Asus VG236H 3D Vision Monitor Review

Introduction

Asus VG236H 3D Vision Monitor Review

Introduction

The Z-axis. Its function is far more important in life than most people would ever give it credit for.

Anyone who knows how tall they are, and I assume that's all of us, will know all about the Y-axis. Got to take something off the top shelf for a person not quite as tall as you, that'll be the Y-axis.

The X-axis is equally a part of all of our lives. It's 3 miles to the supermarket? That's the X-axis. Your room is 15' long? X-Axis again. Anyone who has ever done basic mathmatics and plotted stuff on graphs understands the X and Y axis.

In display terms we're so familiar with it we don't even think of them as axes anymore. Full-HD is 1080p, and the 1080 is the value of the Y-axis resolution. When we look at monitors, or improving our frame-rates, we deal with figures like 1280x1024 or 1680x1050 as normally as we deal with our keyboards.

But the poor old Z-axis is much maligned. Z-axis is all about depth. Distance away from you in 3D space. It first appeared in our lives with games such as BattleZone. This allowed us to move into the screen, and rotate. However because we didn't have the ability to move up and down, it was still a 2-axis game. Moving on a few years and ID brought us the seminal Wolfenstein 3D and later on Doom. These were the first two games in which the concept of moving into the screen was brought into the mainstream and they are lauded as revolutionary. Once again though they didn't take advantage of up and down. We had to wait for Quake to give the masses a game that allowed you full movement in 3D space.

So what has this all got to do with a monitor?

Monitors are, like televisions and suchlike, still 2D devices. Sure you may have the effect of moving into the screen along the Z-axis with your FPS games or whatever, but you aren't really aware of it because your brain is still processing a 2D image. You can tell the other enemy is far away because it's smaller that the one hitting you with a chainsaw, but you can't really tell how far away, and never really feel like you're occupying the same world as it.

All that changed a while ago with the introduction of stereoscopic 3D technology. We'll explain more about that later on, but the important thing is that early monitors capable of handling the refresh rate necessary to handle it were limited to 1680x1050. Most people when given the choice between a high resolution or a emerging technology chose the resolution. The rest of us sat and waited for monitors to be sufficiently high calibre to supply us with both the 3D 120hz aspect and the high resolutions we demand.

Asus have brought out the VG236H which is a full-HD monitor supporting the 120hz we need for the stereoscopic effect to work, and that is the subject of today's review.

Technical Specifications

TFT-LCD PanelPanel Size: 23" (58.4cm) Wide Screen
Color Shine Technology
True Resolution: 1920X1080
Pixel Pitch: 0.265mm
Brightness(Max): 400 cd/㎡
Contrast Ratio (Max.): 100000 :1
Display Color: 16.7M
Viewing Angle (CR≧10): 170°(H) /160°(V)
Response Time: 2 ms
Video FeaturesTrace Free Technology
SPLENDID Video Preset Modes (5 modes)
Skin-Tone Selection (3 mode)
HDCP support
Color Temperature Selection(5 modes)
Convenient HotkeySPLENDID Video Preset Mode Selection
Auto. Adjustment
Brightness Adjustment
Contrast Adjustment
Input Selection
Input / OutputPC Input: Dual-link DVI-D (support NVIDIA 3D Vision)
Video Input: Component(YPbPr)/HDMI
AV Audio Input: HDMI
Signal FrequencyAnalog Signal Frequency: 24~140 KHz(H)/ 50~122 Hz(V)
Digital Signal Frequency: 24~83 KHz(H)/ 50~85 Hz(V)
Power ConsumptionPower Consumption < 60 W
Power Saving Mode < 2 W
Mechanical DesignChassis Colors: Black
Tilt: +15°~-5°
Swivel: Yes
Height Adjustment
VESA Wall Mounting: 100x100mm
AccessoryDual-link DVI cable
Power cord
Quick start guide
warranty card
Nvidia 3D Vision Kit

 

As you can see we've got a 23 inch, 1920x1080 monitor with a TN panel that supports all the usual Asus features and has a decent amount of connectivity.

