Ducky Channel DK9008 Shine 2 Keyboard Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

Ducky Channel DK9008 Shine 2 Keyboard Review 

Introduction

Ducky Channel are, although slightly strangely named for those of us who naturally speak English, a company that have only been around for a few years and put all their focus into high-quality mechanical keyboards. Whereas a lot of peripheral manufacturers have a whole range of products enabling users to stick to a single brand, Ducky Channel just make hardcore keyboards stuffed full of the very best switches.

From their large range we are taking a look at the DK9008 Shine 2. This is available in a range of lighting colours; Blue, Red, Green, Yellow, White or Pink. Although it would make a nice change to look at one of the more unlikely chromatic options, we have the blue model on hand. Unquestionably this is likely to be the biggest selling of the six colours available, such is the overwhelming prevalence of blue lighting.

Technical Specifications

Rather than focus upon a myriad of macro options, the customisation for the Shine 2 comes in the lighting department which has more options than we can recall ever seeing before. So does, as the Ducky Channel website claims, the Shine 2 enable us to "enjoy the functions and texture as the nobles do"? Let's find out.

  • Switch Type: Cherry MX series
  • Supporting Interface: USB
  • Supporting Keys:6-Key Rollover or N-Key Rollover
  • Print:Double layer laser, engraved, UV-coated keycaps
  • Levels Of Brightness:6 levels
  • Lighting Modes:Full Backlit, 60% Backlit & Selected Keys Backlit(with 2 Configurable Profiles)
  • Lighting Effects: Pulsing, Reactive & Scrolling text marquee
  • Multimedia Keys:7 keys
  • Adjustable LED brightness modes:60%、Full Backlit、Reactive、Selected Keys Backlit
  • Locked LED brightness modes:Pulsing、Scrolling text marquee
«Prev 1 2 3 4 Next»

Most Recent Comments

29-10-2012, 07:31:00

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...095814642l.JPG

Today we're taking a look at a high-end mechanical keyboard from Ducky Channel, the Shine 2.


Continue Reading

29-10-2012, 08:46:46

TuNk77
I wish Ducky Shine keyboards where available in my country.

But, I see that this particular keyboard is available for $146 in the US, witch is a bit unfair, when compared to the European prices.

29-10-2012, 08:48:32

fredrikfh
I really don't get the whole mechanical keyboard pricing. Some of them are good and cheap, others are good and expensive. Does really brand and shape matter that much?

I still use a Logitech Illuminated keyboard, which btw. is awezumz.

29-10-2012, 08:55:09

SPS
Great lighting features but apart from that I don't see why you wouldn't just pick up the K90 which is much reasonably priced and features the all-powerful volume scroller (which I couldn't live without now).

29-10-2012, 09:23:07

VonBlade
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredrikfh View Post
I really don't get the whole mechanical keyboard pricing. Some of them are good and cheap, others are good and expensive. Does really brand and shape matter that much?

I still use a Logitech Illuminated keyboard, which btw. is awezumz.
Like anything I think it's to do with volume. Those Cherry switches aren't cheap, and so if you are a low-volume manufacturer then you can't get the same wholesale prices, so the price goes up.

It's also dependant upon other features. This particular keyboard has n-key rollover. You can hold down the whole keyboard and every key registers. That's an expensive thing to implement.

So combine the two and you have a wildly differing price structure. Although equally there is some "brand pricing" as there is everywhere else. An Alienware isn't worth what they charge, a Vuitton bag doesn't cost more to make than a M&S one, the list is endless. Some manu's just choose to charge more.

29-10-2012, 10:40:31

andrewmchugh
Bronze!? WAT

04-11-2012, 23:01:06

jamdox
The 6-key/n-key rollover dipswitch is there for Mac compatibility, since the OSX (AFAIK) can handle 6 no problem, but gets confused with n-key rollover. In case that was one of the seemingly pointless options

16-11-2012, 10:57:50

Initialised
Do you know where I can get the Green LED version in the UK?

16-11-2012, 13:19:34

IsaacJDean
You could try tigerimports, even with shipping from overseas it's still about the normal price (not sure about duty/vat though)
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.