ASUS PB287Q True 4K Monitor Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

ASUS PB287Q True 4K Monitor Review

Introduction

Once upon a time a computer monitor was a separate thing to a television, with different requirements and different inputs. As the switch to flat panel displays alongside the increased media capabilities, and indeed popularity, of home consoles came to be, so the difference between a monitor and a television was blurred to the point that they overlap. In the home the major manufacturers have been pushing 3D as the technology of the future, and it's nearly impossible to buy a good quality panel that doesn't come with some form of nausea inducing 3D built in.

Those of us who understand technology though, we knew that the future wasn't gimmicky 3D but increased pixel density and higher resolutions. The difference between Standard Definition and High Definition is massive, even though we've all got used to it. So when the first 4K televisions appeared we salivated. We then saw the price of them and went to buy a lottery ticket. They were laughably expensive, with even an average model costing a years wages. Thankfully in the same way that HD displays have become almost cheap, so the price of 4K screens is slowly dropping.

Not content with dropping the price slowly, ASUS have come out of the gate with the PB287Q, a 4K display priced at a barely believable £600. That isn't much more expensive than a 2560x1440 monitor, except you're getting 3840x2160. A huge amount of screen space. Any of us who work in the digital content world require all the space possible, and if you're a gamer who requires nothing but the finest possible display, the PB287Q could be right up your alley.

Technical Specifications

It's difficult to not look at the specifications of the PB287Q and not be blown away. 28 inches of screen, 4K resolution at 60Hz (via Display Port), a pretty good 157 Pixels Per Inch and full 10 bit colour are enough to make anyone salivate. When you add to that a 1ms grey-to-grey response time, and kudos to ASUS for admitting it's GtG rather than black to white, and a stand that actually is adjustable, it's clear that no corners have been cut to hit that low price point.

ASUS PB287Q True 4K Monitor Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-06-2014, 15:27:45

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...091637125l.jpg

The next generation of HD screens are upon us, and ASUS have brought out the most affordable 4K screen yet.


Continue Reading

29-06-2014, 15:28:46

Wraithguard
Oooh show me your display

29-06-2014, 16:29:42

SieB
4K screens are starting to drop in price and the quality of them is improving, this one is a start.
Now we just need the GPUs to catch up so a single card is enough to run one 4K screen as good as they can on a 1080p one today.
Until that happens, it isn't really worth going 4K for 90% of people. By the time it does happen, 4K screens will be even cheaper and there will be better ones than the ones today.

29-06-2014, 16:33:34

Aurelian
Very swish! And I really like the performance figures, puts into perspective just how much horsepower is going to be needed for 4k, particularly as things progress. One question though.....don't happen to have a couple of Titan's knocking around to run a test or 2 in SLI? The 295x2's only have 4GB per GPU, so the Titans could be a little experiment into the value that could be offered by something like a much mooted yet never materialising 6GB 780Ti, or even the 880 in the future.

Also, does your camera have a manual focus or focus lock? If not have you considered using a dSLR instead?

29-06-2014, 16:40:33

looz
Does it support 120Hz with 1080p? I'm intrigued by the idea of having such a screen and doing work stuff at 4k, and then game at 1080p. There wouldn't be blurriness since at 1080p every pixel is represented by a 2x2 cluster.

29-06-2014, 16:58:12

MacLeod
Asus is really bringing it these days with their monitors. Ive been doing some research on some wanting to upgrade my 25" HP and a lot of the top ones out there seem to be by Asus.

Think Ill pass on 4K though for a while. I think its a little too much resolution requiring a little too much GPU horsepower. Luckily for my 42 year old eyes, 1920x1080 looks plenty sharp.

29-06-2014, 17:33:49

Mysterae
Good review as usual, very difficult to portray with the conditions that were mentioned. Did I see some artifacting during the Valley 4k run?

Looks like I'll be sticking with my Dell U3011 for a bit longer. My 780ti's struggle to keep up with some games while maintaining that golden 60Hz and above refresh rate at 2560x1600. Games that ignore SLI or CF (such as the latest Wolfenstien) will have run with one GPU on a 4k screen making it even more demanding.

In my opinion 28 inches is too small for such a resolution, 30" or preferably bigger is required to really feel the benefit or desire to change. Or the need to go to Specsavers!

Tom, about the focusing of your camera on the screen - get a paper print out of some really sharp text, place it on the screen temporarily and then use the manual focus of your camera to focus on that text. Remove the paper once your happy. The problem will be if you move the camera or adjust the zoom, you'll have to focus it again...

Meant to mention - the sound in your videos is bang on .