So let's take a look up close shall we.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

21-07-2010, 05:52:09

tinytomlogan
Want to make the leap to 3D but don't fancy limiting yourself to 1680? Asus have a solution for you with the VG236H

Continue Reading

21-07-2010, 08:39:56

rpearl
If you get a 3D monitor like this, does everything have to be viewed in 3D all the time, or can you view games and such like a normal monitor if you want to give your eyes a rest or something?

21-07-2010, 09:27:04

tinytomlogan
You just hit the button on the 3D emitter and the whole system goes back to 2D mode.

21-07-2010, 12:30:51

silenthill
There is an old axiom that says 'seeing is believing' in this case very true, custom pc reviewed 3D vision a few months ago and give it a absolute NO they said it give you a headache after one hour of playing and the 3D effect wears out, so for me it is a absolute NO until the technology evolves to something more mature also I read a review in bit-tech that claimed that the FPS drop dramatically when using 3D vision so another downer, last week I went to CURRYS and a sales person showed me a 3D movie clip on a 50 3D plasma, to be honest it was very impressive but after a while the 3D effect did wear out, fact is the brain can only be tricked for a short time and all the current 3D products in the market are at the first stages of the evolution of the 3D technology.

21-07-2010, 13:53:12

Runebeard
I kind of think it's proably something you just have to adjust to. You don't seem to hear complaints about 3D films, and Custom PC did bad mouth 3D vision, but I stand firm supporting it. Of course it might be weird and your aim might be off completely to begin with, yet this makes sense as when Tom explained how 3D works.

The normal 2D image only imitates 3D through depth perception in terms of the size of object in reference to the foreground. The 3D vision is different in the like real vision one eye effectively sees slightly more of one side of an object and the other eye vice versa, your brain then combines the images to give you the overall image perceiving 3D.

This is probably why it takes some getting used to as your brain will see the 3D of your room and then a second 3D image of different depth on the monitor, hence why it might get confused and lead to some people getting headaches or sometimes just poor aim.

Like patting your head while rubbing your stomach however, the brain can be taught to distinguish between simultaneous tasks affecting the same area of the brain.

Apache pilots effectively learn to look like a Chameleon looking at different images with each eye and still maintaining an overall picture without feeling sick or losing perception of depth.

I think with a little practice it would be easy to adjust to the change in picture and you'd soon be fragging people the same as always.

Of course there's the fact you can still just watch films (if you didn't want to game with them on) providing the 3D movie experience at home.

I myself have bought a 3D vision monitor in preparation for my pc I'm still building (seems like ages, tho I did start planning it in feb lol).

We'll see how I get on eventually.

21-07-2010, 15:26:00

silenthill
hope you finish your pc soon like to know your honest opinion on 3D vision after having it for a few days and getting adjusted to it.

21-07-2010, 17:02:09

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='silenthill'
There is an old axiom that says 'seeing is believing' in this case very true, custom pc reviewed 3D vision a few months ago and give it a absolute NO they said it give you a headache after one hour of playing and the 3D effect wears out, so for me it is a absolute NO until the technology evolves to something more mature also I read a review in bit-tech that claimed that the FPS drop dramatically when using 3D vision so another downer, last week I went to CURRYS and a sales person showed me a 3D movie clip on a 50 3D plasma, to be honest it was very impressive but after a while the 3D effect did wear out, fact is the brain can only be tricked for a short time and all the current 3D products in the market are at the first stages of the evolution of the 3D technology.
3D vision is never going to catch on ever until it does away with those ridiculous f***ing glasses. The problem is that not every one can wear those. Take me for example, I suffer with motion sickness. I used a virtualboy for about ten minutes and threw up. The technology is just all wrong. I mean, look at Virtual Reality. Where the heck has that gone? It's gone because a huge lump of the people who tried it just couldn't live with it, it just isn't good for you.

