Razer Ouroboros Gaming Mouse Review

Up Close

Razer Ouroboros Gaming Mouse

Up Close

As we explained in our Ares II review, we enjoy a sense of occasion when opening something at the very top end of what is available. The Ouroboros definitely provides that. Coming in a seriously sturdy case with the Razer logo on top, when you open it you're presented with everything neatly laid out. We need to be clear though this is limited edition press packaging, sadly the retail versions will not get sent out like this. The cut-outs for each part are impossibly precise, as we'd expect from such a premium model. From left to right is the cable, battery, changeable side panels, mouse, USB thumbstick with manual and drivers, receiver, right panels and the charger.

Razer Ouroboros Gaming Mouse     Razer Ouroboros Gaming Mouse  

The cable is used for charging, or if you prefer the precision of a wired arrangement the Ouroboros can be plugged in directly. As our review sample was pre-production we're not sure if everyone will get the USB stick with the drivers and manual on it, but we absolutely love it. Very handy.

Razer Ouroboros Gaming Mouse     Razer Ouroboros Gaming Mouse  

The receiver and charger is reminiscent of the one we saw from Gigabyte with their Aivia. The Ouroboros just sits on it perfectly and charges via the prongs. 

Here it is in all its glory. The gap in the middle is definitely going to split opinion. Behind the scroll-wheel is the LED indicator for the battery level. 

Razer Ouroboros Gaming Mouse     Razer Ouroboros Gaming Mouse  

So much of the Ouroboros is adjustable. Firstly, the rear portion can slide to and fro for those who have different sized hands (which will be all of us). On the left it is as closed as possible and on the right as stretched as it can be. As we said above the gap will something that will divide opinion, and certainly when it's extended it doesn't look good in our opinion.

Razer Ouroboros Gaming Mouse     Razer Ouroboros Gaming Mouse  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

11-02-2013, 04:34:18

tinytomlogan
There is a new model at the top of the Razer Range, the Ouroboros. Wired and wireless, does it take the crown?

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...113641233l.JPG


Continue Reading

11-02-2013, 06:30:16

SieB
I've been looking forward to this review

Now that I know the mouse is good, I think i'm going to get one.
I'm going to wait for it to drop in price first though, 115 is too much for a mouse. 80 is the highest i'm willing to go, seen as you can get a R.A.T 9 for around 70 - 80, which is just as customizable.

11-02-2013, 07:39:54

SeekaX
this looks an awful lot like the R.A.T. mouse.

11-02-2013, 07:46:36

allen
i dont like the look of this like :S i like my taipan which was only 47

11-02-2013, 08:58:14

Ulijin
Quote:
Originally Posted by SieB View Post
I've been looking forward to this review

Now that I know the mouse is good, I think i'm going to get one.
I'm going to wait for it to drop in price first though, 115 is too much for a mouse. 80 is the highest i'm willing to go, seen as you can get a R.A.T 9 for around 70 - 80, which is just as customizable.
It really does look like the R.A.T 9 but without a bunch of optional adjustments and it costs more. Why not just get the Cyborg?

11-02-2013, 09:37:45

SieB
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ulijin View Post
It really does look like the R.A.T 9 but without a bunch of optional adjustments and it costs more. Why not just get the Cyborg?
I like the look of the Ouroboros more than the R.A.T, i'm happy with my Razer Imperator at the moment though, so i'm in no rush to buy one.
I'll just wait till they drop in price or a better mouse is released.

11-02-2013, 10:49:53

F-alienware
Oro bore us.

I find mice like these to be absolutely horrible. It's like some one couldn't be bothered so just threw loads of bits on a frame. It also looks terribly uncomfortable.

I'll stick with my 2007 CE Boomslang. About the only Razer mouse I would bother to own.

11-02-2013, 11:30:26

Dicehunter
Waiting for the Mamba 2013, Got a feeling they will bring it out this year to go along with the 2013 Blackwidow range

11-02-2013, 11:37:38

Mihawk
Really like that mice - got one for myself.
Only had Logitech before that (the G700 to be precise) but i wanted to try something new and the razer hasn't dissappointed me - yet!

The price is hefty, yes - but combined with the brilliant razer-customer support I found it was worth it. Don't know about the Cyborg-Support though, but the green glow from the Ouroboros is looking need

11-02-2013, 12:11:31

F-alienware
I found their support to be pretty tragic if I'm honest.