29-06-2014, 17:45:03

Code-Red
I'm holding off on 4k tech for another year or so, until then my Asus PB278Q is more than good enough imo. The specs for this display are impressive though, for those with the coin and desire I don't see there being any competition or doubt on what to get when it comes to 4k displays at the moment.

29-06-2014, 17:47:22

Watsyerproblem
Good review man, very informative.

Your comments on the high Quality of the TN panel should appease some of the TN haters. That being said I don't plan on moving from my IPS anytime soon.

29-06-2014, 18:51:27

deadbc77
Nice review Tom.I am running the Samsung version minus the awesome stand,and vesa mounts.Its a great monitor too.I just use it for gaming.Don't think i can ever go back to 1080p gaming.My eyes have been spoiled.

29-06-2014, 20:31:10

metalgun2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mysterae View Post
Good review as usual, very difficult to portray with the conditions that were mentioned. Did I see some artifacting during the Valley 4k run?
I''m pretty sure the artifacting is coming from the drivers. With the 335.23 WHQL drivers (2nd to newest), there wasn't any. Soon as I moved to 337.88 WHQL (newest), the artifacts started showing. I thought I had messed something up on the nzxt g10 install because I was using Valley to temp test an h110 on one off my 780s. Gave me a heart attack at first.

Thanks Tom, your opinion carries a lot off weight with me, so much so that after your review and the price drop, I picked up the PB278Q. This 4k panel''s colors are indeed very good. The video was pretty vibrant and crisp when the camera was in focus. However, 4k isn't making a lot of sense at the moment, at least if used just for gaming. The single card performance isn't there and it's going to be a long time before the 4k profiles in the drivers are going to be up to snuff. Once 2 or 3 GPU generations have gone by, then will I consider a 4k panel. On the other hand if I had to have one now this would probably be what I would purchase.

29-06-2014, 22:58:14

Kaapstad
The big dip in performance on the 3gb cards on Hitman was where they were running out of VRAM, the last bit of the bench is the worst just as it exits.

30-06-2014, 03:33:53

ShaunB-91
What a difference between two 780 Ti's and two 295X2's at 4k. I'd LOVE to see gaming in 4k, must look incredible.

30-06-2014, 03:57:06

Damien c
Quote:
Originally Posted by SieB View Post
4K screens are starting to drop in price and the quality of them is improving, this one is a start.
Now we just need the GPUs to catch up so a single card is enough to run one 4K screen as good as they can on a 1080p one today.
Until that happens, it isn't really worth going 4K for 90% of people. By the time it does happen, 4K screens will be even cheaper and there will be better ones than the ones today.

I know someone who is currently claiming they are running every game out there on a single GTX780 6gb, and every game is maxed out at 4K.

This same person claims that a single GTX780 6Gb is not only faster than a single GTX780Ti in every test but also, faster than a pair of 780Ti's in SLI.


As for this screen I am more tempted with this than the overpriced ROG Monitor that Asus have released.

30-06-2014, 03:58:34

ShaunB-91
Out of curiosity, how would two 780's (non Ti) run 4K?

30-06-2014, 05:37:03

SieB
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien c View Post
I know someone who is currently claiming they are running every game out there on a single GTX780 6gb, and every game is maxed out at 4K.

This same person claims that a single GTX780 6Gb is not only faster than a single GTX780Ti in every test but also, faster than a pair of 780Ti's in SLI.


As for this screen I am more tempted with this than the overpriced ROG Monitor that Asus have released.
Whoever that guy is, give him a kick in the balls

30-06-2014, 06:27:36

Kaapstad
Quote:
Originally Posted by Damien c View Post
I know someone who is currently claiming they are running every game out there on a single GTX780 6gb, and every game is maxed out at 4K.

This same person claims that a single GTX780 6Gb is not only faster than a single GTX780Ti in every test but also, faster than a pair of 780Ti's in SLI.
If he loads up Crysis 3 and maxes it he will get about 7 or 8 fps lol, but the 780ti's would run out of VRAM.

Maybe your friend plays Freecell and Minesweeper all day.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaunB-91 View Post
Out of curiosity, how would two 780's (non Ti) run 4K?
About 15% slower than the 780ti's

01-07-2014, 05:37:00

dhoom
Very short and nice review of this fine monitor. Thanks TTL.

I have been running the screen PB287q for 2 days and i love it. My ASUS GTX780 (3G.) struggles with some games in 4K. but on lower res. (2560x1600) with AA turned off it acctual run games like Crysis 3. smoother than before. My plan was to buy 2 x GTX780 Strix (6GB.) but not anymore i want to wait for the new 8xx series. BTW. gaming in 4K. is stunning and nice.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaunB-91 View Post
Out of curiosity, how would two 780's (non Ti) run 4K?

