Corsair AX860i AX760i Video Overview

Corsair AX860i & AX760i Video Overview

Corsair AX860i AX760i Video Review  

Introduction

The original gold rated AX PSU's have been a firm favorite here at OC3D since they were first launched, gold rated in both efficiency and by us with review awards, fully modular, awesome performance with both wattage available and ripple suppression. All this squeezed into an ATX spec 160mm long housing made these perfect for many cases short on space. So the new AXi's have a lot to live up to, with a new OEM and new branding can Corsair really pull it off again?

Regular readers will be familiar with James being our resident PSU tester, sadly after one too many powr supplies giving him an electric shock or blowing up in his face Jim has decided to retire from PSU testing before his 9 lives completely run out!

So sadly we will have to work on the information we have available which does mean we wont have pages of charts for you to try and decipher today. You've seen an idiot abroad well this is an idiot talking about power supplies!

Specifications

  • Digital Signal Processor (DSP) for delivering extremely clean, efficient power with real-time adjustments

  • Corsair Link™ Integration for monitoring and adjustment of performance, noise, and OCP settings

  • Dedicated single +12V rail with user-configurable virtual "single rail" and "multi-rail" software modes

  • An ultra-quiet, 140mm double ball-bearing fan delivers excellent airflow with exceptionally low noise levels by varying fan speed in response to temperature

  • 80 PLUS Platinum certified, delivering up to 92% energy efficiency under real-world load conditions

  • Active Power Factor Correction (PFC) with PF value of 0.99

  • Universal AC input from 90~264V

  • Over-voltage, under-voltage, over-current, and short circuit protection provide maximum safety for your critical system components

  • Engineered to meet maximum power output at a server-grade 50°C temperature rating.

  • Self-test switch to determine PSU functionality even before installation.

  • High-quality capacitors provide uncompromised performance and reliability

  • A seven year warranty and lifetime access to Corsair's legendary technical support and customer service

  • Safety Approvals:  cTUVus, CE, CB, FCC Class B, TÜV, CCC, C-tick


    Video Review




    Conclusion

    The video covers pretty much everything and also gives you a better look at aesthetics than photos alone could, we are fully aware its not our normal way of doing things but we felt the loyal members would rather see this than nothing at all! The AX860i was originally sent in for the Orca Memorial Build but we thought you would like a little more info on it seeing as we had one.


From reading around are forums and the thousands of comments we get on YouTube the fact the AXi's are being manufactured by Flextronics and not Seasonic seems to have caused quite a stir. So lets just clear a few things up, the original AX1200 was made by Flex and so was the AX1200i. Corsair released the big daddy PSU first which must show some confidence with the brand. The AXi's are built on the Flex platform but the PSU boffins at corsair have had a lot of design input with the PSU, much more so than before Im hearing. The main reason to switch all the AXi's over to Flex was however because of the DSP feature (Digital Signal Processor) which delivers very clean power and manageable power and these are the first of their kind in the desktop market to deliver their power digitally. The self test switch is a great touch and will help users rule out PSU problems when our rigs are having difficulties and lets face it we all have them eventually. The units are also designed to meet server grade requirements of max load being kept inside ATX standards at 50c, this is a huge ask and can be something many units fail on. All of this from a single 71.6 amp 12v rail (859.2W) isn't to be sniffed at, when running at lower levels the PSU will stay completely passive up to 258w (30%) load or unless your ambient temperatures start to get a bit warm although the PSU can be monitored and controlled in the Corsair Link software along with a virtual multi rail system including a user set OCP (over current protection), load voltage and temperature monitoring!

Thankfully the AXi's have kept the fully modular cabling which is can be a god send when trying to keep cables tidy, one point to mention is that the new red branded AX PSU's (AX1200i, AX860i, AX760i, AX860 and AX760) are NOT compatible with the individually braided cables available for the older AX PSU's. Kits will be available shortly but I can confirm there are some wiring changes so they are not interchangeable. 

So because we can not accurately test the PSU's and do not want to waste our time with multimeter's which lets face it show us nothing the Link software couldn't we have decided not to give a full verdict. This is for no other reason than we wanted to starve the trolls a little this time! We are pretty sure from the information in the video and written above coupled with a 7 year warranty you should be able to have a good guess at what award this would have achieved should we have been able to give it a thorough testing. If you would like an indication as to our thoughts of the PSU's the AX860i will be going in the Orca Memorial Build and the AX760i is pencilled in for a project that will be starting shortly called TNR, this is the replacement for 'The NurburgRig'. You know you are on to a good thing when a reviewer uses a product in his own personal rigs and would happily spend his own money purchasing them too!

We would like to thank Corsair for the AXi's, you can discuss you thoughts on this review good or bad in the OC3D Forums.

«Prev 1 Next»

Most Recent Comments

22-11-2012, 07:26:18

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...040208887l.jpg

With Platinum efficiency a new OEM manufacturer Corsair Link control and a new colour scheme just how good can the new AXi's be?


Continue Reading

22-11-2012, 07:41:05

NRG!
Wish I'd have waited for this, it's a bit more suitable for my spec D:

22-11-2012, 07:47:11

jamesriley94
Can anyone clarify...

Does the digital power mean you can set individual molex outputs to 7v/5v for example?
I read that somewhere...

Couldn't find anything to clarify anywhere, but if true, that would mean you could run fans straight off the molex and have them run at lower speeds straight off.

22-11-2012, 08:09:59

tinytomlogan
No mate thats not available for fiddling with in the Link software.

