Gainward GTX Titan

Resident Evil 5 - DX9

Gainward GTX Titan

Resident Evil 5 - DX9

The gentler of the two APIs for Resident Evil 5 is eaten by the Titan. The highest minimum frame-rate we've seen, as well as out performing all the dual-card offerings.

 

 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 Next»

Most Recent Comments

09-03-2013, 04:42:22

tinytomlogan
Freed from the sequential numbering convention, it's time to take a look at the GTX Titan, the latest and possibly greatest nVidia GPU.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...112032400l.JPG

Continue Reading

09-03-2013, 05:20:44

Mysterae
Nice read, nice card, poor price! The future looks promising for future gpus though.

09-03-2013, 05:35:55

Greenback
great card, but the price when looking at 3x7870 or 2x7970 and new ssd, even a pretty good system for that price is the put off

09-03-2013, 05:57:34

AverageNinja
Great review! I love the looks of the Titan, but it's waaay to overpriced

09-03-2013, 07:39:56

Destro521
Just a quick question. with the 3D Mark graph is that the combined results or gpu results?

09-03-2013, 07:57:42

Nogginthenog
Interesting.

I know it would be unbalanced in terms of CPU/GPU , but if you aren't interested in benchmarking a 3770k with a h100i and this in a betfenix prodigy is perhaps the ultimate single screen gaming rig , small, cool , quiet.

For me thats probably the perfect system.

09-03-2013, 07:59:35

VonBlade
It's the combined result, like all of our 3D Mark scores.

09-03-2013, 09:07:15

Destro521
ok thanks for the clarification

09-03-2013, 09:11:46

Etlar
Tom, that card took some time get naked :P
- But what a video to see, 1 hour and 24 mins, a good break after 10 hours of work

09-03-2013, 12:04:09

SeekaX
you, sir, said the f word at least twice in this review while i get a slap in the neck when i say it on the forums. i feel disadvantaged!
/edit
4 times! not counting the ones in crysis 3

09-03-2013, 13:51:55

SPS
Epic review as always

And if you could send me back the Titan as soon as, that would be great

09-03-2013, 15:54:07

Ghost_X
I was reading a youtube comment. Yes I know...

But it was very interesting. It compared the titan to a quadro gpu. The titan is apparently a very good deal for applications where you need a load of ram and cuda cores. This would make sense.

So should this be branded as an entry level quadro card?

I mean if you look at the pricing of a quadro card with 6GB of ram Clicky Then having triple SLI titans, (or even a single titan might be enough,) seems like a better deal.

09-03-2013, 16:47:17

Cru
great review as always, love your long videos
so much better than the 10 minutes stuff so certain people upload

09-03-2013, 17:09:11

SeekaX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cru3L139 View Post
great review as always, love your long videos
so much better than the 10 minutes stuff so certain people upload
unboxings? don't even care.

09-03-2013, 17:54:47

yassarikhan786
Really enjoyed sitting through the video. You can't get more detailed than that.

09-03-2013, 18:08:02

Resident
Well that was a loooong video. My YT broke playing it. The progress bar appeared at 47mins and stopped despite the video continuing to the end

However, and I hate to be the fuddy-duddy, the language, does come across as a little bit unprofessional and I think some companies that supply you with goodies may start to have an issue with it if it becomes regular.

Plus you have to think that you may be getting younger viewers, who probably know more swear words than us adults however parents walking past their young kids computer and hearing it might take offence.

Personally, doesn't really bother me but devil's advocate and all that.

Edit:

Just to add though. great card but I wish nVidia would start and listen to consumers regarding LED lighting and use RGB. I understand that yes green is representative of the company but for those that take the time in choosing a colour scheme for their rig it's annoying that one component can't match in.

09-03-2013, 18:09:56

Excalabur50
Great review as always, such a great looking card and great performer if I could afford it I'd have one in my rig in a heart beat.

10-03-2013, 09:02:58

FTLN
Nicely done Tom, as always definately worth the wait...

Keep them coming..................