I have one GTX780 (3GB.) that is good enoug for me in 2560x1600 with AA. off.

Wait for the GTX880.

01-07-2014, 12:52:55

metalgun2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaunB-91 View Post
Out of curiosity, how would two 780's (non Ti) run 4K?
I have 780 (3G SLI and a 2560 x 1440 panel. With every game completely maxed (except for Watch Dogs which actually runs better on a single card), I can at least hit the magic 60fps even on Crysis 3 and Metro LL if not more. I would imagine that's quite a bit different at 4k but the 6GB version should do a bit better. This is a rare case where adding a 3rd card for 4k may make sense and scale linearly. I would say that the regular 780 SLI should be between 10% - 15% slower than the 780 Ti.

01-07-2014, 14:27:02

Kaapstad
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalgun2000 View Post
I have 780 (3G SLI and a 2560 x 1440 panel. With every game completely maxed (except for Watch Dogs which actually runs better on a single card), I can at least hit the magic 60fps even on Crysis 3 and Metro LL if not more. I would imagine that's quite a bit different at 4k but the 6GB version should do a bit better. This is a rare case where adding a 3rd card for 4k may make sense and scale linearly. I would say that the regular 780 SLI should be between 10% - 15% slower than the 780 Ti.
This is Crysis 3 maxed at 4K including the MSAA and it takes a lot of GPU grunt.

http://i.imgur.com/AVi4lZc.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/vZr4BxC.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/buPvceo.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/AiQVevf.jpg

4 x 290Xs @1200/1500

01-07-2014, 14:53:44

GadgetGarrett
Dang! That's some horsepower there though chief!

02-07-2014, 03:22:08

ShaunB-91
Just trying to imagine Crysis 3 in 4K. Bet it looks flippin' stunning!

02-07-2014, 04:16:28

Dicehunter
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaapstad View Post
This is Crysis 3 maxed at 4K including the MSAA and it takes a lot of GPU grunt.

4 x 290Xs @1200/1500
Do you remember what the outside world looks like out of curiosity ? or women ?

On a serious note how many 295X's are you gonna get day 1 ?

Can't be having those cut down girly 290X versions

02-07-2014, 05:23:12

JR23
Ahhhh every monitor review I see is tearing me apart! This looks great for the money but I would prefer a slightly bigger monitor next time I think and i'm still concerned by the 3GB vram argument, although it's not so long ago I was running 5760 with 1280mb! Also I currently have an IPS which I would hate to lose.

My friend has already offered to buy my U2713HM whenever I make a move but I don't know whether to go 4k or 3440x1440 or just to stay with 1440p. This Asus makes my life just that bit harder being so god damn good and affordable.


I thought the LG 34UM95 had all of the boxes ticked with its sensible amount of pixels, slightly bigger area and extra wide IPS glory. Great review anyway Tom, only thing I would add really is a GPU overlay or graph with memory usage/load % and fps, not for all monitor reviews but just to get a feel for 4k's demands.

JR

02-07-2014, 08:34:48

dhoom
This might give you what you want.

http://www.anandtech.com/bench/GPU14/815

02-07-2014, 09:09:29

Kaapstad
Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaunB-91 View Post
Just trying to imagine Crysis 3 in 4K. Bet it looks flippin' stunning!
I think Crysis 3 @4K looks very ordinary to be honest.

06-07-2014, 14:21:45

Dicehunter
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaapstad View Post
I think Crysis 3 @4K looks very ordinary to be honest.
Gotta agree, I've been busy going through my game library and the only games that I can see any improvement going over 1600p are Batman AO, AC4, RAGE and I think that's it really, Well for the ones I've tested so far.

Everything else just looks a bit smoother, Skyrim is a really nice experience though, Solid 60 fps at all times and no jaggies in sight and on a single crusty old 780 Ti, Quite nice

07-07-2014, 15:25:32

Timo
Cryengine 2 looks the best. Cryengine 3 looks like a cartoon. Crysis 1 the game was boring military so-so. I do not care for any particular storyline. I only bought the game on DVD in '09 so I could load up the mods. 20GB of those things.

Back on topic, I want massive-screen immersion, but the panels I have actually seen in-the-flesh disappoint. I still run a 19inch 1080 CCFL for fast gaming.

07-07-2014, 15:32:37

Timo
...and on a single crusty old 780 Ti

Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.