ASUS Ares II Overkill3D Review

Up Close

ASUS Ares II Overkill 3D Review

Up Close

We've already taken a look at the Ares II in our recent preview, but we can't help having another look at what £1200 buys you. As always with the extreme models in the ASUS line the Ares II comes in a case guaranteed to survive even the most extreme postal service abuse. Opening this is an event.

ASUS Ares II Overkill 3D Review     ASUS Ares II Overkill 3D Review  

Here it is in all its glory. As we'd expect the foam is extremely tightly cut, with no wiggle room at all. Because of the move from air cooling to a water loop the radiator dominates the eye more than the card itself. This has also meant that the designer had a lot of freedom with the cover and it replicates the heatsinks we saw on the Maximus V. It is strangely bland to be honest. When we think of the monstrous Ares bristling with highly-polished copper heatpipes, the Ares II is rather meh.

ASUS Ares II Overkill 3D Review     ASUS Ares II Overkill 3D Review  

As you'd expect with something that has two Tahiti XTs at the heart of it, the Ares II requires three 8pin PCIe power inputs. At the other end of the card is a Crossfire finger. Something we're going to take advantage of in today's review.

ASUS Ares II Overkill 3D Review     ASUS Ares II Overkill 3D Review  

The cooler is familiar to anyone who's seen the Corsair H100 and the idea is the same as the PNY GTX580. It's certainly not the prettiest beneath the hood, but as long as the card remains cool and quiet then that's the important part.

ASUS Ares II Overkill 3D Review     ASUS Ares II Overkill 3D Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 Next»

Most Recent Comments

30-01-2013, 15:30:10

tinytomlogan
The latest premium graphics card from ASUS is here, the Ares II, and as always we're going to the next level as we're doing Crossfire too. Read on.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...125234280l.jpg


Continue Reading

30-01-2013, 15:41:37

Recon-UK
Watched the Vids mate, nicely done with the entire review, and great cards!

Not my cup of tea with the whole AIO WC though..... i like modding, but to buy it like that, seems odd

30-01-2013, 16:25:14

Gamepro105
Love the video with bench marking. there great cards. now how do i afford them

30-01-2013, 17:29:55

Ron5382
Great Reviews Tom,

The card looks great and benches even better..That is a lot of CASH

I do miss the Crysis benchmark where you blow the hell out of the chopper



Ron

30-01-2013, 20:17:32

murphy7801
Way to much cash but people want to pay for it but sure someone bought it and is happy.

01-02-2013, 15:36:27

kejser11
That does it! Ill stick to Devil 13, where You do get the accessories at a much lower price and virtually the same power. I will NOT pay 500 - 600 for a metal suitcase worth around 50! Come again, Asus. You know better!!!

01-02-2013, 16:53:37

DifferentClone
Quote:
Originally Posted by kejser11 View Post
That does it! Ill stick to Devil 13, where You do get the accessories at a much lower price and virtually the same power. I will NOT pay 500 - 600 for a metal suitcase worth around 50! Come again, Asus. You know better!!!
It's alright saying that, and normally I would agree wholeheartedly with you. The price is not justified at all, and can be considered rather insulting to those who realise where the extra money is going. The Devil13 is certainly the better buy.

However after googling furiously for ~ 2 minutes I could not find a place that actually sold the Devil13, save for a few "new" ones on eBay, and of course you can see the flaw in siding with a product that is not readily available at this moment, and is labelled as 'discontinued' on Newegg.

That is a real shame, considering that the card was only revealed around the end of September last year....

Hopefully this AIO monstrosity does not stick, as it is clearly a huge hindrance to anyone who buys it and a disastrous design choice.

01-02-2013, 22:37:09

Deadtroopers
What's the power draw of a 1X card set up and 2X card set up please?
"You can't take it with you can you" as Ofan said, and not for any E-Peen thing, but for the hell of it...

01-02-2013, 22:45:03

Deadtroopers
Tom, shouldn't you be one shot, one kill on that bit of Metro by now?

02-02-2013, 05:58:48

kejser11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DifferentClone View Post
It's alright saying that, and normally I would agree wholeheartedly with you. The price is not justified at all, and can be considered rather insulting to those who realise where the extra money is going. The Devil13 is certainly the better buy.

However after googling furiously for ~ 2 minutes I could not find a place that actually sold the Devil13, save for a few "new" ones on eBay, and of course you can see the flaw in siding with a product that is not readily available at this moment, and is labelled as 'discontinued' on Newegg.

That is a real shame, considering that the card was only revealed around the end of September last year....

Hopefully this AIO monstrosity does not stick, as it is clearly a huge hindrance to anyone who buys it and a disastrous design choice.
Sorry You cant find it in UK. As I am Danish, I of course Look for it in Denmark. It is stille available in 4 different outlets, the cheapest of which is: http://www.sikkenemt.dk/index.php/ha...13-hd7990.html . The price is 8121,- dkr. which is similar to 945. Hope this is usefull to You.
P.S: That price is about 40% of an ARES II, so I will defenitely not go there...

02-02-2013, 09:21:34

hoxlund
maybe i missed it in the video but how did Farcry 3 do with the dual ares setup?

02-02-2013, 14:26:10

Deadtroopers
You missed it, youa also missed it in the write up, it has a page of its own so you don't have an excuse. 60fps but with so much microstutter it looked like 20fps. So the performance graph is actially misleading. The game doesn't know what to do with 4 cores, and it is the game, not the cards, not the drivers. If it was either of those Metro would fall over too but the game loves 4 cores. Kudos to the guys that coded Metro, if they can do it there is no excuse for any other big games studio to muck it up.

06-02-2013, 01:49:35

o0bananaman0o
tom mentioned that this would benifit from a 240rad and a cpu block. Absolutely love that idea, even for lower end gpu cards. an 80mmx120mm all-in-one watercooled gtx670 with a cpu block would make for an nice, clean sg05 build

16-02-2013, 18:36:42

DeViLzzz
Without mature drivers this review is all over the place in terms of performance. With AMD's history in putting out good drivers how long you looking at before it is really worth testing this card and seeing what it can do ?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.