10-03-2013, 10:08:15

2Dcypher
So Tinytomlogan, our Guv. Got his mitts on the TITAN 6GB GPU the kool accommodating staff too hopefully.
After the feature film to show off the titan, 1 hour 26mins. if I remember correctly indeed was showing great stuff as in features and the power engineered into just one nVidia card, well so far it's unrivaled.
This leaves me (a lot) diss-heartened as I bought the nVidia EVGA version of the GTX690, as I only just bought it weeks before the titan card came out/even knew about it.
Where I'm going with this is it was a smart marketing play by nVidia
but my next GPU purchase will be a good 2 ATI's (FirePro's) or a top of the range Quadro (which I will be sure to check its the only one for a while to come/industry-wise!).
Otherwise the money grabbing gits at nVidia will keep making these kind of cards for gaming and might end up charging £2000+ for one, simply because they're being bought (great cards, credit to them) ATI will catch up and show no mercy, win in the battle for the best gaming card I'll bet money on that!

But paying out that kind of money for a graphics card? Yes it's awesome, yes TTL got in the first best review, but that kind of cash, it can field a whole system if you buy smart, simple.

10-03-2013, 10:09:58

SeekaX
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Dcypher View Post
So Tinytomlogan, our Guv. Got his mitts on the TITAN 6GB GPU the kool accommodating staff too hopefully.
After the feature film to show off the titan, 1 hour 26mins. if I remember correctly indeed was showing great stuff as in features and the power engineered into just one nVidia card, well so far it's unrivaled.
This leaves me (a lot) diss-heartened as I bought the nVidia EVGA version of the GTX690, as I only just bought it weeks before the titan card came out/even knew about it.
Where I'm going with this is it was a smart marketing play by nVidia
but my next GPU purchase will be a good 2 ATI's (FirePro's) or a top of the range Quadro (which I will be sure to check its the only one for a while to come/industry-wise!).
Otherwise the money grabbing gits at nVidia will keep making these kind of cards for gaming and might end up charging £2000+ for one, simply because they're being bought (great cards, credit to them) ATI will catch up and show no mercy, win in the battle for the best gaming card I'll bet money on that!

But paying out that kind of money for a graphics card? Yes it's awesome, yes TTL got in the first best review, but that kind of cash, it can fiel
d a whole system if you buy smart, simples.

something is messed up here

10-03-2013, 10:43:20

2Dcypher
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeekaX View Post
something is messed up here
1 word, what?

10-03-2013, 10:46:38

F-alienware
Dear Nvidia.

It's perfectly OK to rebadge a failed Tesla card and ask £1000 for it.

All our love,

Your faithful (and rather stupid) audience.

10-03-2013, 10:48:50

SeekaX
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Dcypher View Post
1 word, what?
ahh, you fixed that last part which wasn't coloured, even though colouring the text is quite useless.

10-03-2013, 14:27:21

saan koneri
TTL is rightfully excited to test GeForce GTX Titan.

http://i45.tinypic.com/2f0da89.jpg

10-03-2013, 16:20:09

2Dcypher
Is it a coincidence or is that avatar a still frame of Tom there?? lol
Evin funny! Funny cheeky grin time everybody

10-03-2013, 16:45:52

MrWizard
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Dcypher View Post
1 word, what?
At first i scrolled right past his book (er a ) post but then silly me because of your comment i scrolled back up and read it.

I feal dummer for doing so

10-03-2013, 16:53:39

saan koneri
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Dcypher View Post
Is it a coincidence or is that avatar a still frame of Tom there?? lol
Evin funny! Funny cheeky grin time everybody
I paused Tom's Titan video at 18 seconds to let it buffer and then i saw that face

10-03-2013, 17:17:01

2Dcypher
He looks so happy! Was that the TITAN or... Hang on, where are those hands?

11-03-2013, 16:58:20

SolarNova
The Titan is indeed a tasty looking and performing card.

I built my current rig in Nov last year with the plan of upgrading the GPU to 1 or 2 780's or what ever the top performing next gen/architecture card was. I even planned for stupid prices of about 35% more the the MOST expensive single core cards out at the time. That worked out at about £650. So if it cost £650 ..1 card, if it cost £400 i would push to 2 cards. I knew Nvidia would be expensive so why not plan ahead.

