nVidia GTX650Ti Boost Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

nVidia GTX650Ti Boost Review  

Introduction

We're all big fans of technology, and love the latest and greatest hardware. It's why we're all here after all. We love bringing you the limits of what is possible, and you like to look at gigantic benchmark numbers and dream of the day when a lottery win will allow you to run a Quad-SLI Titan setup. To be honest, so do we.

However, times are hard and although we can all dream, we have to accept the reality that many of us are gaming on meagre budgets. Thankfully the two big manufacturers, nVidia and AMD, realise that whilst a Titan or HD7990 is great for the headline grabbing, the real heart of their business comes from producing cards that defy expectations by producing high quality images at playable frame-rates for an affordable price.

Equally, as we've often said here at OC3D, when you're on a tight budget you can't afford to break what little you have, so most people will go for the fastest clock speed within their price range. Enter the GTX650Ti Boost, a balls-to-the-wall version of the GTX650Ti.

Technical Specifications

With the forthcoming HD7790, the timing of the GTX650Ti Boost is impeccable. However, the nVidia literature aims it squarely at the HD7850, a card we rate highly here. That's a big target to go for, so let's find out if this latest affordable GeForce card can back up that claim.

nVidia GTX650Ti Boost Review  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 Next»

Most Recent Comments

26-03-2013, 07:59:40

tinytomlogan
Stepping away from the premium models, we take a look at the latest mass-market GPU from nVidia.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...113709924l.jpg


Continue Reading

26-03-2013, 09:29:52

F-alienware
Sweet little card. It's about time Nvidia did something about the 7850.

Interesting to see it has a SLI finger too, would love to see these tested in SLI.

Thanks for the review Tom.

Edit. Just had a look around and this card is being soooo well received.

Awards everywhere, left right and center.

I'm glad tbh. It's very rare for Nvidia to offer any value with low end cards. They're usually stupid little woefully underpowered wastes of space.

26-03-2013, 11:55:57

Ulijin
Yay! A TTL video review. I was having withdrawal symptoms ;-)

Great review as always!
Thanks,
Ulijin.

26-03-2013, 19:07:09

jake93s
my mate is wanting a new pc for cheap, this gpu should be just right for him. thanks for the great review

26-03-2013, 20:36:09

NeverBackDown
The 7790 is faster, been looking around and it wins more than 75% of the time for cheaper.

Hopefully when tom reviews the 7790 we can see more benchmarks to prove other websites right or wrong.

27-03-2013, 03:07:38

Ady6UK
I find it hard to justify this card unless your on a really tight budget and don't want to spend the extra on a GTX 660 which can be had for 20 more if you shop around. Ebuyer are selling a KFA2 GTX 660 for 149 with free delivery at the moment which would put me off. The pricing is too close to the GTX 660 for my liking. Just my opinion though.
Nice review though Tom

27-03-2013, 07:07:19

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
The 7790 is faster, been looking around and it wins more than 75% of the time for cheaper.

Hopefully when tom reviews the 7790 we can see more benchmarks to prove other websites right or wrong.

Faster? ROFL the 7790 is gash.

27-03-2013, 08:21:28

F-alienware
Yeah no idea where you read that man. The boost is quicker than the 7850 let alone the 7790.

27-03-2013, 11:21:13

david cassar
the 7790 is definitely not faster than the gtx 650 ti boost.
The boost has about the same performance as a hd 7850

27-03-2013, 12:13:44

CRaul87
I'd love to see some Guild Wars 2 benchmarks if possible on this and any other GPU or CPU you guys review in the future.

27-03-2013, 12:39:56

seumasbeathan
Good card, I still think the 7850 is a better deal though

27-03-2013, 12:46:51

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by seumasbeathan View Post
Good card, I still think the 7850 is a better deal though
7850 is being discontinued because of the 7790.....

27-03-2013, 12:50:40

seumasbeathan
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
7850 is being discontinued because of the 7790.....
Really? :O I always thought the 7850 was great, especially for the value, the 7790 on the other hand looks wank

27-03-2013, 13:17:49

AverageNinja
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
7850 is being discontinued because of the 7790.....
Wait. What?
I was planning on getting one of these in a few weeks as my system is as good as dead. I hope I can stretch to a 7870 then. Or the 650 Ti boost of course
I hope my parents will lend me some money though, otherwise I'm pretty much f...ed with homework and such.

27-03-2013, 13:20:29

seumasbeathan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AverageNinja View Post
Wait. What?
I was planning on getting one of these in a few weeks as my system is as good as dead. I hope I can stretch to a 7870 then. Or the 650 Ti boost of course
I hope my parents will lend me some money though, otherwise I'm pretty much f...ed with homework and such.
If you're gonna stretch, get the 7870 Tahiti LE, cheaper than a 7870 somehow but better :L

27-03-2013, 13:37:56

AverageNinja
Quote:
Originally Posted by seumasbeathan View Post
If you're gonna stretch, get the 7870 Tahiti LE, cheaper than a 7870 somehow but better :L
They don't seem to be available in the Netherlands atm :/
EDIT: found the "Joker XT". I guess that's a Tahiti LE. It's €10 more than the 7870 here, but hey, what's €10 (8,45)? (Please don't say "2kgs of shawarma" )

27-03-2013, 13:43:44

F-alienware
650ti boost is an exceptional card IMO.

You get all of the speed of the 7850 yet much better drivers. Oh and Physx etc.

27-03-2013, 14:03:09

NeverBackDown
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Faster? ROFL the 7790 is gash.
Never said i thought it was faster, i said from websites i have looked at it was faster and that you should prove them wrong. Learn to read Tom.

But i do agree that compared to the boost card it does not stand a chance

27-03-2013, 17:08:20

Meaker
Yeah but once you clock the 7850 it's going to scream ahead.....

27-03-2013, 18:10:40

NeverBackDown
What if you clock the boost too? Then what? lol

27-03-2013, 18:41:00

Meaker
NVidia already clocked it so it has WAY less headroom, the 7850 practically ships underclocked.

27-03-2013, 20:49:08

NeverBackDown
Well it is only about a 950mhz clock and boost to 1033mhz. Not that high of a clock and can probably hit 1250mhz. 7850 can probably hit them same as well.

31-03-2013, 20:26:08

Greenback
As usual a nice review
looking around I found a vtx3d 7870 black edition for 149 which isn't bad, but I read the fans are noisy
And tom even with AA turned down my poor old 6870 doesn't do tomb raider at 1080p above high setting if I want more then 30fps, thought it would do me longer then 2 1/2 years.

31-03-2013, 20:33:23

NeverBackDown
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greenback View Post
As usual a nice review
looking around I found a vtx3d 7870 black edition for 149 which isn't bad, but I read the fans are noisy
And tom even with AA turned down my poor old 6870 doesn't do tomb raider at 1080p above high setting if I want more then 30fps, thought it would do me longer then 2 1/2 years.
If you do not mind temps much then you could keep the fans down more to a suitable level for you?

31-03-2013, 20:44:16

Greenback
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeverBackDown View Post
If you do not mind temps much then you could keep the fans down more to a suitable level for you?
True but not sure how much noise I could put up with these days since I went to watercooling my pc is running with 8 AP-15's at 25% and i'm not sure if I can get a block for Tahiti.

31-03-2013, 20:47:30

NeverBackDown
Gotta check then!

02-04-2013, 01:59:44

j.virtanen
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.