Corsair HX850 V2 Power Supply Review

Intro, Specs & Packaging

Corsair PSU new  


Introduction

We first reviewed a HX series back in November 2006, oh how time has flown by. Back then they ever had a red sticker design, who can remember these? All that time ago a 620W PSU cost £96 and only just scraped by with 83% efficiency! In June 2009 we reviewed the original HX850 and it was so good it won our "Best in Class" for 850W to 1000W units. Corsair have just released a revamped V2 version of the HX850 with a new efficiency rating and some interesting new features. Its time to break out the Sun Moon tester and hot box to see how the new one stacks up against the competition on the market today. Lets just hope I don't wake the kids up.....!


Specifications

Corsair PSU new


Packaging

You would be mistaken for thinking this was the the HX850 V1 box, but then that's because Corsair has been using the same design template for some time now. The only real difference from here is the different fan grill and the inclusion of a Gold efficiency and a 7 year warranty badge.

Corsair PSU new    Corsair PSU new  

Corsair PSU new    Corsair PSU new  

Inside the box it is also very standard Corsair, we still have not found a use for the velvet bag once you have actually fitted your PSU.... post your ideas in the forum thread!  

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next»

Most Recent Comments

01-08-2012, 09:32:43

tinytomlogan
http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...034458108l.jpg

Corsair are back with a revamp on the HX850 PSU. Will it be a huge leap forward like the original? Its time to test and find out.

Continue Reading

02-08-2012, 02:46:44

Ulijin
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
we still have not found a use for the velvet bag once you have actually fitted your PSU....
1. Give it to your missus as a jewelery bag

2. Cut 3 holes in the back of it for your little dog / cat's legs and tail and fasten. Now you've got an instant diaper to stop the little bastard crapping all over your house

3. Use it to store the stock fans that arrived with all your PC components that you can't bring yourself to throw away.

4. Use it to store component instructions (I actually do use my one for this)

5. Use it to store random lists.... of which this really is one

02-08-2012, 07:01:08

wassupdoc
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ulijin View Post
1. Give it to your missus as a jewelery bag

2. Cut 3 holes in the back of it for your little dog / cat's legs and tail and fasten. Now you've got an instant diaper to stop the little bastard crapping all over your house

3. Use it to store the stock fans that arrived with all your PC components that you can't bring yourself to throw away.

4. Use it to store component instructions (I actually do use my one for this)

5. Use it to store random lists.... of which this really is one

haha

02-08-2012, 11:39:46

airdeano
Tom's video and James' written has nailed it again, awesome job team OC3D!

other than the colored wires under the cable braid.. it's a Corsair PSU with strength, stamina,
and style.

gaining a pretty good collection of velour PSU bags and felt Crown Royal bags.. myself

airdeano

06-08-2012, 09:21:03

kilobravo
There`s some new competition,but Corsair is still up there.
Can hardly wait for the AX1200i review.

06-08-2012, 09:32:07

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by kilobravo View Post
There`s some new competition,but Corsair is still up there.
Can hardly wait for the AX1200i review.
Jim has been really ill recently so we will get it up as soon as he is well enough to test it dude

06-08-2012, 09:52:36

Mister B
This is such a sickener. I bought my HX 850 only two months ago. And then they revamp it :/

06-08-2012, 09:54:23

Josh Weston
Ah, it's always the way.
You do still have a great PSU though, so it's not the end of the world.
Also; welcome to the forums

06-08-2012, 09:56:21

Mister B
That is true I wonder how much reworking was actually put in to push it up to 80+ gold?

And thank you! I have been reading threads here for years so I said I might as well register

06-08-2012, 10:14:35

kilobravo
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post
Jim has been really ill recently so we will get it up as soon as he is well enough to test it dude
Hope its nothing to serious.
Best thoughts to Jim.

20-08-2012, 15:50:30

shadow
I hope Jim has a speedy recovery.

08-10-2012, 15:14:39

kejser11
Nice review, as always! When can we expect a testing of Corsairs first platinum-rated PSU, the AX 1200i? really eager to see it put through its paces!!
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.