OCZ PC2-6400 Titanium 2Gb DC Kit

Introduction and Packaging

Introduction and Packaging

OCZ Technology
first entered the memory market in August 2000, and their vision was built around the determination to manufacture the best high speed DDR and RDRAM available. OCZ was founded by enthusiasts, for enthusiasts, and their commitment to the end-user was paramount in achieving their goal.

Seven years on, OCZ Technology has become the innovator and not the immitator in many areas, particularly with their recent branching out into mainstream enthusiast hardware. But anyway, I'll let OCZ tell you what it does best:

We at OCZ diligently work to improve communication with CPU and motherboard chipset manufacturers prior to the release of their products. Only in this manner can we fine-tune our memory's SPD settings, ensuring a synergistic relationship between the memory module, memory controller, and microprocessor. In today’s rapidly evolving semiconductor industry, such communication is not simply research, but a necessary component of our manufacturing process.

At OCZ Technology, one of their main aims is to ensure customer satisfaction:

At OCZ we have one primary goal, and it is to make sure that every customer is 110% satisfied. Every employee at OCZ is dedicated to accomplishing this goal. Our engineers are constantly developing the fastest and best performing products. Our finance department works every angle to bring customers our product at the best price. Our marketing department ensures all the information needed to make an informed purchase is available and presented in an easy to understand format. The technical support department constantly studies and tests the latest hardware to be as informed as possible to help you with any issue you may have. Our customer service department is filled with customer satisfaction fanatics who will refuse to let you be unsatisfied.

Today, I have been fortunate enough to have been asked to review OCZ's PC2-6400 Titanium EPP-Ready Dual Channel DDR2 RAM . So without further delay, let's get acquainted with our review subject.

OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 Titanium EPP-Ready Dual Channel

Most current memory manufacturers appear to prefer packaging their modules in clear plastic blister packs. OCZ's packaging format is no different. Although the clear blister pack clearly shows off the new modules virgin appearance very nicely, I do have some doubt in its integrity if subjected to heavy handling in the post. However, I must say though to OCZ's credit; these review modules made it safely from the otherside of the planet to Australia in perfect condition.

OCZ Titanium front of pack OCZ Titanium rear of pack

The packaging itself is surprisingly simplistic, particularly coming from a company as well known as OCZ. The rear of the blister pack has the usual blurb about customer support; commitment to quality; lifetime warranty, and performance...Along with recommendations from some rather well known names.

Not that inserting RAM modules into DIMM's is rocket science, but OCZ has provided an 'how-to' on the inside of the card insert.

Card insert

Ok enough of the packaging. Let's have a closer look at these badboys, including their specifications.
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

12-03-2007, 06:59:20

PV5150
Gold make you weak at the knee's? Or is Titanium more your thing? We give OCZ's PC2-6400 EPP-Ready Titanium DDR2 modules a run around the block in the OC3D Labs.

Linkage

12-03-2007, 07:36:18

FragTek
Nice review, and some nice sticks too! Thanks for the review.

12-03-2007, 07:42:29

FarFarAway
Nice review Peevs

12-03-2007, 07:44:23

Mr. Smith
PV, a quality review of some awesome sticks!

I totally regret splurging exessive ammounts of cash on dominators when for about half the price I could get the same performance with these, well done OCZ

12-03-2007, 07:52:54

PV5150
Thanks guys for the feedback. They really are great little performers

12-03-2007, 08:19:25

JN
Yep, great review PV and great budget sticks OCZ. Pats on the back all round

12-03-2007, 11:12:13

|3ourne
great review PV !!!! Those sticks definitely are nice. BTW 2.3V is the max Promos responds to neways , so you arent missing nething by not giving them more. 550 mhz is a great overclock for sure , especially for a mediocre price range memory.

12-03-2007, 12:37:30

FragTek
I love it, our resident memory guru is back in town, w00t w00t!

12-03-2007, 17:38:37

PV5150

great review PV !!!! Those sticks definitely are nice. BTW 2.3V is the max Promos responds to neways , so you arent missing nething by not giving them more. 550 mhz is a great overclock for sure , especially for a mediocre price range memory.





Thanks |3ourne, and it's great to see you back.

12-03-2007, 18:02:48

limqareb
first nice review but made me think , i have 2 g.skill memory and run at stock 4-4-4-10 how come the rest arent at 10 ? , even after ocing i managed to tighten them to 10 and difference does it make higher freq or tighter timings

12-03-2007, 18:27:09

MikeEnIke
Great review peevles. Awesome cause i was looking for a cheap 2gig kit also.

12-03-2007, 20:37:28

PV5150
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='limqareb'
first nice review but made me think , i have 2 g.skill memory and run at stock 4-4-4-10 how come the rest arent at 10 ? , even after ocing i managed to tighten them to 10 and difference does it make higher freq or tighter timings
Sorry Lim, but I'm not sure if I quite get what you mean. Your GSKILL ram defaults at CAS4 (or latency), the OCZ sticks will do the same running on an EPP enhanced mobo which is like an auto overclock per se', but they are specified to be run at CAS5 (5-4-4-15) on a non-EPP enhanced motherboard like my P5B. As far as the lowest latency and timings were concerned, that was the furtheset I could push them and still retain Prime and F@H stability. Any further increase in voltage or tightening of the timings resulted in blue screen or Prime/F@H failure. Does that clarify? If not lemme know, and perhaps rephrase your question a little.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='MikeEnIke'
Great review peevles. Awesome cause i was looking for a cheap 2gig kit also.
Thanks Mike, glad you found it useful for a potential future purchase

12-03-2007, 20:45:04

MikeEnIke
Heh, Then i looked them up on newegg and they were like $250 or something for the 2GB kit. I'de rather grab a $200 kit and take my chances :P

13-03-2007, 14:57:49

Luffy
Great review, these look interesting for the money indeed.

Is it ok to ask in this thread if I would be better off with the tested RAM or would it be worth spending the extra on the Ocz GX XTC 2gb PC2-8800 DDR2 1100?

13-03-2007, 15:03:38

limqareb
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
Sorry Lim, but I'm not sure if I quite get what you mean. Your GSKILL ram defaults at CAS4 (or latency), the OCZ sticks will do the same running on an EPP enhanced mobo which is like an auto overclock per se', but they are specified to be run at CAS5 (5-4-4-15) on a non-EPP enhanced motherboard like my P5B. As far as the lowest latency and timings were concerned, that was the furtheset I could push them and still retain Prime and F@H stability. Any further increase in voltage or tightening of the timings resulted in blue screen or Prime/F@H failure. Does that clarify? If not lemme know, and perhaps rephrase your question a little.

Thanks Mike, glad you found it useful for a potential future purchase
what i mean is that you said that gamers prefer lower latancies than higher frequencies , why is that , and bout the g skill thing they are advertised at 4-4-4-10 but the ocz are advertised differently (4-4-4-15) , but underneath it all you can set them to the same ?

21-03-2007, 12:37:18

Phunky
I've just got hold of a pair of these, looking forward to tweaking them to death and pushing my e4300 past 3ghz!

Nice read and great info for me thanks!

21-03-2007, 23:43:35

PV5150
Nice one mate, I'm glad you found the review helpful. Enjoy your new sticks and feel free to report back how well they performed for you...we'd love to have you stick around

22-03-2007, 03:37:26

Toxcity
As usual an awesome review!

Found it very intresting and they beautiful!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.