Gigabyte Aivia M8600 Mouse Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

Gigabyte Aivia M8600 Mouse Review

Introduction

The mouse we have on hand today is a bit of a rarity in gaming circles, it's wireless.

Wireless tends to be frowned upon when it comes to gaming devices as the combination of interference, lag and the ever-important battery life mean that the vast majority of rodents that are designed for the gaming fraternity come wired.

Gigabyte are hoping to change all that with their newest mouse, the Aivia M8600. As well as being a sharply designed piece of hardware it comes in the most surprising packaging we've seen for a very long time indeed. 

But we're getting ahead of ourselves. Time for the specs.

Technical Specifications

As with many gaming mice around the sensor on the M8600 goes up to 5600dpi, although software interpolation can up that to 6500dpi. 150 Inches per second speed and 50g acceleration is also up there with the main gaming mice. 

InterfaceUSB
Tracking systemTwin-eye Laser
Resolution100 ~ 6500dpi ( Hardware: up to 5600dpi)
Onboard memory32KB
Maximum acceleration50g
Maximum speed150 inches/ second
CertificateCE/ FCC/ BSMI/ NCC
ColorBlack
Cable Length1.8m nylon braided / Gold-plated USB connector to mini USB
Dimension(L)134.3*(W)72.7*(H)42.7 mm
Weight148g with battery; 110g without battery
AccessoryCharging dock, Li-ion battery*2, USB to mini USB cable*2, Driver CD, Quick guide, Spare feet pad


But enough preamble, time to get cracking.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

15-11-2011, 05:34:01

tinytomlogan


Following on from the Aivia keyboard, today we look at it's partner the Aivia wireless M8600 Mouse.

Continue Reading

15-11-2011, 05:42:49

yassarikhan786
A very decent piece of kit. I really like the battery idea and the option of using it as a wired mouse.

15-11-2011, 07:54:33

SieB
It's a Transformer

Looks like a decent mouse though.

15-11-2011, 08:52:05

dugdiamond
nice looks for someone with a green theme

nice ambidextrous functionality too

15-11-2011, 11:17:08

Lollipop
Looks a bit like a Razer Mamba ripoff

15-11-2011, 17:05:47

badtaylorx
ripoff is a lil strong.......

i mean how much do you really think you can do with a mouse design???

that being said.....

i dont see this one prying me away from my cyborg RAT7

15-11-2011, 17:25:28

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lollipop View Post

Looks a bit like a Razer Mamba ripoff
Well it does use the same laser sensor as the Mamba

15-11-2011, 21:21:56

WelshD1K
Has a rating for price but no price mentioned / on top ??

16-11-2011, 00:02:24

mrDMxtreme
for wireless "gaming" mice i think you should try the logitech g700, i've had it for a little while now and i think its great (and more comfortable then most mice - which is not that common with wireless mice)

16-11-2011, 00:49:26

Zeals
Quote:
Originally Posted by WelshD1K View Post

Has a rating for price but no price mentioned / on top ??
Well in Australia it costs $99.

As a reference, the Razer Mamba 4G costs $159 here, while the Imperator costs $99 and the Steelseries Sensei costs $109.

16-11-2011, 01:19:47

WelshD1K
ogitech g7 sill use it .... wireless mx518 awsome love it almost a smuch as my boomslang

16-11-2011, 01:21:13

WelshD1K
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zeals View Post

Well in Australia it costs $99.

As a reference, the Razer Mamba 4G costs $159 here, while the Imperator costs $99 and the Steelseries Sensei costs $109.
i know that but it is missing from the review...

16-11-2011, 02:11:13

mrDMxtreme
didnt the review say that its 80pounds? on the last page

16-11-2011, 02:49:14

WelshD1K
top of page where it says from where etc is blank .. all im saying

19-11-2011, 11:48:55

Ya93sin
I honestly couldn't ask for more than a Deathadder when it comes to mice

19-11-2011, 12:44:09

CocaCola
Looks pretty interesting. It still looks like it's modelling after a Lamborghini Reventon.

20-11-2011, 15:32:55

Jerome
Should be good, nice review thanks. I wont buy it though I will upgrade from the Gigabyte m8000 to the m8000X (both wired). Mine has a cilinder packaging like the one you picture and it holds the GIGABYTE mouse mat I'm using. Great quality mouse, I mean to send some ideas to GIGABYTE for improving it when time allows. The laser is very sharp, buttons very responsive and it's worked over 1 year and it hasn't given any trouble, looks nice. The M8000X has a better laser and software and a reader for the distance from the laser to the surface/mouse mat to calibrate the laser and for 40-50 it's great. I prefer the M8000 to the Logitech G9. GIGABYTE are doing very good I think it's really nice
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.