Kingston DataTraveler HyperX Predator 512GB Review

Introduction and Technical Specifications

Kingston DataTraveler HyperX Predator 512GB Review 

Introduction

USB sticks, thumb drives, pen drives, call them what you will their usefulness cannot be overstated. In these times when most of us have at the least a computer and a console, but far more likely we have a couple of computers, a laptop, maybe one or two consoles, a TV with USB in etc., the need to be able to move large media around quickly and simply is vital. USB sticks are light, portable and usually big enough for most of our requirements. 

However, the main problem has always been speed. The first few were USB 2.0 models and those were hideously slow for anything other than putting a couple of pictures on to take round your Aunts, or moving documents between home and the office. USB 3.0 helped a bit and finally brought us the chance to move films around, albeit we have to wait an age for them to transfer.

As digital media becomes an ever larger part of our lives, more and more of us possess devices capable of outputting enormous pictures, or HD movies, or even just want to take our portable games with us when we go, then the need for ever larger and ever faster sticks has become paramount. Sure a cloud-based storage system is a nice idea and perhaps useful if you live in two or three really big cities that have amazing internet connections, but so few of us have that benefit and even then the "FedEx bandwidth" still vastly outperforms that of the internet.

Kingston are probably the biggest name in the memory world, and today we're taking a look at their latest product, the DataTraveler HyperX Predator. To say this is a premium product is almost doing it a disservice, promising a blend of SATA2 transfer speeds, HDD capacity and USB stick portability. Is this really all things to all men?

Technical Specifications

For our testing today we're going to be putting the DT HyperX up against a fast USB stick to see if the extra cost brings extra performance. We'll also be sticking it in our SATA3 SSD graphs, not for a comparison because that would be unfair, but just to see if the Kingston can ever come close to some of the very fastest drives around.

  • 240MB/s read and 160MB/s write (USB 3.0)
  • Massive capacity of up to 1TB (coming soon)
  • USB 3.0 functionality, backwards compatible with USB 2.0
  • Exclusive metal casing with custom key ring and HyperX Valet Keychain
  • Supports Windows® 8, Windows® 7, Vista®, XP, Linux & Mac
«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next»

Most Recent Comments

01-07-2013, 06:18:41

tinytomlogan
Today we're taking a look at the Kingston DT HyperX, a pen drive that rewrites the rules of what is possible.

http://www.overclock3d.net/gfx/artic...111936572l.JPG



Continue Reading

01-07-2013, 08:31:17

SPS
I want one just so that when people ask if you have a USB stick they can borrow, you can respond with 'sure, be careful though, it cost 640'. At which point I wouldn't actually give them it.

01-07-2013, 09:18:54

SieB
OMG, lol.... that price

Why would anyone spend that much on a USB stick... ever?

01-07-2013, 09:35:58

Soda-88
That price is absurd, you can get 2 512GB Crucial M4s with SATA to USB3 adapters for that money with a 50+ to spare. Yes, it's smaller, but it's also easier to break/lose and also slower

01-07-2013, 10:29:36

lwatcdr
I would say that is in a class of if you need this tool you can get it now. Yes it is way too expensive for anything I would use it for. I would go with something like this http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...9SIA1DS0CZ4958 with an SSD in it if I need a fast, portable, and rugged drive.

01-07-2013, 12:13:14

The Orange One
It's pretty amazing how they can pack all that storage onto a small USB drive though

01-07-2013, 12:40:49

TEN64
Does it come with sound alarm ? I mean in case I get separated a great distance from it? would be useful.

01-07-2013, 13:13:55

Greenback
nice and all that, but at that price I'd be scared to take it out with me, which defeats the object of having it really.

01-07-2013, 15:10:05

You_What?
What? A 512Gb Pen Drive? Biggest I'd seen or heard was 64Gb, I'm way behind on the times it seems.

01-07-2013, 23:19:59

Mgutierrez33
Early tech adoption premiums... so high lol. Once the price comes down on this sort of flash drive performance I would LOVE one of these. 'till then I'll let the uber tech-heads blow their cash wads on it x-)

04-07-2013, 21:37:41

kittysniper
I'm sorry but comparison with ssds is just useless, there is however a usb drive that can be used to compare(SanDisk Extreme USB 3.0), it's 64Gb, but it's only 80 dollars on amazon as of now, I've gotten mine up to 210mb/s,190mb/s read/write. Can you please do a comparison with the Kingston and Sandisk drives, since I can't afford the 1000 dollar Kingston drive

05-07-2013, 04:46:35

tinytomlogan
Quote:
Originally Posted by kittysniper View Post
I'm sorry but comparison with ssds is just useless, there is however a usb drive that can be used to compare(SanDisk Extreme USB 3.0), it's 64Gb, but it's only 80 dollars on amazon as of now, I've gotten mine up to 210mb/s,190mb/s read/write. Can you please do a comparison with the Kingston and Sandisk drives, since I can't afford the 1000 dollar Kingston drive

Sadly no mate. We reviewed the item with stuff we had to compare it with. This wasnt a round up and companies wont just send stuff in because we want it. Life is a little more complicated than that, we only did this because its nuts, we dont have time to go reviewing every USB3 stick on the market.

We are a bit too busy to be doing that

05-07-2013, 07:43:31

Gilles3000
Thx for the great review, but i can't fully agree with the performance score.
A msata ssd in a usb3 enclose is only a bit larger, but much faster and cheaper(about 200 cheaper). Its a pretty good thumb drive. But when there are other options that perform much better, scoring this thing a 9 for performance isn't really justified.

05-07-2013, 14:16:07

Mgutierrez33
Quote:
Originally Posted by tinytomlogan View Post

We are a bit too busy to be doing that
In other words, AIN'T NOBODY GOT TIME FUH DAT!!!

Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.