What they need to do is create a proper depth of view screen that can do it properly without having to fool you. It's quite easily done, you just layer several LCDs over one another with no silver backing. You then create a movie or game in layers so that they have a viewpoint they can make into a vanishing point. Until that happens 3D is not 3D.

Nvidia have been wasting money on this crap for bloody years now. It's just good money after bad trying to invent something that just doesn't work as an idea. I DO NOT want to have to wear a stupid set of glasses on my head that are going to screw up my eyesight any more than it already is.

I can't even play handhelds because I spent too long on the Gameboy as a kid and it buggered my eyesight.

22-07-2010, 18:32:02

steve30x
I am looking for a bigger monitor. My Samsung SM206BW is starting to show its age. I have it with 4 or 5 years now and the colours arent as good as they were when I got it first. Also I want to game with a bigger monitor than my 20

11-10-2010, 09:47:59

cheekychappie
Hi there,

New member here. I am looking at getting the Asus to use with my Xbox 360, which is starting to get 3D games coming online, starting with call of duty in November.

I have heard that to get 120hz you need to connect via the DVI port, so would a hdmi to dvi connector work for this?

Also, I see that there is an IR transmitter which you connect to your pc, any ideas how this would work with the xbox?

Many thanks,

Cheeky

11-10-2010, 10:24:08

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheekychappie View Post

Hi there,

New member here. I am looking at getting the Asus to use with my Xbox 360, which is starting to get 3D games coming online, starting with call of duty in November.

I have heard that to get 120hz you need to connect via the DVI port, so would a hdmi to dvi connector work for this?

Also, I see that there is an IR transmitter which you connect to your pc, any ideas how this would work with the xbox?

Many thanks,

Cheeky
Really not sure about xbox specifics yet tbh dude, untill they release detailed information we couldnt answer without it being a guess, sorry fella

02-11-2010, 08:56:49

johanzparku
HI guys!i`m interesting in these 3D monitors for while.....but one thing is really more important 2 me then 3D glasses...i wuld like 2 know,if i can run games(FPShooter 4 example) in 2D,without glasses,but with Vertical Sync locked on 120fps???as it means 2 me 120hz=120fps max in Vsync.or is it still maximun 60fps like any other LCD monitors on the market? i get something from the review,but im not really clever from it...thank u for answers

02-11-2010, 11:17:36

thestepster
2d it will be 60fps mate not sure if that changes in 3d tho

but the screen will function as a 2d monitor it doesnt need to run in 3d

02-11-2010, 13:12:27

johanzparku
thank u mate it helped a little i still have 2 decide if i shuld try this one and get hands on 3Dvision later or buy some superior quality LED monitor and continue with 2D gaming because of my glasses and cross-eye

02-11-2010, 14:27:56

Mr. Strawberry
i want this

but 400 is a bit to much

could get another 2 monitors for surround vision and still have 100 left over :/

02-11-2010, 14:35:38

AMDFTW
you could almost get a dell IPS 24' monitor

that would wipe it

02-11-2010, 14:36:15

Mr. Strawberry
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMDFTW View Post

you could almost get a dell IPS 24' monitor

that would wipe it
and that

06-11-2010, 20:29:52

Black
If I'm palying games in 2D mode with 120Hz refresh time, do I have to set Vsynch ON?

Second question - is it ok to play games in 2D mode with refresh 100 Hz? or better use 60 Hz

27-11-2010, 15:39:39

johanzparku
Alrightso i bought this monitor 14 days ago,and it is great piece of lcd....super fast,colors are rich,and for gaming it is a great choice!

and YES!!!and it is pushing 120fps in 2D mod when the Vsync is on,the only thing you need to do is set up the refresh rate in nvidia drivers for 120hz....didn`t try it in 3D mod tho

anyway i`m really happy with this purchase

27-11-2010, 16:28:35

Mr. Strawberry
is it wrong that i want to get one of these just to watch jackass and saw in 3D lol

27-11-2010, 16:29:33

thestepster
yeah saw 3d was utter poo and jackass has to be seen on the cinemas massive screens
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.