My Boomslang developed what I thought was a fault. I contacted customer service who gleefully informed me that it was out of warranty. Hmm funny that they should keep tabs on what they are selling to whom.

Proved it was in warranty at which point they ignored me so I contacted them again. In the end they got stroppy and sent me a nasty email telling me to get hold of the retailer I bought it from and not to expect anything because they didn't have a replacement.

That's not good enough on a 130 mouse.

And then we come back to pricing. Who set these rules that 100+ for a mouse that cost peanuts to make was worth buying? It's pretty crazy if you ask me.

I also question the build quality as I have owned three Razer mice and they seem to wear very quickly. I had a 'budget' mouse from them (by budget I mean 38) and it fell to bits within six months after developing a terrible squeak when you clicked. Maybe it thought it was a literal mouse?

I'm done with spending out an arm and a leg on peripherals that are nothing but marketing hype. Give me a decent Dell keyboard any day with a Dell mouse.

11-02-2013, 12:16:23

blair
I think the RAT 9 looks better and performs better than this, and 120 is just ridiculous, i think Razer has lost the plot.

11-02-2013, 12:21:31

F-alienware
Quote:
Originally Posted by blair View Post
I think the RAT 9 looks better and performs better than this, and 120 is just ridiculous, i think Razer has lost the plot.
I think their main target audience is the USA tbh. Where something is deemed worth having just because it costs a fortune.

I think a lot of these companies need to restructure and look at the stuff they are selling. We are in a recession,and the number of people who are prepared to pay this sort of entrance fee for a mouse are dropping like flies by the day.

I actually ended up with a fake Razer mouse.Forget what it's called I got a refund via Ebay when I discovered it was fake. But, hilariously it has lasted longer than the first genuine Razer mouse I bought with far less headaches

I gave it to my fiancee.

11-02-2013, 12:58:47

Mihawk
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post
full quote in post
Cheers mate,
I always was more of a Logitech guy and the Ouroboros is my first razer product. I never had problems with them on keyboards though and just heard great things about them alltogether, so i thought i give them a shot.

Hopefully i will never need the customer service though.

11-02-2013, 21:02:13

DigiOC
I still have my Razer Black Mamba. It's one of the best mouses I've ever used. Has subdued styling & I always use it with the light off on the scroll wheel.

24-02-2013, 09:49:14

Legacy-ZA
"Ouroboros is usually depicted as a snake eating its own tail. It is a distinctly different concept to that of something existing for infinity, because it means an endless cycle of death and rebirth. So to name a mouse, and especially you're new top of the range model, as Ouroboros is a strange choice on the part of Razer. Are they implying that this mouse will die and need to be renewed, or that if you purchase it then it will soon be replaced in the endless cycle of different mice that can be classed as the top of the line?"

I think the mouse name fits nicely. Not for the reasons you mentioned, but because of the customizations that is possible with it. there are circumstances that will make the user change the mouse configuration without having to buy a new one.

What circumstances you might ask? For example, children still growing up, their hands get bigger, not smaller. Another? Broke a finger recently? Could help you configure it so it won't be as painful or inconvenient to move around.

Think about it.

24-02-2013, 09:54:25

Legacy-ZA
Quote:
Originally Posted by blair View Post
I think the RAT 9 looks better and performs better than this, and 120 is just ridiculous, i think Razer has lost the plot.
I think you must have a lucky RAT, I owned one, it broke withing 1 week where the left click mouse button spring(s) just gave in, I was playing Diablo III at the time (loads and loads of clicks) reconnected my Mamba 2012, still going strong since the start of it's release.

Incidentally, my nephew also has one and he has the same problem with his right click mouse button.

Sorry, but those people can keep their junk.

28-02-2013, 04:15:08

chrism
i would really like to see this in white

28-02-2013, 04:31:35

iBeInspire
Still using a Steelseries Ikari, since I refuse to upgrade to anything without separate rests for my pinky/ring... Razer, you now know what I want, make it!

20-03-2013, 10:36:54

flovl
First Razer Ouroboros purchased 13th of February, replaced with a new one after one month and finally replaced with Mamba 4G after another 2 weeks.
This product is a shame!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.