OCZ ReaperX PC2-6400 4Gb DDR2 Kit

Test Setup, Settings & Overclocking

Test Setup
To ensure that all reviews on Overclock3D are fair, consistent and unbiased, a standard set of hardware and software is used whenever possible during the comparative testing of two or more products. The configuration used in this review can be seen below:
OCZ ReaperX (PC2-6400) 4GB
Mushkin HP2-6400 (PC2-6400) 4GB
ProcessorIntel Core 2 Quad Q6600 "G0" 2.4GHz 2x4MB
MotherboardDFI Lanparty P35-T2R
Graphics Card  Sapphire Ultimate X1950 Pro 256mb PCI-E
Hard Disk Hitachi Deskstar 80GB 7K80 SATA2 7200RPM 8mb
CPU Cooling Stock Intel Aluminium Cooler
Operating System Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate (Latest Updates)
Graphics Drivers ATI Catalyst 7.4.44981
Motherboard Drivers Intel INF 8.300.1013
To guarantee a broad range of results, the following benchmark utilities will be used:

Synthetic Memory Subsystem
• Sisoft Sandra XII 2008c
• Lavalys Everest 4.0

File Compression & Encoding
• 7-Zip File Compression
• River Past ViMark

3D / Rendering Benchmarks
• Cinebench 10
• 3DMark05
• 3DMark06

3D Games
• Quake 4
• Bioshock
• F.E.A.R
Settings & Overclocking
As with all memory reviews on Overclock3D the ReaperX PC2-6400 modules were subjected to a series of benchmark tests under several different configurations. The configurations used tested the memory's ability to run at high frequencies with stock timings, high frequencies with loosened timings and also ensured that that the modules could run with 100% stability at their advertised speed, latency and voltage settings.
Stock Frequency & Timings
DDR2-800 / 4-4-3-15 / 2.1v
CPU-Z - Stock CPU-Z - Stock
We've already mentioned that OCZ only guarantee the ReaperX PC2-6400 kit to run at its advertised 4-4-3-15 timings on an Nvidia 680i based motherboard with EPP. This certainly seemed to be the case when we first placed the modules in our Intel P35 based DFI Lanparty board, attempted to boot into Windows and was welcomed by repeated BSOD's. No matter what settings we tried, we just couldn't get the modules stable.
However, a quick browse of the OCZ website revealed a link to their forums where there was extensive information and a guide on how to get the ReaperX kit running stable on a range of Intel P35 based boards. After changing the settings on our DFI P35-T3R to the ones suggested on the forum, the test PC booted into Windows flawlessly and passed several hours of Prime95 stability testing.
Highest Frequency @ Relaxed Timings
DDR2-1098 / 5-5-4-18 / 2.1v
Overclocking the ReaperX on it's stock timings of 4-4-3-15 was't really much of a success on our Intel P35 based testing platform. This certainly didn't come as a surprise, as the modules are only really designed to run at CAS4 on Nvidia based chipsets. However, on loosening the timings to 5-5-4-18 the ReaperX kit showed us exactly what it was capable of by coming just shy of DDR2-1100. This is extremely good for a 4GB kit, and as we can see from the graph below; the Mushkin kit also used in this review couldn't even come close.
Overclock Results
Now that we've got the overclocking out of the way, let's see how the ReaperX sized up against the Mushkin kit in our benchmarks over on the next page...
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

16-01-2008, 15:28:54

"Just when we thought that all the DDR2 reviews had dried up, OCZ comes and surprises us with their latest "ReaperX" 4GB kit."


OCZ ReaperX PC2-6400 4Gb DDR2 KitQuote

16-01-2008, 15:45:14

Quality review mate..

They just look so damn good and preform just as well.. 1100mhz!!

Is it just me or does the percentage at the end not show up??

Oh yeah one more thing... On the 3rd page when saying about what OCZ say the stock timings are on the RAM you say they are 4-4-3-12 when I think they are 4-4-3-15.. Correct me if I'm talking out of my arse though Quote

16-01-2008, 15:55:57

I bought these, boshed em in...no tweaking at all and straight to 990MHz. Not had time to fiddle but as you can see there's plenty of headroom Quote

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.