Powercolor HD6970 PCS + Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

Powercolor HD6970 PCS + Review

Introduction

PowerColor have a long history of producing two main variants of the standard cards. The medium to high-end one is called the PCS, and the absolute banzai one is the PCS+.

Today we're taking a look at the PCS+ version of the current range-topping Radeon HD6970. This not only comes with an enormous overclock out of the factory but also a custom cooler as well to ensure everything is keep cool and quiet.

As there is a video review as well, without further ado let's get down to it.

Technical Specifications

Straight away you can see the major difference with the PCS+ is the factory overclock up to a whopping 940MHz. Considering the best manual overclock we've managed to achieve on a 6970 is 950MHz, to see 940MHz out of the box is staggering and something PowerColor should be praised highly for.

Graphics EngineRADEON HD6970
Video Memory2GB GDDR5
Engine Clock940MHz
Memory Clock1425MHz (5.7Gbps)
Memory Interface256bit
DirectX® Support11
Bus StandardPCIE 2.1
Standard Display ConnectorsDL-DVI-I/SL-DVI-D/HDMI/2x mini DisplayPort
OpenGLSupport
CrossFireX™ TechnologySupport
ATI Stream TechnologySupport
ATI Eyefinity TechnologySupport
VGA OutputVia Adapter
DVI OutputDL-DVI-I/ SL-DVI-D
DisplayPortOn Board
HDMIOn Board
HDCP SupportSupport
VGA2048x1536
DVI2560x1600
DisplayPort2560x1600
HDMI1920x1200
Board Dimensions275mmx111.2mmx38mm
Minimum System Power requirement (W)550W
Extension Power ConnectorOne 6-Pin and One 8-Pin

 

Let's take a look at the card.  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-02-2011, 05:56:30

tinytomlogan
The PCS+ cards from Powercolor have always been a mighty fine performer. Is their 6970 version as potent?



Continue Reading

07-02-2011, 06:14:57

Zeals
Love the Powercolor red PCB, it's a nice deep proper red that suits an ATi/AMD build extremely well.

07-02-2011, 06:19:15

tinytomlogan
Its not the card, its the new ATI drivers.

07-02-2011, 06:20:19

Zeals
Mental note don't skip to graphs xD

07-02-2011, 07:49:54

adicool96
Nice curvy heatpipes now thats one card i would like to have.

07-02-2011, 08:58:27

chaotic_russ
watched the video the otherday , been waiting for the writen review

07-02-2011, 09:10:56

SieB
I watched the vid and was quite surprised, Powercolor are one of the last brands I think of when buying a graphics card Asus and MSI being the first but they have done a good job of the 6970. It might not be the bedt looking card (in my opinion) but it's the best performance wise.

07-02-2011, 14:28:59

Rastalovich
The cooler is the same as the one Palit used on their 285 cards, red pcb too, (I'm trying to kill one atm) except I wouldn't swear the copper's the same thickness. Shrouds are shrouds.

I've got to take a look at these drivers, there has to be a reason for what they've done.

07-02-2011, 14:45:41

harv
Great vid tom gd to see you liking a ati again, just as ive been talked into buying a ati on here so where do i sign cant find 1 any where

08-02-2011, 06:31:44

silenthill
Add another 120 and get two GTX 560 TI & run them in SLI and this whole review will be blown to bits, Seriously AMD has got to do something about the prices of 6970 &6950 because OC UK are selling the ASUS 480 GTX for 219 & SCAN have just put it out for 208 so a word of advice to AMDs marketing department you need to sit-down and rethink your pricing strategy because the time of stupid impulse buyers is over everybody these days has become specialist in buying computer components and read loads of reviews before buying anything, the world has changed and we now have very smart customers, believe me thats the message Ive been trying to but in my dinosaur boss head for months now but without any results unfortunately.

10-02-2011, 23:15:10

south side sammy
I have to ask since this review is different from what I've seen elsewhere. The FarCry2 benchmarks using the GTX560, they seem very low in comparison to others I've seen. Way low as a matter of fact. Are they correct or is this a misprint?
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.