AMD R9 290X Review

CatZilla and Unigine Valley

AMD R9 290X Review


As befits the rest of our tests so far, the R9 290X is extremely close in performance to the GTX780. It's not quite as good in the raw power 576P test, but as the test difficulty increases it actually falls further away, until by the end a GTX780 is scoring 7500 versus the 6500 of the Hawaii Radeon.  

Unigine Valley

Things don't improve for the 290X in the Unigine Valley test either. In increasing order of difficulty our reference GTX780 scored 94/61/59/37 and that compares to the 88/58/52/36 of the R9 290X. We're just using reference ones for this comparison, otherwise looking at the potential performance of a beefy GTX780 like the MSI Lightning and it becomes 103/65/66/40 which is even worse for the Radeon.


«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 Next»

Most Recent Comments

24-10-2013, 01:44:09

What a shame like everyone else i suppose i was really hoping this card was gonna be a beast and to be let down like a lead balloon....... sigh! Lets just hope AMD get their finger out their asses and let the 3rd party vendors loose and see if they can pick them up again so it's a least a half decent card and sooner rather than later!!Quote

24-10-2013, 02:01:20

Well Guv? Time to go get an MSI 780? Need a new card pretty badly.
Edit: or I could pull the trigger on getting one and watercooling that puppy....Quote

24-10-2013, 02:11:56

Thanks for the review, but I think its hardly fair to compare it to oc cards, it seems to compete well against stock titan and 780s, but amd really the bed on the cooler, though I cant complain seeing how much cheaper it is to titan and 780; would love to see another review when asus's direct cu II triple slot rog version come out, I bet it will give the titan oc/780 lightning a run for their money Quote

24-10-2013, 02:19:24

Well it'll be interesting to see what it can achieve once the 3rd party water blocks hit the market which i dare say wont be long! but at the temps its running you'd want to be running dual loop so it dosen't effect the cooling of your other components to much.Quote

24-10-2013, 02:23:31

Pretty sure the EK block is out already.Quote

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.