Zotac GTX660Ti AMP! Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

Zotac GTX660Ti AMP! Review  

Introduction

The second of our two-for-one GTX660Ti reviews is the Zotac AMP! edition.

Regular readers will know that the AMP! Editions usually come with a good factory overclock and Zotac's custom cooler, and the GTX660Ti AMP! Edition is no exception.

If you've come straight here and skipped the Windforce review then it's worth pointing out that because of the identical GPU clocks we're just seeing how the Zotac performs when overclocked. The 'out of the box' results were so similar between the two cards that it is pointless to clutter up the graphs with repeated results.

So enough preamble, does the Zotac manage to make better use of the overclock than the Gigabyte did? 

Technical Specifications

Despite being a very different brand with a different cooler, the Zotac AMP! has an identical clockspeed to the Windforce, both on the Base clock and the Boost clock.

However, Zotac have greatly increased the Memory clockspeed, up from 6008 MHz effective to 6608 MHz effective. Hopefully this extra boost will overcome some of the limitations of the GTX660Ti we've seen thus far.

Graphics Clusters4
SMXs7
CUDA Cores1344
Texture Units112
ROPs24
Base Clock1033 MHz
Boost Clock1111 MHz
Memory Clock6608 MHz
L2 Size384KB
Total Memory 2048MB GDDR5
Memory Interface192-bit
Memory Bandwidth144.2GB/s
Fabrication Process28nm
Transistor Count3.54 Billion
Connectors2 Dual-Link DVI
1 HDMI
1 DisplayPort
Form FactorDual Slot
Power Input2x 6-pin PCIe
TDP150W
Thermal Limit 98°C

 

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-08-2012, 09:06:23

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...130755915l.JPG


The second of our reviews of the new GTX660Ti is courtesy of Zotac, and their AMP! model.

Continue Reading

16-08-2012, 09:14:07

PEXON
Not very impressive is it really? In the big hitters it fails to deliver any good price/performance, didn't live up to the hype/ 560Ti.

16-08-2012, 09:19:11

SieB
Meh

7970=680>670>7950>660ti>7870>7850

^^ IMOH

Also price difference between the 660ti and 670 is next to nothing, no reason not to save a few extra up and go for the 670 or save some money and grab a 7950.

16-08-2012, 09:21:03

PEXON
I'd say the 7870 is a better card for the price

16-08-2012, 09:25:10

SieB
Yeah, definitely price wise, just lacks performance compared to the 660ti but definietly better value for money.

16-08-2012, 10:20:57

Fractal
See I prefer the design over the Gigabyte one, Seriously, the Gigabyte one looks horrific. This one I think looks a hell of a lot better. The price really needs to drop to like 220 to make this worthwhile buying. Heck at the price it's at now I'd have to agree and get a GTX 670.

16-08-2012, 13:24:15

spixel
Why does the 660 score so much lower than the 580 in your heaven test yet all other reviews show it comfortably beating it.

You also didn't say what tesselation? disabled/normal/extreme ?

16-08-2012, 13:27:27

Tortuga
Hmm, I'm glad I went ahead and ordered the Double D Black 7950, got a killer deal on it. I was honestly hoping this card would come in at a cheaper price point for some sli action. I don't feel like this filled the slot that the great 560ti did.

16-08-2012, 13:38:01

spixel
Also the far cry 2 charts, you have the 670 scoring almost double the fps as a 680

20-08-2012, 08:32:41

joesaiditstrue
the BF3 max settings has an odd result in the graph

OC 7950 smokes the OC 7970? wtf?

20-08-2012, 15:16:54

Sgt.Bilko
Absolutely agree with you Tom. Too many cards with only minor differences and way too pricey. IMHO since the GTX500 series of cards, prices have been too high, artificially so.
I bought a GTX570 and it cost 240 then, it still costs 220 now!
The GTX670 came in upwards of 350 and they are still over 300.
The sweet spot for these cards I believe is around 250 at launch.
Then a little while later, when prices begin to fall, the special editions come around and they can charge a bit more.
You mentioned the importance of aesthetics in your review Tom. On that note I would bring your attention to your graphs. I find them difficult to use. I'd like to see the reviewed card in a different colour to make it stand out and maybe group the cards according to type and have the best at the top. And yes I have to agree, some of the results did seem a bit odd, the reference GTX670 in BF3 beating the MSI for example.
That aside, a very good and Prof review as always.
Keep up the good work.

28-08-2012, 02:46:38

Kyle
should i get this one or the EVGA one?

29-08-2012, 13:06:26

Ironsoldier
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle View Post
should i get this one or the EVGA one?

Which EVGA one? normal Ti, Ti SC or Ti FTW?


I must say the orange fans on this ones do look good.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.