But damn ..Nvidia really pulled a number on us, the cheapest u can find these cards is £830 ....'ridiculous' just doesnt quiet mean enough in this case lol.

Pitty really, the Titan wont get the sales it deserves imo, even those with LGA 2011 rigs probably wont stomach spending that much on a single core card..i know i wont.

I for one will now have to wait for the 780 which will likely be within the price range i originaly planed on..it just wont be the 'flagship' model i wanted .. owell such is life. I deffinatly need a upgrade this year so its gunna have to be Nvidia since AMD wont be releasing anyting till next year...i wanna play Crysis 3 but im holding off becouse i just know my 560ti will get a proper thrashing trying to play it otherwise :P

Anyway nice review

11-03-2013, 17:27:50

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by SolarNova View Post
Pitty really, the Titan wont get the sales it deserves imo, even those with LGA 2011 rigs probably wont stomach spending that much on a single core card..i know i wont.
It will most certainly get the sales it deserves. Stupid price, stupid people will pay it. Wallet voting FTW.

I wouldn't mind but you can set up a SLI arrangement for around £500 and beat it easily.

11-03-2013, 18:05:36

CPMFW
really nice review as usual
the price tag is massive but the card just looks stunning and the performence is proper aswell

11-03-2013, 19:17:25

Solanos
What i would like to see as an addition to this long review is a power consumption benchmark. I mean a single core card with a TDP of 250Watts must be much lower than 2 Crossfire/SLI overclocked cards right? So performance wise we have the fastest single core card that costs a ton of money, hmmm I think I can live with an overclocked GTX670 that runs Crysis 3 @ 1080p maxed out @30-45 FPS.

11-03-2013, 23:26:33

2Dcypher
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solanos View Post
What i would like to see as an addition to this long review is a power consumption benchmark. I mean a single core card with a TDP of 250Watts must be much lower than 2 Crossfire/SLI overclocked cards right? So performance wise we have the fastest single core card that costs a ton of money, hmmm I think I can live with an overclocked GTX670 that runs Crysis 3 @ 1080p maxed out @30-45 FPS.
Think back, TTL does and did, with the voltage, I mean the math is sound, the titan, he would have liked to see 1 more female input for the 8 pin connector that looks as if its missing but maybe nVidia welded, had intention to put one in but it would consume an amount of electricity that nobody would like anyway minus the price-tag, on the subject of 2 x TITANS I think Tom got that part right, even 1.
Times like this I miss 'Doom', no I'm happy enough with a rig build in process no titan for moi just the very cool GeForce GTX690, takes up little energy, not watercooling it as the body is just so cool, and chuck on the backplate from EVGA.

12-03-2013, 17:15:59

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
Dear Nvidia.

It's perfectly OK to rebadge a failed Tesla card and ask £1000 for it.

All our love,

Your faithful (and rather stupid) audience.
People bought the 448 why not.....

13-03-2013, 11:09:34

Blackwhite
Is 1.2v safe for Titan.

13-03-2013, 11:44:20

2Dcypher
Maybe I'm being ignorant but just why would you overclock the most powerful GPU on the market to date?

13-03-2013, 11:53:58

Feronix
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Dcypher View Post
Maybe I'm being ignorant but just why would you overclock the most powerful GPU on the market to date?
To make it even more powerful

13-03-2013, 11:54:07

SolarNova
Becouse it still has untapped potential and to be blunt, it may be the most powerfull single GPU card available for gaming ..but its still not powerfull enough when u concider what it can manage in the most demanding games and specialy its price.

13-03-2013, 12:02:03

Blackwhite
I want overclock it for benchmarks.

BTW Crysis 3 with everything max out and Motion Blure High killing this card
So is it safe, or not ?

13-03-2013, 12:47:48

Snortan
Speaking of overclocking has anyone tried to overclock their monitor?

13-03-2013, 13:28:19

Blackwhite
not yet, but I have 120Hz so I don't need more :P
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.