Aria.co.uk Gladiator i5 4.4GHz Z68 Bundle

Introduction and Technical Specifications

Aria.co.uk Gladiator Z68 Core i5 4.4 GHz Bundle

Introduction

At the beginning of this month we took a look at one of the cheapest overclocked bundles available. This was the Aria.co.uk Gladiator based on the MSI P67A-GD45 Motherboard equipped with a 4.4 GHz overclocked Core i5-2500K and 4GB of 1333MHz DDR3. It was outstanding value for money, especially when paired with out standard test bench GTX570. For a penny shy of £330 you really couldn't go wrong.

Of course not everyone can afford to stick a beastly GPU in their rig. Maybe you just want one as part of an HTPC, capable of High-Definition playback and some light gaming?

If so then you'll be interested in today's review of a very similar specification bundle but based upon the newly released Z68 Chipset. This particular board comes complete with integrated graphics. Perfect for a low-cost home theatre system.

Technical Specifications

Anyone who saw the specifications of the P67 Bundle will recognise many elements here. We have the outstanding Core i5-2500K processor as the heart of the bundle. Overclocked, for free, to 4.4 GHz and kept cool by the Arctic Cooling Freezer 13.

One of the slight niggles we had about the P67 version was the 1333 MHz RAM which, whilst still good enough, was a little bit of a weak link and so it's great to see that in the Z68 variant it's been replaced by some excellent Mushkin Copperhead running at 1600 MHz CAS9.

The major change is in the platform. Whereas the P67A-GD45 was a good value plain board, here we have a Gigabyte Z68MA D2H which has integrated graphics.

Specifications:
FREE CPU Overclocking to 4.40GHz
• Intel® Core™ i5-2500K (Sandybridge) Socket LGA1155 Processor
• Integrated Intel HD3000 Graphics
• 4GB Mushkin Copperhead #996778 (2x2GB) DDR3 1600MHz 9-9-9-24
• Gigabyte GA-Z68MA-D2H Intel Z68 (REV B3) Socket 1155 DDR3 PCI-Express Motherboard
• Arctic Cooling Freezer 13 CPU Cooler
• Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound
Features:
• 4.40GHz Quad Core CPU
• Intel® Z68 Chipset
• 4GB 1600MHz Dual Channel DDR3
• DirectX 10.1 via the integrated Intel HD3000 GPU
• Multi VGA Outputs: 1x D-Sub, 1x DVI-D, 1x HDMI, 1x DisplayPort
• 4x USB3.0 Ports
• 12x USB2.0 Ports
• 4x SATA 6GB/s Ports
• 4x SATA 3GB/s Ports
• Gigabit LAN
• High Definition 8 Channel Audio CODEC
• ATI CrossFireX™/NVIDIA SLI Technology
• Expansion slots: 3x PCIe 2.0 x16 Slots (dual x8/x8) & 1x PCIe x1 Slot

Enough waffle. Let's take a look.

«Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next»

Most Recent Comments

31-05-2011, 06:58:37

tinytomlogan
Following the excellent P67-based i5 Gladiator bundle from Aria, we take a look at one based on the Z68 board. Is it just as good?



Continue Reading

31-05-2011, 07:09:18

SieB
Another bargain bundle from Aria and this time with a Z68 motherboard and some Muskin Copper Head. The IGP is better than expected as well 30 fps in Far Cry 2 is pretty good, just don't ask if it can run Crysis

31-05-2011, 08:04:06

dugdiamond
value for money yet again

BTW: aria's gaffer is on the tv tonight "secret millionaire"

31-05-2011, 14:41:24

UkGouki
wow looks great reading the review now will post

ok after reading through the review i think this could be the basis of my hopefully planned new pc im still waiting to see what amd bring to teh table with there bulldozer chips but im sold currently on the p67 platforms

04-06-2011, 02:06:53

Heart
Any bundles like this in the states ever? I cant locate any

10-06-2011, 11:43:13

gert
just ordered this bundle whit a feeuw mods

4GB Mushkin Copperhead changed to 8GB Mushkin Copperhead

Arctic Cooling Freezer 13 CPU Cooler changed to Noctua NH-D14 Dual Radiator and Fan CPU Cooler

4 a price of 450 pound inc delivery cant wait 2 set it all up

special tanks 2 tom 4 reviewing this & dugdiamond 4 the qeusions i had

keep up the good work

11-06-2011, 10:37:16

Zaim
Quote:
Originally Posted by gert View Post

just ordered this bundle whit a feeuw mods

4GB Mushkin Copperhead changed to 8GB Mushkin Copperhead

Arctic Cooling Freezer 13 CPU Cooler changed to Noctua NH-D14 Dual Radiator and Fan CPU Cooler

4 a price of 450 pound inc delivery cant wait 2 set it all up

special tanks 2 tom 4 reviewing this & dugdiamond 4 the qeusions i had

keep up the good work
That's some good tweeks you've done there mate, I would have done the same

11-06-2011, 11:32:57

Skeese
Quote:
Originally Posted by gert View Post

just ordered this bundle whit a feeuw mods
Pictures when received

11-06-2011, 15:59:33

gert
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zaim View Post

That's some good tweeks you've done there mate, I would have done the same
hopfelly it will work really well whit my nvidia geforce gtx 560 ti & 850W Corsair TX850 powersuply 4 some nice gaming & frapsing

'game aion i know i am mmo freak'

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skeese View Post

Pictures when received
will take some some pic when received

only down side is that was all the money i had so it will need to go in 1 of my old cases until i can afford Fractal Design Define R3 Arctic White

maby any other cases come into your mind plx let me know looks aint that in portend even can b 2 hand 4 all i care

i just need a case whit really good air flow and what keeps dust out of the rig
Reply
x

Register for the OC3D Newsletter

Subscribing to the OC3D newsletter will keep you up-to-date on the latest technology reviews, competitions and goings-on at Overclock3D. We won't share your email address with ANYONE, and we will only email you with updates on site news, reviews, and competitions and you can unsubscribe easily at any time.

Simply enter your name and email address into the box below and be sure to click on the links in the confirmation emails that will arrive in your e-mail shortly after to complete the registration.

If you run into any problems, just drop us a message on the forums.