Club 3D HD7970 Royal Ace with Crossfire Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

Club 3D HD7970 Royal Ace with Crossfire Review  

Introduction

It's rare to find a company that come out with a whole range of products that leave us rather slack-jawed in appreciation. One such manufacturer is Club 3D who, with their range of AMD Radeon GPUs, have stunned us with the combination of outstanding overclocking performance, looks and competitive pricing.

Now we've seen their mid-range cards it's time for us to look at their range topping monster to see if it continues their incredible run of awards. Enter the HD7970 Royal Ace. As part of the Club 3D poker range it will surprise nobody to discover that the Ace is the top of the line, which married to the fast Tahiti XT GPU should give us something spectacular.

We're also going to be looking at Crossfire today, to see how the latest Catalyst drivers are performing.

Technical Specifications

With a boost clock at 1100MHz the Royal Ace lives up to its name, and should provide exactly what the 'plug and play' buyer demands. Otherwise it's all fairly standard HD7970 stuff.

Interface

Bus Interface: PCI Express 3.0

Chipset

GPU Chipset: Tahiti XT2
GPU Clock: 1050 MHz
Boost clock: 1100 MHz
Stream Processors: 2048

Multi-GPU

Multi-GPU: Quad CrossFire Ready

Memory

Memory Size: 3072MB
Memory Interface: 384BIT
Memory Type: GDDR5
Memory Clock: 6000 MHz (4x1500MHz)

Cooling

Cooling Type: Active

TDP

Idle: 15W
Idle ZCP mode enabled: 3W
Maximum load: 250W

3D API

DirectX version: 11.1
OpenGL version: 4.2
OpenCL version: 1.2

Dimensions

Slot Width: 2 Slots
Profile: Standard profile
Card Size: 268 x 122 x 36 mm

Weight

Card Weight: 698 grams

Output Configuration

DVI: 1x Dual-Link DVI-I
HDMI: 1x version 1.4a
Mini DisplayPort: 2x version 1.2
HDCP ready: YES
RAMDAC: 400MHz
Maximum Resolution analog: 2048x1536 (via Dual-Link DVI to VGA adapter)
Maximum Resolution Single-Link DVI: 1920x1200
Maximum Resolution Dual-Link DVI: 2560x1600
Maximum Resolution HDMI 1.4a: 4096x3112
Maximum Resolution Mini DP 1.2: 4096x2160
Maximum Outputs Simultaneously: 4

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 Next»

Most Recent Comments

06-03-2013, 08:21:49

tinytomlogan
Today we're taking a look at the top of the line Club 3D card, the HD7970 Royal Ace. Does it continue their mighty performance?

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...090915682l.JPG


Continue Reading

06-03-2013, 09:28:50

F-alienware
Been waiting for this. Nice review and a solid card. Still sticking with Nvidia though

06-03-2013, 15:40:26

Mgutierrez33
Wow... I really need to stop reading reviews of Club3d products, just makes me wish even moreso that this card was (easily) gotten in the states... I'd pay the premium for it, that's for true!

06-03-2013, 16:03:54

FTR.4500MHz
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mgutierrez33 View Post
Wow... I really need to stop reading reviews of Club3d products, just makes me wish even moreso that this card was (easily) gotten in the states... I'd pay the premium for it, that's for true!
Just get a Powercolor. VTX3D, Powercolor and Club 3D are the same company.

06-03-2013, 16:15:51

Greenback
you know I Like your reviews but my poor 6870 is now gone sulking in the corner feeling really left behind, I'd be lucky if it could get 1000 in that fire strike extreme. Thats a really nice card if only I could afford something like that

06-03-2013, 16:49:28

Mgutierrez33
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTR.4500MHz View Post
Just get a Powercolor. VTX3D, Powercolor and Club 3D are the same company.
huh... interdasting... I'll have to give 'em a look then!

06-03-2013, 18:07:48

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mgutierrez33 View Post
huh... interdasting... I'll have to give 'em a look then!
I wouldn't touch any of them with a barge pole.

Cheap tacky PCBs and crap warranties.

Not sure on Club 3D but VTX are pretty dire.

07-03-2013, 16:17:36

ugiboy
Hey Guys, I have got one of these coming from Germany on Monday. Going to pair it with the MSI lightning BE i purchased off here a couple of weeks ago. Will post 3D Mark & Vantage scores once I get them up & running.

09-03-2013, 15:40:02

locky
Tom, I have a fix for the crossfire issue with 3dmark firestrike if you are interested?

I get near enough 100% scaling with it

09-03-2013, 15:49:15

Ghost_X
I keep asking but could you do a liquid cooled 7970 overclocking guide. Would love to know how to do it before I start trying to go over the 1125MHz barrier on my 7970.

09-03-2013, 16:53:28

locky
I could supply you with a bios and I will create the BAT file so you can't mess it up to remove the limits, or you can use the latest MSI afterburner beta which has it built in.

09-03-2013, 17:01:33

Ghost_X
Quote:
Originally Posted by locky View Post
I could supply you with a bios and I will create the BAT file so you can't mess it up to remove the limits, or you can use the latest MSI afterburner beta which has it built in.
I use sapphire trixx because it comes unlocked.

09-03-2013, 17:32:59

ugiboy
Locky, Will you be sharing this fix on the forum as i for one would like to know please?

09-03-2013, 17:50:50

locky
Use 13.2 beta 6 (not required if you don't like beta)

open CCC and create a profile for 3dmark and set the crossfire mode to AFR. save.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.