22-11-2012, 09:17:12

jamesriley94
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
No mate thats not available for fiddling with in the Link software.
Alright, thanks for the reply

22-11-2012, 09:26:45

rossi94
Thanks for testing

22-11-2012, 10:18:03

MacLeod
Awesome! Been waiting for these to come out and get reviewed. As silly as it might be, I just want one of these for the monitor that shows you your current draw and efficiency. The 750 version will more than likely be my next power supply. Just wish they had a 650 watt version but headroom is always good to have.

30-12-2012, 15:53:38

S.T.A.L.K.E.R
Is seasonic also good power supply???Or this is better???

31-12-2012, 20:34:45

Soulaiman
I am starting to really like Corsair. I mean, every product I had from them performs good right out of the box.

It seems to me that everything they make is just good or better. I like brands like that, unlike some others that are very good in the high price range but crap in the low end.

I even use a CX430 for my server and it powers it 24/7 without ever overheating or anything like that.

31-12-2012, 21:14:39

dragoonk
Well ofcourse it doesn't overheat... The heat is cause when the power draw is high. Maybe you've seen computer components that are rated to .. 130W for example (CPU) but you get 220W when you measure the power draw from the wall with a measuring machine and you think that 130W is a lie.. well it's not... cause most of the rest of the power from 130W to 220W turns into heat while the PSU converts Alternating Current (AC) to Direct Current (DC) The smaller this difference is, the more efficient the PSU is.

24-02-2013, 17:01:51

MikeG
I bought an AX860i based on this review, and I have had nothing but trouble with it since I bought it. It keeps shutting down with a red failure light. It was very intermittent at first, and I was not sure if the problem was my motherboard, a cable, or the power supply. There is no mention of the red light in the documentation that came with my power supply. Does it mean over current, short circuit, or over temperature? I tried contacting Corsair technical support, but they do not give a phone number or email address, instead the web page suggest you request an RMA. At that time, I wasn't sure if it was the power supply, so I waited. Sometimes it would run for two weeks without a failure, but recently it has gotten so bad, that it fails after 5 minutes. It fails, from a cold boot, and it fails with just a fan connected. It also fails all by itself with just the self test button pressed, so now finally there is no doubt in my mind that it is the power supply that was causing me all this grief and aggravation.

This is no "El Cheapo" power supply. This is a Platinum power supply with a 7-year warranty, something that I paid a premium for. I do not expect it to fail within the first two weeks!

24-02-2013, 18:25:31

B3rni3
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeG View Post
I bought an AX860i based on this review, and I have had nothing but trouble with it since I bought it. It keeps shutting down with a red failure light. It was very intermittent at first, and I was not sure if the problem was my motherboard, a cable, or the power supply. There is no mention of the red light in the documentation that came with my power supply. Does it mean over current, short circuit, or over temperature? I tried contacting Corsair technical support, but they do not give a phone number or email address, instead the web page suggest you request an RMA. At that time, I wasn't sure if it was the power supply, so I waited. Sometimes it would run for two weeks without a failure, but recently it has gotten so bad, that it fails after 5 minutes. It fails, from a cold boot, and it fails with just a fan connected. It also fails all by itself with just the self test button pressed, so now finally there is no doubt in my mind that it is the power supply that was causing me all this grief and aggravation.

This is no "El Cheapo" power supply. This is a Platinum power supply with a 7-year warranty, something that I paid a premium for. I do not expect it to fail within the first two weeks!
All electronics can be subject to failure even before you do anything with them. I wouldn't take this being a bad product by corsair as it happens. I would recommend RMAing the PSU and then judge Corsair on how they handle it. I would say there shouldn't be much hassle as it has a 7 year warranty.

Edit: Here is a link to the Corsair help page. http://www.corsair.com/en/support/technicalsupport/

Just fill in the box at the top and hit next. Then it will give you so info to try and if that fails you can go put in a support ticket.

24-02-2013, 19:37:46

MikeG
Yes, I went to the Corsair help page. That is the first thing I did when my PS first failed. You get a page with a list of FAQ's and if those don't answer your question, it suggests to send it in. No opportunity to speak to a service rep.

I don't know if it is true, but I was just informed a few minutes ago that the older AX and the HX are manufactured by Seasonic. The new AXi are manufactured by Flextronics.

24-02-2013, 20:03:58

airdeano
usually, if you have a case number, the corsair forum is very helpful to track progress.
especially with RAM_GUY. he seems to spearhead the process and follows up.
weve managed to make a large time process in to days instead of weeks.

14-02-2014, 09:52:24

tonschk
modular PSU ? , no thank you, I don't like modular PSU, and fully modular PSU make even less sense for me this full modular PSU design

14-02-2014, 10:15:48

Remmy
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonschk View Post
modular PSU ? , no thank you, I don't like modular PSU, and fully modular PSU make even less sense for me this full modular PSU design
What is there not to like about fully modular PSUs? They're vastly superior to non-modular..

15-02-2014, 21:05:43

wdaly
I have bought the 760i, im not sure what way i will put the PSU i.e fan up or down, has anyone removed the crappy sticker on top of the PSU? is it easy to do with out messing up the finish?

15-02-2014, 22:16:27

Conchubair
Quote:
Originally Posted by wdaly View Post
I have bought the 760i, im not sure what way i will put the PSU i.e fan up or down, has anyone removed the crappy sticker on top of the PSU? is it easy to do with out messing up the finish?
on these forums it is usually suggested that it is fan up.. Thermal performance difference is minimal and it looks far better.
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.