Crucial Ballistix Elite 8GB 1866MHz Kit Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

Crucial Ballistix Elite 8GB 1866MHz Kit Review

Introduction

The Crucial Ballistix range has been around for longer than some of us care to remember. My old Socket 939 Athlon used to have Ballistix memory in it, and the fact it's remained part of the Crucial line-up, albeit in a very different form, is testament to the solidity of the brand.

The Elite variant of the Ballistix line is Crucials very top range product. With a limited lifetime warranty and designed for those who seek the very best, this should live up to its Elite billing, especially as one of the things that always used to make it stand out from the competition was the low timings and overclocking capabilities.

Technical Specifications

The set we have on test today is the 1866MHz @ CAS9 version designed for Dual-Channel applications, and as such we'll be testing it on our i5-2500K. With temperature monitoring built in and an all-black look it covers the needs of those who like their RAM to be functional and attractive.

Size8 GB : 2 x 4 GB
TechnologyDDR3
Form FactorDIMM 240-pin
Memory Speed1866 MHz ( PC3-14900 )
DICNon-ECC
TimingsCL9 ( 9-9-9-27 )
FeaturesTemperature monitoring, Intel XMP, Dual-Channel, Integrated heatspreader, unbuffered
Voltage1.5 V

 

Speaking of attractive, let's take a look at it.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next»

Most Recent Comments

07-03-2012, 07:43:22

tinytomlogan


Today we take a look at a nicely balanced kit from Crucial, the Ballistix Elite.

Continue Reading

07-03-2012, 09:42:14

MaXiMiZe
Great review Bryan. Looks a really good 8gb kit

07-03-2012, 09:47:00

murphy7801
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaXiMiZe View Post

Great review Tom. Looks a really good 8gb kit
The review was done by Bryan but yes it was good review.

07-03-2012, 11:46:09

MaXiMiZe
Quote:
Originally Posted by murphy7801 View Post

The review was done by Bryan but yes it was good review.
Oh crap. Didn't even realise I wrote Tom

07-03-2012, 11:49:43

yassarikhan786
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaXiMiZe View Post

Oh crap. Didn't even realise I wrote Tom
You wrote Bryan looking at your post now. I think murphy7801 just edited the quote to trick you into thinking you wrote Tom .

P.S. Nice review Bryan.

07-03-2012, 14:18:02

B NEGATIVE
This is relevant to my interests.

11-03-2012, 09:51:57

gs941
got some of this stuff, i think that your review of it was spot on as per usual.

24-04-2012, 19:59:45

D3FiANC3
Crucial states that the Ballistic w/ the tall heatspreaders won't fit with the NH-D14, but I see you used the NH-D14 for your test setup. No issues with the clearance?

* Edit: This review confirms that the Crucial Ballistix Elite will not fit with the NH-D14, so I'm curious as to how you managed it.

24-04-2012, 20:15:27

I Hunta x
Quote:
Originally Posted by D3FiANC3 View Post

Crucial states that the Ballistic w/ the tall heatspreaders won't fit with the NH-D14, but I see you used the NH-D14 for your test setup. No issues with the clearance?

* Edit: This review confirms that the Crucial Ballistix Elite will not fit with the NH-D14, so I'm curious as to how you managed it.
Just raise the front fan up higher on the tower, that usualy works on 99% motherboards but some boards may have the cpu socket closer to the memory slots than others and may cause fouling with the actually tower part of the d14 rather than the fan.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.