Razer Deathstalker Ultimate Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

Razer Deathstalker Ultimate Review  

Introduction

A little while ago Razer released a keyboard designed for Star Wars : The Old Republic. It had some serious features but because of the specific design it had a very niche audience. We can't have been the only people hoping that the plentiful array of technologies would find its way into a keyboard with a more vanilla design, and so it has with the Razer Deathstalker Ultimate.

However, vanilla is a term that can definitely only be applied to the colour of the keyboard and choice of font for the keys, because everything else about the Deathstalker blurs the lines between keyboard and smart-phone. We always try here at OC3D to write our introduction in a manner that doesn't give away too much of our thoughts on a particular item of hardware. After all a review is a journey of discovery, but there is so much to discover with the Deathstalker that you definitely don't want to sit down with only a few minutes to read this.

So grab your favourite beverage, put the kids outside and send the cat to bed, as the Razer Deathstalker Ultimate is definitely something to which the 'ultimate' moniker can be applied.

Technical Specifications

No, you haven't read that incorrectly. The Razer Deathstalker comes with a 4" screen that doubles as a trackpad. It's worth stopping here and looking at the top of the review at the price. Now think about how much your iPhone costs because of that big screen. Suddenly the Deathstalker doesn't seem so expensive. But that's only the half of it, so let's take a look shall we.

4.05” touch screen able to run widget apps (800x480 resolution)
Track pad with gesture support
10 dynamic display keys with 80hz response time
Chiclet style key caps
Tri-colour backlit keys
1000Hz Ultrapolling
Fully programmable keys with on the fly macro recording
Razer Synapse 2.0 enabled
Dedicated Gaming mode
5 additional macro keys
Anti-ghosting capability for up to 10 simultaneous key presses
Braided fiber cable
Fixed wrist rest

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next»

Most Recent Comments

23-01-2013, 05:08:05

tinytomlogan
Today we look at probably the most feature-packed keyboard on earth, the Razer Deathstalker Ultimate.


http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...105427639l.jpg


Continue Reading

23-01-2013, 05:25:33

Feronix
It sure does look nice and that little touch screen is a nice bonus but imo that doesn't justify the price of €230,- where most backlit mechanical keyboards cost between €80,- and €150,-

Nonetheless; Good review

23-01-2013, 05:41:21

SPS
I'd say the pricing isn't too bad.

I'm thinking that touch pad area might be handy for game development...

23-01-2013, 05:42:55

tinytomlogan
I saw this when it came in and its awesome.

Just needs some better apps added and its a winner. Id use it.....

23-01-2013, 06:08:49

MrKambo
now this is one amazing keyboard, but without actually using one dont think i could justify the 250 price tag, shame i dont have a store around me that might have this on display

23-01-2013, 06:24:09

s3ns3
the looks and the features are very nice but i can`t see myself playing on those laptop-like keys.so small

23-01-2013, 07:33:34

SPS
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrKambo View Post
now this is one amazing keyboard, but without actually using one dont think i could justify the 250 price tag, shame i dont have a store around me that might have this on display
Ohhh... I could have sworn when I looked at the review it said 119.99.

250!! Fook that!

23-01-2013, 07:38:23

MrKambo
Quote:
Originally Posted by SPS View Post
Ohhh... I could have sworn when I looked at the review it said 119.99.

250!! Fook that!
i think the 119 is for the non screen/not so awesome edition, maybe VB could confirm

23-01-2013, 09:28:44

yassarikhan786
Certainly looks fantastic. I'm not a big fan of chicklet style keys and I'm not sure if the LCD screen and the 10 keys justify the 250 price tag.

23-01-2013, 14:01:37

Falcrist
Nice review, but I can't get into this product.
The keyboard looks AMAZING, but they've taken away a (somewhat) useful part of the keyboard (the numberpad) and added on something that is virtually useless.
I'm sorry, but I'd rather have nothing than have that touchpad, no matter how nice it looks. At least a tenkeyless keyboard has the advantage of giving your mouse an extra 5 inches of space to move around on.
Then again, it's really pretty.

23-01-2013, 14:43:09

VonBlade
Yeah the bog standard one is about 80. This price is for the all-singing one.

The numpad thing is actually a non-issue besides the alt codes. The app replicates one perfectly, and there is a side-mode that modifies it to just directions. You really don't notice that it's not a "real" one at all. I only notice because, as part of my regular writings here, I have to use the alt symbols a lot.

Trust me, the pad and apps are incredible. If you look at it as an extra 150 for a 4" touch screen, applications, 10 Optimus style keys, and all the fun of a Synaptics touchpad it becomes a LOT more palatable. Like so many of the high-end reviews here at OC3D, until you've used it you just see the huge price and think it can't offer enough over a more cost-effective option.

Sure it's expensive as you like, but how much of your life is spent using the keyboard? Using a cheap keyboard is like buying a 22" TN monitor to put your SLI 680s through. Put the money down on an awesome keyboard and mouse and your hands will thank you.

All of that and not once did I make a comparison between buying a Focus and a Bentley. Damn...

23-01-2013, 15:03:05

Feronix
^Not to be hating on your opinion but my hands won't thank me with that thing and neither will my wallet!
The wristrest is too small for my liking, the keys are too flat and it's not mechanical! D:

250-80 = 170 Quid! Just for that touch screen? No thanks, I'll use my phone
You can literally buy either 3 regular edition keyboards for that, or 3 Corsair K60s ... or 3 CM Storm Quickfires

23-01-2013, 15:22:56

SPS
I agree that the touchpad is pretty sweet - but until you've spent your hard earned cash on it, is it really worth it? Haha

23-01-2013, 16:30:06

Falcrist
Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post
The numpad thing is actually a non-issue besides the alt codes.
Personally, I use the numpad a ton for numeric input and calculations as well as the occasional alt-code. I'm not sure what you mean by "you don't notice".

Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post
Trust me, the pad and apps are incredible.
I didn't see anything here that couldn't be done on an android without having it attached to the keyboard.

Quote:
Originally Posted by VonBlade View Post
Using a cheap keyboard is like buying a 22" TN monitor to put your SLI 680s through.
The problem is, this is kind of like a cheap keyboard with lots of bells and whistles.

That's where my gripe is. For all the flashy features, I don't see anything that I can't already do better with equipment I already have. If I wanted to drop 250 quid on a keyboard, I'd probably pick up a HHKB 2 Pro.

I do think it's a cool concept, though. This just makes way WAY more sense in the Razer Blade than it does on my desk.

28-01-2013, 06:28:24

Destro521
Ive got my Razer naga now i just need this beast
i was going to put some money down on the Standard deathstalker but now i have to rethink
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.