridiculous, but it might be interesting.. I expect it to do some moderate OC no problem, I mean this chip doesn't consume that much power, so if a motherboard is designed to be able to feed a quadcore at stock, it should OC this baby no problem..
I might pick one up and a cheap h81 motherboard for fun.. Might make it a LAN rig.. I have my old 6870 and an extra stick of RAM laying around.

04-07-2014, 23:29:27

metalgun2000
I'm really impressed that 2400mhz memory was running with the OC as well. This is exactly what people need. A nice entry into the world of overclocking. If I was just starting, I would certainly have no qualms about pushing this it's absolute limit. I might have to get one and have a play with it myself. I'm curious about what would happen if I used both of my 780s with it. Even in the 3d mark results, it suggests that it wasn't even holding back the 780 ti much, 2 - 3% maybe in fire strike extreme just in the graphics score? 400 points in extreme is a fair bit of difference but I'd say that as due to the cpu score.

05-07-2014, 04:17:01

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsley View Post
When my setups get built I'll be doing multiplayer comparisons between it and a 4770k (using a gtx 780).

If you can write a full blown review about it then I can loan you a 780 Ti

05-07-2014, 04:21:41

RamboOC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nogginthenog View Post
I enjoyed that one. There are quite a few 70ish H97 motherboards with overclocking options in BIOS now, and paired with this chip and a 750Ti gaming you could build a very decent every day rig that could play most games at higher settings at 1080p for not much money at all.

In fact, If I were still into MMO's. this would be my rig of choice I think. Low power, cool and quiet, enough umph to drive most of modern MMOs at decent settings.
Some of the low end H81 and H87 motherboards from asus are getting bios updates to support overclocking. you can get second hand h81 motherboard for 27, i want to see the overclocks on these chipsets

05-07-2014, 07:33:55

cooperman
Quote:
Originally Posted by Watsyerproblem View Post
I definitely remember modding it to allow multi threading, so at least last time i was playing it it couldn't. Unless it is patched?
Mine craft is java and runs on a single cpu core/thread there was a mod that is 'supposed' to split the load over 2 cores/threads but actualy make performance worse.
Therefore this new Intel Pentium is probably the best dual core if all you whanted was a cheap pc for is minecraft.

05-07-2014, 07:44:49

barnsley
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
If you can write a full blown review about it then I can loan you a 780 Ti
Cheers for the offer guv but I'll have to decline as it'll be a pain to get it back to you. I was also going to do a test with a low end GPU so that it shows more of the CPU difference (basically so the GPU doesn't carry the pentium's results). I was going to use a 780 for the more typically high-end stuff and a 7870 or GTS 450. Finally I was also going to use my AMD 8320 as a comparison with a CPU that relies heavily on multi-threading.

Speaking of which, my pentium has arrived as I type this .

05-07-2014, 20:50:40

metalgun2000
I got the G3258 today. Going to chuck it into the G1 rig soon and see what it can do. It's likely I'll start a thread and post some results.

08-07-2014, 22:22:32

metalgun2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Watsyerproblem View Post
Does minecraft use more than two cores? I don't think it does.
Well I got the new Pentium into the game rig. I'm most off the way through my OCing and testing, I've been doing some gaming on it too. Minecraft does use both cores on the Pentium. It's unmodded and running Java 64 bit. The CPU usage stayed above 90% while playing. It did a good job as well. It was running as if the i7 was still in the socket. It really is a fantastic little chip. The single threaded performance is strong.

09-07-2014, 03:48:19

barnsley
It's probably very good for the DayZ mod/arma2 as well.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.