Club 3D 7950 Royal King Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

Club 3D HD7950 Royal King Review  

Introduction

We have the potential for a perfect storm here. Back when the HD79x0 cards were released we discovered that although the HD7970 was the powerhouse we expected it to be, the HD7950 was actually the sensible choice. At stock it was average but it took to the overclock so well it was easily a match for the HD7970 without the hefty price-tag. So the chip beating at the heart of the Club3D Royal King is one we already like a lot. 

Club3D themselves came from out of the blue to amaze us with the HD7850 Royal Queen. Of course we were aware of them but it had been so long since we'd reviewed one of their cards that the Royal Queen stunned us with how well it performed, especially being able to be overclocked within an inch of its life.

So that takes us to today's review. We have a company who've recently left us wide-eyed with the quality of their Poker range of cards, bringing us one based upon one of the best overclocking GPUs around.

Is the Club3D HD7950 Royal King a cool as you like BB King or a Stephen King horror show?

Technical Specifications

The Royal King HD7950 comes with a decent overclock when compared to the reference HD7950, but nothing particularly amazing out of the box. Otherwise it's a spitting image of the Royal Queen we reviewed recently, with the Coolstream cooler on an otherwise standard board.

Model

Product Name: Radeon HD 7950 RoyalKing
Product Series: Radeon HD 7000

Interface

Bus Interface: PCI Express 3.0

Chipset

GPU Chipset: Tahiti Pro2
GPU Clock: 880 MHz
GPU Boost clock: 930 MHz
Stream Processors: 1792

Multi-GPU

Multi-GPU: Quad CrossFire Ready

Memory

Memory Size: 3072MB
Memory Interface: 384BIT
Memory Type: GDDR5
Memory Clock: 5000 MHz

Cooling

Cooling Type: Active, CoolStream High Performance Cooling Technology

TDP

Idle: 15W
Idle ZCP mode enabled: 3W
Maximum load: 200W

3D API

DirectX version: 11.1
OpenGL version: 4.2
OpenCL version: 1.2

Dimensions

Slot Width: 2 Slots
Profile: Standard profile
Card Size: 268 x 122 x 36 mm

Weight

Card Weight: 672 grams

Output Configuration

DVI: 1x Dual-Link DVI-I, 1x Single-Link DVI-D
VGA: via Dongle
HDMI: 1x version 1.4a
Mini DisplayPort: 2x version 1.2
HDCP ready: YES
RAMDAC: 400MHz
Maximum Resolution analog: 2048x1536 (via Dual-Link DVI to VGA adapter)
Maximum Resolution Single-Link DVI: 1920x1200
Maximum Resolution Dual-Link DVI: 2560x1600
Maximum Resolution HDMI 1.4a: 4096x3112
Maximum Resolution Mini DP 1.2: 4096x2160
Maximum Outputs Simultaneously: 4

In the package

Club 3D Radeon HD 7950 RoyalKing graphics card
Club 3D CrossFireX bridge interconnect cable
Club 3D knob hanger
Driver & E-Manual CD
Quick install guide

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 Next»

Most Recent Comments

20-11-2012, 10:28:49

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...112913230l.JPG

After the brilliant Royal Queen HD7850, we take a look at the Royal King HD7950. Is it as amazing?

Continue Reading

20-11-2012, 10:50:21

Techie103
Nice review Tom! Really enjoyed the video

20-11-2012, 11:00:24

dugdiamond
yay

20-11-2012, 11:30:17

Deejeta
wished my card would clock that high...

20-11-2012, 12:27:29

Computer crazy
Great review, looks an amazing card, however as you said in the video the red PCB is the deal breaker. But otherwise is a great card to look out for.

Would like to see how the 7970 performs.

20-11-2012, 13:18:29

JMMP
As always a fantastic review Tom! Nothing more to point at this card....that red PCB at this days..... Maybe they Could Also start doing green,blue and brown pcbs for each model, so everyone can be happy with the best color scheme possible on the rig! You said everything!! A very well deserved gold award!

20-11-2012, 13:29:23

dalewakelin
It would match my socket 775 motherboard but it does look like something i may consider in the future, great review!

20-11-2012, 14:22:37

airdeano
deffo an eye-opening review..

airdeano

20-11-2012, 15:28:26

loonie
nice revieuw Tom, wot should give 2 of these cards in xfire... Got 2 old 5870 from club 3d, also running at pretty high speeds... I love club3d!

20-11-2012, 15:30:01

SuB
un-be-flipping-leavable performance from that overclock.. amazing

21-11-2012, 05:06:38

DutchMojo
I have been reading that the latest drivers have been a significant upgrade, could this have given an altered picture of the match up with the 680?
Both AMD and Nvidea's recent driver updates have shown big improvements in performance.

That does not diminish the results, this thing overclocks like mad.
If this is not just a winner of the silicon lottery, this card is on my shortlist for my next upgrade.

