HIS HD6990 Eyefinity 5760x1080 Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

HIS HD6990 Eyefinity Review

Introduction

We have something a little special for you today.

With the recent influx of exceptionally high-end GPUs such as the HIS HD6990 on test today, and the GTX590 it's clear that even a 1920x1200 single screen really isn't doing justice to the cards and their abilities.

What we really needed was a triple screen setup to push them hard and test them in the way they're designed.

Thankfully, courtesy of Iiyama, we now have three screens to run these cards at a massive 5760x1080 resolution, which is what we're doing today for the HIS HD6990, and over the coming weeks we'll go back and look at the other high-end solutions and see how they fare.

It's a monster of a review that's taken an age to put together, so without further ado let's crack on.

Technical Specifications

The HIS Digital HD6990 is a reference style card running at the standard 830 MHz. A whopping 4GB of GDDR5 ensures that even in Eyefinity mode the card shouldn't run out of frame buffer.

Product Code H699F4G4M
EAN Code 4895139005387
Cooler Fan
GPU 6990
Core Clock 830 MHz
Memory Clock
5000 MHz
Memory Size 4096 MB
Memory Type GDDR5
Memory Interface 256 bit
Interface PCI Express x16 (PCI Express 2.1)
Card Dimension 12.8 x 4.2 x 32 cm cm (HxWxD)
Box Dimension 37.8 x 9.45 x 15.25 cm cm (HxWxD)
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next»

Most Recent Comments

03-06-2011, 05:31:05

tinytomlogan
Today we're taking a look at the HD6990 for HIS Digital, and it's the first time we're testing Eyefinity too.



Continue Reading

03-06-2011, 05:36:37

SG12004
nice Review tom as always

03-06-2011, 06:10:00

dugdiamond
i love iiyama HDLEDs

03-06-2011, 07:07:58

sheroo
Tom, have a look at a program called widescreen fixer. It actually fixes the rubbish aspect ratio with black ops, and makes the game totally playable.

In the latest CCC you can set up presets. I have 2 presets 1*5760*1080 & 3*1920*1080. I have these assigned to keyboard shortcuts, so by hitting one key you can change your resolution between "work" mode & "play" mode.

03-06-2011, 07:46:05

Mr. Strawberry
some of the games i was rather disapointed with tbh

the only game i would call 100% in eyefinity is Metro 2033, even crysis warhead wasnt that good, on the 2 outer screens it was zoomed in so if you saw someone they looked right next to you but when you turn to face him he would be 50+ metres away.

where as metro was just perfect all the extra desktop space and it still looked just as detailed

03-06-2011, 07:51:39

Jerome
v cool. That HD resolution is a good standard today. Does the Nvidia 590 not support tripple 1920x1080p etc resolution i heard on motherboards.org, it goes to 720p or similar?

ye ok excuse the Nvidia material please and it is 4800x900 for the 590 here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hO0rPAjPAX4

thanks

03-06-2011, 10:23:00

SieB
BRB, robbing a bank for the money I need to buy 3 monitors and a 6990

03-06-2011, 10:30:18

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerome View Post

v cool. That HD resolution is a good standard today. Does the Nvidia 590 not support tripple 1920x1080p etc resolution i heard on motherboards.org, it goes to 720p or similar?
lol 720p is tiny

03-06-2011, 10:54:19

jonowee
Thou shall not click play on any motherboard.org videos, I watch one for the first time in a month last night and my stomach turned ... not again for a while.

03-06-2011, 20:05:06

Chuby123
They need to change the reference cooler to maybe a asus direct cu top maybe or just water cool the thing. The card gets hot and the fan doesn't do it justice, well with 2 gpu's and 1 fan the fan is having to work so hard. Well the best i have seen is some one using a case fan on top of the fan to cool it down but great card prefer to get the gtx 590 or 2 hd6970 in crossfire. -Thanks

03-06-2011, 20:07:40

Chuby123
Quote:
Originally Posted by SieB View Post

BRB, robbing a bank for the money I need to buy 3 monitors and a 6990
YES can i borrow some of the money i cant afford this shit !

04-06-2011, 13:29:20

badtaylorx
oh no....looks like i may need to lite a smoke and clean off my keyboard after this!!!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.