21-11-2012, 06:06:07

SieB
Quote:
Originally Posted by DutchMojo View Post
I have been reading that the latest drivers have been a significant upgrade, could this have given an altered picture of the match up with the 680?
Both AMD and Nvidea's recent driver updates have shown big improvements in performance.

That does not diminish the results, this thing overclocks like mad.
If this is not just a winner of the silicon lottery, this card is on my shortlist for my next upgrade.
Tom said in the video that he tried earlier drivers to make sure it wasn't just the new drivers giving it higher scores, although they did but not by much.

Most 7950s are capable of hitting 1200 though, but this one does seem like a good option, apart from the red PCB

21-11-2012, 06:21:16

Master&Puppet
Yea both my 7950s clock roughly 1 for 1 too (1160 @ 1.2v) so that's not a big deal although TTL's sample looks like a good clocker but there are still some weird results going on...

This is a reference pcb isn't it? I don't understand how it could produce such powerful results?

21-11-2012, 06:48:03

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Master&Puppet View Post
Yea both my 7950s clock roughly 1 for 1 too (1160 @ 1.2v) so that's not a big deal although TTL's sample looks like a good clocker but there are still some weird results going on...

This is a reference pcb isn't it? I don't understand how it could produce such powerful results?

Ive said before the ref pcb is more than capable of maxing cores out on air. Most of the mega dandy super dooper overclocking cards are adding things on that are not really needed for 99% of users that will use them on air or water.

This card proves that with a good core on the card the ref design is epic. AMD really did do a cracking job straight out the box on these.

21-11-2012, 11:05:20

Master&Puppet
Good good, thought I might have missed a change with the re-release of the range with the boost clocks or something similar. The 7950 was epic when it came out and still is

21-11-2012, 14:18:59

Skoubo
Nice performance But i would love to se the 7970 ace version's review. If you can get that tom

27-11-2012, 10:15:57

flv1333
I Just needed to sign up to this site and thank you for the great review. This review just made me buy one XD

When its time to upgrade your reviews have always helped thanks!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Now on another note... When I get this card I will OC straight away. Whats the max voltage/Temps you can put though these cards? I never before did an overclock on a GPU.

27-11-2012, 11:06:45

JMMP
Quote:
Originally Posted by flv1333 View Post
I Just needed to sign up to this site and thank you for the great review. This review just made me buy one XD

When its time to upgrade your reviews have always helped thanks!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Now on another note... When I get this card I will OC straight away. Whats the max voltage/Temps you can put though these cards? I never before did an overclock on a GPU.
Nice!!!
Welcome and enjoy the stay!

10-12-2012, 23:38:05

Fresh
Makes me kinda sad I bought a GTX 670... Looks like a great card though!

11-12-2012, 09:47:39

DeadShaun
This one looks like it's going to be my next card, thanks for the great review Tom!

20-12-2012, 07:30:41

erenhardt
Aside from performance of this beast...
Idle power consumption: 15Watt?
My 8800 GTS 320MB has 50watt when iddle.

25-12-2012, 15:12:52

shannowdr
Thanks Tom,

Was trying to make my mind up on a Vapour-x / PowerColor PCS+ and ended up with the Royal King.

27-12-2012, 13:14:00

Hunk41
This or the XFX 7950 DD?

27-12-2012, 15:30:57

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunk41 View Post
This or the XFX 7950 DD?


Why not look at our XFX 7950 review.......

27-12-2012, 18:44:43

Hunk41
I wasn't thinking when i posted it...
I will be going with the Royal King since it overclocks like a beast (i hope mine will) and the red pcb looks good to me

28-12-2012, 04:09:53

Master&Puppet
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunk41 View Post
I wasn't thinking when i posted it...
I will be going with the Royal King since it overclocks like a beast (i hope mine will) and the red pcb looks good to me
I'd have another think before you buy this. Tom won the silicon lottery with his card - chances are you won't. I would recommend that you look around for a different card with a better cooler. Many owners on the forums here aren't keen on this card at all because it is loud.

If you do buy it then I'd suggest that you don't get too excited about the overclocking potential (this is not guaranteed on any card) and you'll probably want to consider playing with the fan profile in MSI AB.

13-06-2013, 18:54:28

Murvelgaist
Running 2 of these in CrossFire and overclock them using MSI Afterburner (ULPS disabled).
1150 MHz core and 1575 MHz memory. Never above 70 degrees.

In benchmarks this setup with a MSI Z77A-G45 and a i7 3770k(lightly oc to 4,2 GHz) result in performance on par with and in some cases even BETTER then a GTX 690. And at half the cost...

22-08-2013, 17:55:31

caspar leo
Mine only clocks to 1125 not very quite either, then again my MB and cpu are nothing special, anywayz am still happy I went with one of the smaller brands just to help the variety. May be 250 shipped was too much as well but hey its not that bad,
I am playing @1440 on the asus PB278Q and was hoping to save cash using the oc head room, crysis still plays on hight around 45 fps and smooth.
Will have to wait till next year to replace this card.
My silicon turned out to be pretty run of the mill in a good way thou but still wish i could take her past 1150 at least.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.